We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great on a budget!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belnord Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Belnord Hotel to your Saves list
Belnord Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   209 West 87th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #343 of 464 Hotels in New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great on a budget!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Love this hotel!! Very clean, quiet, and safe. Front desk staff very professional and helpful. Conveniently located to museums and subway. Rooms are what the sightseer on a budget needs; a quiet, comfortable place to sleep. They are smaller than the average hotel room but we didn't come all the way to NYC to hang out in a room. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    321
    238
    80
    95
See reviews for
80
364
106
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sf
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a suite with 2 queen beds. Quite spacious for NYC. Very safe. Very clean. Easy walk to Central Park. Recommended for location and cleanliness. Staff was polite enough, but not effusive. But this is not a 5 star hotel. Really quite nice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The location in the upper west side of NYC is this hotels best feature. The rooms, though clean, really are tiny. If you are planning on shopping, you will struggle to find somewhere for you buys. I disagree with the $200 deposit they take off u when checking in. There is nothing in the room that can be broken! The staff are great and very friendly. It had its flaws but I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have just left the Belnord hotel after 3 nights stay. We had a wonderful time.
We arrived late at night and the man in the front desk(Mario) was very nice and helpful.
the room was the smallest i've ever seen , but very very clean and new.(It seems that they have redecorated lately). the towels were very clean and pamper. air condition worked perfectly well.
There were no blankets, only sheet. the price was good. it located few steps from the underground. We reccommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the hotel and it was a really good experience. The hotel is very well located, 2 minutes from metro station, 5 minutes walk from Central Park. Although the hotel rooms are really really small (ours had about 9 sq metres, I guess), it was very clean and quiet. There is free wi-fi in the whole hotel, you just have to ask for a password every day. The neighbourhood is great, so you will find many places to eat. When we checked out, we could leave our luggage in the luggage room. The front desk staff were not very warm, but professional. I would definitely recommend this hotel to people who come to NYC for sightseeing and need just a clean, quiet room and bathroom and an easy place to get to the centre of Manhattan.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel is very well located! Close to the subway, walking distance from central park and the price is quite reasonable for such a location. The rooms are clean and I would have given it a four star (for all the above mentioned reasons) if it weren't for the bathroom. The bathroom is very small but that's not the problem, the problem is its maintenance, a bit of care and it could have been much more comfortable to use. Sliding door instead of shower curtain for example, because once you have that shower, the floor is getting wet no doubt about it. The staff was friendly and polite but not very helpful with tourist directions. But honestly, for a short stay in New York, what more do you need than a clean room and a super comfortable location? we were out all day and all night in this marvelous city that never sleeps. I would advise it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Yes, the rooms are quite small, but they are very clean. You're spending your time seeing the sights of NYC and just need a clean, quiet, and convenient place to sleep? The Belnord is all this, along with making you feel you live in this nice, Upper West Side neighborhood. Lots of restaurants, coffee places and shops around, too. The front desk staff is a little bored and not especially welcoming, but hey--it's New York City!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Belnord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belnord Hotel

Address: 209 West 87th Street, New York City, NY 10024
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #343 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belnord Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upper West Side of Manhattan, walking distance to Central Park and the Museum of Natural History. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Budget Places, Hotwire, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Belnord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belnord Hotel New York City
Belnord Hotel Nyc
Belnord New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belnord Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.