We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean but near to elevator and so a little noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Belnord Hotel

Save Saved
You added Belnord Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Belnord Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   209 West 87th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #337 of 446 hotels in New York City
New York
1 review
“clean but near to elevator and so a little noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

the room-hotel was a little small and noisy due to the proximity to' the lift.
very clean but unfriendly staff at the reception.
the hotel and 'very well connected with the main stops of metro.linea red, blue and orange

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    327
    241
    114
    105
See reviews for
49
244
79
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Very convenient location for the subway downtown. Shops locally and close to Central Park, easy walk to theMet.
Staff friendly and helpful. Bed comfortable. Heating system good.
Our room had only one bedside table which was very inconvenient - our onlly criticism.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I had to stop in New York for two unplanned nights and did not have many options as many hotels were booked. I booked this less than a week in advance.

The rooms are tiiiiiiinyyyyyyy, literally no space to move. We had to move the bed right up to the wall so we could find space for our luggage and space to move around. The rooms are not fancy either, but very clean. The walls are thin and we could hear people moving outside. After New York we went to San Francisco, Los Angeles and Las Vegas and this room was by far the poorest yet the most expensive. New York rates are catastrophic. Don't spend much on the room and enjoy the day out in this wonderful city.

The receptionist is extremely rude and unfriendly.

The location was very convenient though. It was a couple of mins away from the subway station and just a couple of streets away from Central Park. It was lovely to wake up in the morning and take a walk in Central Park then hop onto the subway to go sightseeing or go straight to the airport. It was a short ride away from Times Square.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I always read Tripadvisor reviews before I book a hotel so I was warned that the rooms were small, but I hadn't quite pictured lilliputian. The bed is the smallest Queen I have seen with room for only one bedside table. The 'wardrobe' area is a small rack sticking out of the wall under the TV and the bathroom was a shower (OK), and a toilet overlapped by a basin making sitting a challenging experience. I'd like to say it was all worth it because it was clean - but the sheets weren't that clean - I expect crisp white sheets; these were old and yellowed. And the view? Haha...we were so close to the building next door I could have passed our neighbours a cup of morning tea (if it was available in the hotel which it wasn't), and the proximity meant we couldn't tell if it was sunny, dull, raining.
On the plus side...the WiFi is free (although codes changed daily); the location is pretty good - lots of good restaurants within walking distance.
Not worth the 'cheap' price. Save up and get a decent hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 221. It was crap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

In short, a condensed experience! Bathroom was brand new, clean and well lighted -- just tiny. The room and hallways were relatively quiet, though spaces are narrow -- I can imagine someone who is claustrophobic might not enjoy their stay. Staff were friendly and efficient, and safe neighborhood, with nearest subway one block south on Broadway, offering convenient transportation and shopping.

Room Tip: Upper floor I stayed on (6th floor) was quiet in terms of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The room, if you want to call it that. My closet is larger. There were no bureau's. Could not fit one in the rm. The quilt was really worn. I have thrown out better. It was a very challenging experience. You did not even have rm to roll a suitcase. The tub was a foot bath size. The price was way to expensive for a night. I have stayed in the city at other hotels that were considered economical and received a lot more for your money. Not at the Belnord. The only thing on the positive side was that the mini stamp rm was clean.

Room Tip: Avoid going to the Belnord Hotel! I am not an expert in travel, but this experience was the worst on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Nice, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Overall a good location, very close to line 1 subway station. Been there in 2007 and found it completely renewed. However, the bed was not so comfortable, wireless connection didn't work at all and the heating system was terribly noisy. Moreover the personnel was not so kind. A little expensive, too...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belnord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belnord Hotel

Also Known As:
Belnord Hotel New York City
Belnord Hotel New York
Belnord
Belnord Hotel Nyc
Belnord Hotel Ny
Belnord New York City
Address: 209 West 87th Street, New York City, NY 10024
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 446 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belnord Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upper West Side of Manhattan, walking distance to Central Park and the Museum of Natural History. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Belnord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belnord Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.