We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Benjamin to your Saves list
The Benjamin
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Port Jefferson, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superior customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The Benjamin is the hotel that you should make your accommodations either that of a short stay or a wonderful family weekend in NY. I have stayed at The Benjamin on numerous occasions for business purposes and from the minute you walk in the front door you feel at home.

Khady a wonderful associate of The Benjamin, is one of the main reasons that my stay is ever so pleasant. From my reservations, to any special requests ,or a phone call that is made during my stay to make sure that all my accommodations are fulfilled, she represents the professionalism and care that any hotel would be proud to have as a representative of who they are. Elias, another associate is wonderful as well,always so accommodating and professional!!

All associates at The Benjamin are wonderful, the accommodations are lovely and the dining in the hotels restaurant is excellent.

There is no doubt that The Benjamin is the hotel of my choice , make it yours, you won't be disappointed!!

Room Tip: Suite 2601 a home away from home....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear 759Deborah,

You’ve made our day with your phenomenal review! Thank you for recognizing the service of two of our associates, Khady and Elias. The personalized service you received from them represents what our entire team will deliver to each guest. We aspire to provide a welcoming sense of arrival that sets you at ease the moment you walk through our doors. Our experience sets us apart with features like our Rest & Renew Program, award winning cuisine from Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian and rejuvenating salon and spa services from Federico Hair & Spa.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    475
    183
    63
    39
See reviews for
410
531
118
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The Benjamin is a first class hotel! The staff goes above and beyond what is expected. The rooms are very clean and inviting. The National Restaurant at the Benjamin is such an added bonus. This is definitely the place to stay on your next visit to New York whether it is business or pleasure!!! You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear BCB0st0n,

Thank you for your glowing remarks. I truly appreciate that you took the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. Our rooms are generously sized, well-appointed and spotlessly fresh and clean. Our team is dedicated to making sure your experience is flawless and your visit to NYC is filled with fond memories and a sense of accomplishment. We offer unique amenities such as our 24 hour fitness center with equipment by Technogym, official supplier to the Olympics. The perfect choice for families as well, our renowned children’s bedtime program Winks’ Kidzzz Club, features a library of bedtime books, child size robes, a plush Winks Owl and much more.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Very nice place to stay, good staff, good localization, good food, good amenities
furnitures are good, the bath is little small, tha electronics are good,
Near the Rockfeller center, near Broadway, near madison and Lexington

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Adriana C,

Thank you for your rave review of your December stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed all the offerings that we have available in both the Hotel and The National Bar & Dining Rooms by Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. Our location in Midtown is ideal for folks traveling on business or leisure. We are 1 block from the subway and 3 blocks to access Grand Central in addition to premiere shopping along Madison and Fifth Avenue and Rockefeller Center. All 209 rooms have been newly designed and renovated by Rottet Studio. I am pleased you enjoyed everything in your guestroom. Next visit, I hope you will try our Rest & Renew Menu informed by Sleep expert Rebecca Robbins which is completely rejuvenating.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here over the holiday festivities and it was perfect! My fiancé and I were extremely pleased with this hotel with its clean rooms and welcoming staff. One staff member, Elias, was exceptionally helpful with us.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Cdegroff,

Your radiant remarks have made our day! Our team is delighted to celebrate that your experience at The Benjamin helped you to make the most of your visit to New York City. Our 209 rooms and suites are all newly redesigned by Rottet Studio. Each room is generously sized and spotlessly fresh and clean. Our passionate staff makes everything possible in the hotel. Thank you for recognizing Elias from our Bell/Door team in you review. Every associate on our great team is focused on your rest, renewal and ensuring your stay is filled with fond memories.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
The Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I came to stay at the Benjamin (aka my new "NYC home") with my daughter for a Christmas shopping extravaganza. We had such a wonderful time with the help of the staff at the Benjamin. Our tired feet and heavy bags were always met with professionalism and care. The rooms were HUGE for New York standards and the decor was fabulous. I was especially surprised by how well I slept considering my usual sleep challenges, but the pillow menu surely delivers. We will ALWAYS stay at the Benjamin- our oasis in the big city. PS the restaurant was AMAZING.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear surabela,

You've made our day with your spectacular review! I appreciate the time you took to share your positive experience on Tripadvisor. Our team puts such a huge emphasis on preparation behind the scenes to be at their best for each guest. Knowing that you will be back is the best gift we can receive. We want to be your destination of choice in NYC. Our rest and renew program is like no other in the world and I am so glad our 10 choice pillow menu enhanced your stay. I hope you and your daughter will join us again soon and again for the holidays in 2014 for another extravaganza!

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
The Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel is well located...staff appeared friendly...BUT...the carpet was so incredibly dirty..it spoiled anything else that may have been worthy of more stars.....shared suite with adult son so when the sofa bed was out there were sharp, dangerous edges because the coffee table had to be set at an angle making it impossible to manage. Lesson learned...if there is a deal or no deal on the price, ask to see the suite before accepting a key...

Room Tip: Avoid suite 1010 until refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear E S,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel's great location and that it suited your travel plans. We are a short walk of the best there is to do in Midtown. Our staff offers every guest genuine and attentive service. I appreciate your recognition of the team's efforts to engage you and your son during your stay. As for the housekeeping items you mentioned, I was dismayed to read your remarks as they do not reflect the overall efforts of the team to meticulously prepare each room. I apologize for the inconvenience and its impact on your overall experience. I have completely addressed and resolved these issues and I would be delighted to host you again. I hope you will contact me directly when your travel plans will bring you back to NYC.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
The Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have stayed at the Benjamin since its opening. The rooms are still as nice, but the little extras that make a hotel exceptional are missing. We stayed this time, due to location and pricing during our New Years visit. Rooms are sized nicely by NY standards, bathrooms extremely small with no counter space.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Kenneth P,

Thank you for your 14+ years of loyalty to The Benjamin! I am delighted that we have received a review from you on Tripadvisor. I hope you will review us with each future visit. Please contact me directly so I may speak to you about the details of your most recent visit. We are always listening to our guests and every service we offer is designed with our guests in mind. We have guest rooms, studios and suites of all varying size and layout. I know that we have the just the right room for you to accommodate all of your desires. All 209 rooms and suites are newly designed by Rottet Studio. My email is jegol@thebenjamin.com and my phone is 212.715.2500.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
The Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Address: 125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in New York City
#67 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#70 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#97 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Benjamin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown, The Benjamin offers 209 newly re-designed terrace suites, one-bedroom suites and guest rooms by Rottet Studio featuring kitchenettes and signature Benjamin Beds. Housed within the hotel is The National Bar & Dining Rooms with a menu of modern bistro dishes by Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. Known best for its world-renowned Sleep Program Rest & Renew, The Benjamin features a Pillow Menu and bedtime snacks. Families enjoy Winks' Kidzzz Club with pint-sized amenities for kids to use during their stay. A private guest lounge on the second floor offers two business stations and lounge seating. The Benjamin affords quick access to Fifth Avenue's high-end boutiques, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and Central Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel New York City
Benjamin New York City
Benjamin Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Benjamin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.