We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Hotel in the heart of Midtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Benjamin

Save Saved
You added The Benjamin to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Benjamin
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Business Travel Upgrade
Ranked #91 of 453 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Luxury Hotel in the heart of Midtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I stayed here this past winter and had an absolutely superb stay. The housekeeping staff is incredible and catered to us in every way. Every detail of our room was impecable. Despite being in the heart of midtown, our room was very quiet and noise was not an issue at all. It felt like a retreat within the city. The temperature of our room was great and easy to control which I liked (compared to some hotels where its often too hot or cold). We had one minor problem with our light bulb and engineering came up immediately to fix it which I appreciated. I will definately stay here again when visiting NYC. It really is a fantastic hotel dedicated to serving the guest. Stay there and you will love it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Meerin Z,

Your review is a delight! Thank you for recognizing the efforts of our team to help you make the most of your visit to NYC. All of our 209 newly redesigned accommodations are fresh and spotlessly clean. Housekeeping enjoys getting to know you so they can personalize their service to you and make you feel at home. As part of our room redesign, new air conditioning vent covers were installed in order to make sure our guests will feel perfectly comfortable in their rooms. These new covers allow for optimal performance and temperature regulation. I am pleased that your room temperature was comfortable during your stay. We look forward to your next visit.

All the best,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on our newly redesigned luxe Midtown East hotel and our Best Rate Promise, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    938
    449
    167
    62
    36
See reviews for
384
502
114
353
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gibsonville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

There is nowhere in NYC that can compare with the Benjamin!
This hotel truley has it all, location an excellent restaurant and bar, world class personal attention and a classic architecture. We go to the city
Frequently and would not consider staying anywhere else

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear 99tsc,

Our team was elated to read your review! Everyone here is passionately dedicated to welcoming each and every guest with genuine and attentive service. We want to help you Be at your best. The National, fashioned as a European style café, is where Chef Zakarian will delight your senses with his inspired ingredients and flavors. Our building is a Beaux-Arts gem in contrast to so many wonderful Art Deco neighbors in Midtown. Book our Summer Suite sale going on now and secure a Terrace suite that offers spectacular views of NYC and of intricate details of our building's architectural design. (The pelicans around the 18th Floor are my favorite!)

All the best,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on our newly redesigned luxe Midtown East hotel and our Best Rate Promise, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Just wanted to pass on our experience at The Benjamin Hotel in mid town NYC. If you are looking for a very clean, well run hotel that is reasonably priced check at the Benjamin. We have stayed there three times now and have had a great experience each time. Right in the heart of mid town you can get anywhere in a cab for $10.00. The people (staff) running the hotel are great, easy to talk with, and very accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear bullputbilly,

Your glowing review is a celebration of what the great team we have at the hotel loves to do; help our guests Be at their best! Thank you for your continued loyalty. Your third visit means the world to us as we aim to be your home base in NYC. We offer unsurpassed value in the heart of Midtown. Our 209 rooms and suites are generously sized, tastefully appointed and supremely comfortable with options to choose from our complimentary 10-choice pillow menu and sleep consultations with sleep science expert Rebecca Robbins.

All the best,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on our newly redesigned luxe Midtown East hotel and our Best Rate Promise, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My husband and I spent our anniversary at The Benjamin and couldn't have asked for a more amazing experience!

We are native New Yorkers that moved out of state and retreated to the city, the Benjamin in particular, for our special day. From the moment we checked in at the front desk (Omar, specifically) wished us a happy anniversary and assured us that they had a room that was as special as the occasion. Every employee that we encountered treated us with friendliness and warmth, from the cleaning staff to the management team.

The decor is stunning, modern, yet cozy and the room was impeccable in keeping with the hotel chain's standards. The room had more space than two people would need. The midtown location is also beyond convenient. One is provided with easy access to the train, bus, several stores and drugstores, and it is within walking distance of Rockefeller Center! There are parking garages around the block from the hotel which we found useful.

We were assured that if we were to need anything at all that the general manager, Steve, would be available for us. This level of personal accommodation is rare and inviting. Suffice it to say, we found no need to reach out because we had a fabulous stay.

We ended our short trip with breakfast at the zagat rated restaurant in The Benjamin, The National. The food was delicious and of amazing quality. I continue to crave their omelet and rich coffee (they serve a full carafe by the way).

