We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relatively good stay at Belnord” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belnord Hotel

Save Saved
You added Belnord Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belnord Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   209 West 87th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #339 of 451 hotels in New York City
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Relatively good stay at Belnord”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I had to stop in New York for two unplanned nights and did not have many options as many hotels were booked. I booked this less than a week in advance.

The rooms are tiiiiiiinyyyyyyy, literally no space to move. We had to move the bed right up to the wall so we could find space for our luggage and space to move around. The rooms are not fancy either, but very clean. The walls are thin and we could hear people moving outside. After New York we went to San Francisco, Los Angeles and Las Vegas and this room was by far the poorest yet the most expensive. New York rates are catastrophic. Don't spend much on the room and enjoy the day out in this wonderful city.

The receptionist is extremely rude and unfriendly.

The location was very convenient though. It was a couple of mins away from the subway station and just a couple of streets away from Central Park. It was lovely to wake up in the morning and take a walk in Central Park then hop onto the subway to go sightseeing or go straight to the airport. It was a short ride away from Times Square.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    347
    254
    115
    108
See reviews for
57
263
82
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I always read Tripadvisor reviews before I book a hotel so I was warned that the rooms were small, but I hadn't quite pictured lilliputian. The bed is the smallest Queen I have seen with room for only one bedside table. The 'wardrobe' area is a small rack sticking out of the wall under the TV and the bathroom was a shower (OK), and a toilet overlapped by a basin making sitting a challenging experience. I'd like to say it was all worth it because it was clean - but the sheets weren't that clean - I expect crisp white sheets; these were old and yellowed. And the view? Haha...we were so close to the building next door I could have passed our neighbours a cup of morning tea (if it was available in the hotel which it wasn't), and the proximity meant we couldn't tell if it was sunny, dull, raining.
On the plus side...the WiFi is free (although codes changed daily); the location is pretty good - lots of good restaurants within walking distance.
Not worth the 'cheap' price. Save up and get a decent hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 221. It was crap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

In short, a condensed experience! Bathroom was brand new, clean and well lighted -- just tiny. The room and hallways were relatively quiet, though spaces are narrow -- I can imagine someone who is claustrophobic might not enjoy their stay. Staff were friendly and efficient, and safe neighborhood, with nearest subway one block south on Broadway, offering convenient transportation and shopping.

Room Tip: Upper floor I stayed on (6th floor) was quiet in terms of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The room, if you want to call it that. My closet is larger. There were no bureau's. Could not fit one in the rm. The quilt was really worn. I have thrown out better. It was a very challenging experience. You did not even have rm to roll a suitcase. The tub was a foot bath size. The price was way to expensive for a night. I have stayed in the city at other hotels that were considered economical and received a lot more for your money. Not at the Belnord. The only thing on the positive side was that the mini stamp rm was clean.

Room Tip: Avoid going to the Belnord Hotel! I am not an expert in travel, but this experience was the worst on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Nice, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Overall a good location, very close to line 1 subway station. Been there in 2007 and found it completely renewed. However, the bed was not so comfortable, wireless connection didn't work at all and the heating system was terribly noisy. Moreover the personnel was not so kind. A little expensive, too...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Fantastic location, average service, quality of sleep very low due to sound insulation problems. Probably will not stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Due to Hurricane Sandy we had an extra night in NYC. We stayed at the Belnord. We were on the third floor and it was noisy. We could hear the lift every time it stopped. Plus the stairway door was noisy. The passage way was noisy as it was not carpeted and one could hear people coming and going at all hours. Wifi was intermittent. Room was incredibly small, with almost no room on either side of the bed. Bathroom was a fair size. Hotel was very clean. Front desk staff were at best disinterested, however, they were very helpful when trying to book a limo to take us to JFK. The location is very good with plenty of restaurants and cafes close by.

Room Tip: Try and not get too close to the stairways and lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belnord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belnord Hotel

Address: 209 West 87th Street, New York City, NY 10024
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belnord Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upper West Side of Manhattan, walking distance to Central Park and the Museum of Natural History. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Belnord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belnord Hotel New York City
Belnord Hotel Nyc
Belnord New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belnord Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.