We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in Midtown NYC.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belnord Hotel

Save Saved
You added Belnord Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belnord Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   209 West 87th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #340 of 452 hotels in New York City
Fortaleza, Ceara, Brazil
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best value in Midtown NYC.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

It was the cheapest we found in Midtown NYC. Still it was a wonderful hosting!
Bedrooms very clean, the staff always helped needed. There are also employees who speak Spanish.
It's just a pity not to have morning coffee or food at the hotel, but this is no problem in New Yourk, because there is always a delivery.
Best of all is receiving packets no charge for this service.
Before we went we read some comments about bedrooms be small, but we stayed in a room for persons with special needs and the size was very comfortable and spacious.

Room Tip: Bedroom for persons with special needs and the size was very comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    232
    195
    70
    92
See reviews for
59
276
82
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. I can echo the other reviews:small rooms, no coffee machine, very very noisy heating. Our TV worked , and we had to choose between heating and tv, as together was not possible for the noise. Our toilet broke down but was repaired the day after. Internet was slow but worked.
Apart from noise, good place to stay. With earplugs this is a "go!"

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Have just finished a 15 night stay here and it has been great staying there.

We went in with very low expectations and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are very small but they are clean and cosy.

We had a private bathroom in a twin room and the bathroom was AMAZING! So modern and the shower was powerful. The room also had a wardrobe which was unexpected along with a flatscreen television.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Location is perfect for if you want to be away from the chaos of midtown and experience something with more of a neighbourhood vibe. It's very easy to get anywhere with the various subways.

It's definitely a no frills hotel but this is what we wanted. When we did have issues including the television breaking and the toilet flooding they were fixed immediately.

My only negative is that the heating system is EXTREMELY noisy. Even when ours was turned off we could hear next door's and at first we thought it was a helicopter outside. We had to turn ours off because it was VERY VERY noisy.

But apart from that, a great stay!

Room Tip: Twin rooms are better as they have extra space between the beds and also an extra space where the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

This is a great affordable hotel on the upper west side. Rooms are small as others have said but if you're on holiday in NYC you're not there to stay in your room. Rooms are clean and the location is excellent, minutes away from the subway and a short walk from Central Park. The cleaning staff were lovely. Only thing we'd have liked was a mini safe in the room but otherwise this seems hard to beat.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed ther with a friend of mine during holiday season 2013. The hotel was very clean, decent size of rooms, the staff was friendly and helpfull. One of the great points in our stay there was the location of the hotel. % minutes walk from subway, made the whole trip transportation a piece of cake.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

This is a clean, safe, convenient landing place for anyone visiting New York.
Subway and buses are steps away to get everywhere in the city. The rooms are clean (wood and tile floors let you see how clean!) and very comfortable. The heat and air work well (tested during the week of snow and below zero temperatures in January), the bed and linens were top notch. The bathroom was updated and spotless.
The staff was friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. Questions were answered, requests were fulfilled (I too experienced the mysterious noise, but they responded and resolved whatever it was immediately), and they were always pleasant, day and night.
The room was not spaceous, but if you are only sleeping there, there is plenty of usable space. In my full week's stay the internet and tv worked without a hitch!
The price is right, great location, good people...GO!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at the beginning of January this year (2014). We knew we wanted to stay on the Upper West Side from prior visits to New York, but wanted to try a different hotel from our last one there. Separated only by several blocks, this hotel was comparable to the last one we stayed at in terms of location. When comparing cost, however, this hotel was considerably less and just as convenient in location and value. Our double bed room here was very, very small - just enough room to move around the bed and desk. We had seen on other reviews that this was the case, and it certainly was.

The bathroom was adequate but the toilet made weird noises after every flush. Our bed was comfortable with several pillows and the bedding was clean. There were extra blankets and pillows in the tiny, tiny closet, which was nice. Towels were replaced faithfully, which was very nice. We had control over the heat for our room, which was great. Our view was a back wall of a neighboring building, but that was fine. We believe you really need to like the person you're rooming with here, though, because you are going to be in *very* close quarters for the duration of your stay.

The staff was friendly and polite. The internet worked fine but you had to log in everyday with a new password the staff can provide shortly after midnight every night. The staff arranged a car for us to take us to the airport on very short notice when our flight was unexpectedly moved up to an earlier time - the cost for the car was a flat $50 rate to LaGuardia, but well worth it.

The Belnord is *very* conveniently located to Central Park and several very good restaurants and coffee shops in the area. We recommend the Cafe on Broadway and 5-Napkin Burger (both about 2 blocks down on Broadway) as well as Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf (there are 2 fairly close by) and the Ocean Grille (about 8 blocks down on Columbus). The subway stop is one block over on Broadway from the hotel and well lit for nighttime travel back to the hotel.

If you need a truly cost-effective room to sleep and shower in at the end of everyday in the city that is also conveniently located to good food and transportation, the Belnord is great. If you plan to hang out in your room a lot, you might want to think twice about this really great and comfortable hotel. For our part, we will *certainly* stay at the Belnord Hotel when we visit New York again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belnord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belnord Hotel

Address: 209 West 87th Street, New York City, NY 10024
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #340 of 452 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belnord Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upper West Side of Manhattan, walking distance to Central Park and the Museum of Natural History. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Otel and Venere so you can book your Belnord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belnord Hotel New York City
Belnord Hotel Nyc
Belnord New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belnord Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.