All in all, we truly could not have asked for a better stay which is why I was prompted to write a review (a first for me).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Sophia I,

Happy anniversary to you and your husband! Our team rejoiced when we read your review. We are passionate about making sure our guests have a restful and restorative experience. The hotel is situated in the heart of Midtown and the Top of the Rock, at Rockefeller Center is one of our favorite recommendations. As part of the Denihan collection of hotels, we have sister properties in NYC, DC, Miami, Chicago and the recently announced The James Los Angeles - West Hollywood. You picked a wonderful way to complete your stay by enjoying a morning meal at The National. Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian awakens your senses with his inspired cuisine.

All the best to you and your husband,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on our newly redesigned luxe Midtown East hotel and our Best Rate Promise, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Md
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My family stayed here for a wonderful Holiday vacation. It was a blustery winter storm weekend, an although there were some delays with valet parking (due to weather and bad traffic and bad driving conditions), the stay was pleasant. Great room, lots of space, wonderful location withing walking distance to anything.

They were a little busy during the holiday check-in, check out period, but in general it was a good stay. I would suggest finding your own parking, since the valet garage is not on site, I didn't recognize that when I had booked. I had some problems with getting my car, but the Benjamin was very helpful in getting things remedied and generously compensated my family for some troubles. I appreciate the integrity they have and the communication that have had with me since that time to resolve the issue.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Mike H,

I am so pleased that your family enjoyed visiting NYC with us! Our priority is to help you make the most of your visit through our team's genuine and attentive service. We have Les Clefs d'Or certified concierges that will make your itinerary come to life. Our location is convenient and our supremely comfortable and spacious rooms and suites will refresh you. Your feedback about our valet parking was very helpful and we have enacted adjustments to make the parking seamless. Making things right is part of our commitment to helping you make the most of your visit. We eagerly await your next visit.

All the best to you and your family,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on our newly redesigned luxe Midtown East hotel and our Best Rate Promise, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised on check in -when the front desk upgraded our room because what we originally booked was not correct and when we showed our disappointment they immediately upgraded us. I should correct the statement because first they offered a free breakfast to make our mistake better but then when we still were unhappy an upgrade followed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Bruce G,

Our team loved reading your review! Your glowing remarks highlight the spirit our team exudes to delight our guests with genuine service. We are going to help you make the most of your visit to NYC. I am thrilled our Front Desk team took wonderful care of you; it's simply why we are here. We look forward to your next visit.

All the best,

Steve Sasso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed here on a recent trip to NYC and was pleased with every aspect of my stay. My room was spotless and spacious and everyone on staff with whom I interacted was unfailingly helpful and warm. (And to the attention of hotel management, a very special thanks to Mohammed, the porter who greeted me so graciously upon my arrival -- as I was leaving for the airport (in a HUGE rush) my town car abandoned me and Mohammed came to the rescue immediately with the number for the dispatcher and advice on what to do. Give this gentleman kudos and raise; he is a gem!)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear E_Smith206,

I am thrilled that you enjoyed a restful and restorative stay with us. Our 209 rooms and suites are generously sized, spotlessly fresh and clean and are all newly redesigned with modern design elements that preserve the classic architecture of our 1927 building. Thank you for recognizing our staff's genuine and attentive service and especially mentioning Mohammad by name.

All the best,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on our newly redesigned luxe Midtown East hotel and our Best Rate Promise, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Address: 125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in New York City
#63 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#72 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#86 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Benjamin 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown, The Benjamin offers 209 newly re-designed terrace suites, one-bedroom suites and guest rooms by Rottet Studio featuring kitchenettes and signature Benjamin Beds. Housed within the hotel is The National Bar & Dining Rooms with a menu of modern bistro dishes by Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. Known best for its world-renowned Sleep Program Rest & Renew, The Benjamin features a Pillow Menu and bedtime snacks. Families enjoy Winks' Kidzzz Club with pint-sized amenities for kids to use during their stay. A private guest lounge on the second floor offers two business stations and lounge seating. The Benjamin affords quick access to Fifth Avenue's high-end boutiques, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and Central Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel New York City
Benjamin New York City
Benjamin Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Benjamin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;