We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belnord Hotel

Save Saved
You added Belnord Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belnord Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   209 West 87th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #339 of 452 hotels in New York City
Flint, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Perfect hotel for a New York City experience. Small rooms but who goes to New York to sit in the hotel? The Belnord is conveniently located on the red subway lines and is only a couple blocks from Central Park and the Museum of Natural History.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    231
    195
    70
    92
See reviews for
59
274
82
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

When I got to my floor and started walking t my room, the hallway was extremely narrow, and zig- zagged like some sort of life size maze. When I got to my room, there was a bed, and less than 2 feet of space between the side of he bed to the wall, and the end of the bed to the bathroom. Basically, it was like putting a bed in a closet. Front desk service was ok, and it was nice to have A/C. A place to stay alone, maybe on business, but not a place to bring the kids.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I like the room,the coffee, good employyees.
nice internet service.
nice area.except no parking lot ,would be nice if they supply free breakfast
room too small,but gossip,maybe price down just a litle.



  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The location of this hotel was great with easy access to Time Square and the rest of Manhattan, the rooms were kept clean all the time, most of the front desk help were at your service at all times, some were very grumpy due.
The down side is the keys had to be changed all the time and that was not very entertaining.
There was no food service at the hotel, no fitness center.
The internet was ok, but not great.

Room Tip: There was no food at the hotel and if you are planing to stay long, it can be boring to eat out all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Whoever takes the photos for the Belnord Hotel is a master of deception. The largest single room this hotel offers makes most New York City studio apartments look spacious by comparison. We could scarcely open the door all the way to get in--there was simply no room to move around. To make matters worse, when we first checked in, the hotel staff gave us the key to a room that was ALREADY OCCUPIED. Paper thin walls ensured that we never felt like we were alone, which in a way was good, because who knows when another guest could have accidentally walked into our room. The only good part about this hotel was the location, but I would recommend you look elsewhere before staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My high school friend and I were looking for an inexpensive place to stay in NYC for 1 night. We were not disappointed by the Belnord. The room had been updated recently and the bathroom was clean and small. We had 2 twin beds and which were very comfortable. The location was less than 1 block from the subway. We also had connectivity issues with the WiFi. One suggestion would be for the hotel to install hooks to hang towels and clothing. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sendai, Japan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Belnord is a great budget option if you want cleanliness, safety, and proximity to public transport but aren't concerned about amenities and extra services. My mother and I stayed at this hotel in July 2013 because we wanted a hotel that was close to the subway and close to Times Square. The primary purpose of our trip was to see as many Broadway shows in one weekend as possible. Our main concernd in choosing a hotel were cleanliness, price, and location (in proximity to a subway that would take us to Times Square / the Theater District). We were pleased with the Belnord as it met all of our criteria. We got a great deal on the hotel through Travelocity, but I would not spend more than $140 / night (taxes included) on the room as it is small.

When you stay at the Belnord you will get a clean room that is small. The only seating available is on the bed (at least in a queen room). The WiFi worked well. The bathroom was very clean, clean towels were provided, but there was not much counter space. There is small "business center" on the bottom floor with 2 computers and a coffee machine (but you must pay for the coffee). You can store your luggage at this hotel before/after check in.

Bottom line: If you are looking for a hotel that will be used primarily for sleeping and resting, that is clean, and that is close to public transportation, this is a good choice. If you are seeking a hotel that is spacious, luxurious, in the middle of all the action, has a desk for business travelers, or that will give you first rate service, you should look elsewhere.

If you are depending on use of public transportation, be sure to check the internet for information about service changes before booking your hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belnord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belnord Hotel

Address: 209 West 87th Street, New York City, NY 10024
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 452 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belnord Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upper West Side of Manhattan, walking distance to Central Park and the Museum of Natural History. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Otel and Venere so you can book your Belnord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belnord Hotel New York City
Belnord Hotel Nyc
Belnord New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belnord Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.