We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Eurostars Dylan Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eurostars Dylan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Eurostars Dylan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52 East 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #305 of 446 hotels in New York City
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Horrible !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I had 2 nights reserved´by my company in this hotel from the 27 th to the 29th of november. When i arrived in the hotel the personaĺ was helpful and nice. When i discovered my room the miror in the bathroom was dirty ( water and toothpate?..) then i opened the bed and there was some hairs ( shorts one in the middle of the bed)

I asked for someone, they did notice these elements and proposed another room. In this other room,there was another long hair...they saw also it when i opened the bed in front of them.
They offered a 3nd room but before i took it, cleaned everything. In all of these rooms the carpet was used ( maybe 15/20 years old? ) and dirty. The beds are also used for the category of the 4 stars supposed hotel. I spent one night in this hotel and left for another hoteĺ the day after. I took photos of all these elements , we had to pay night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    205
    101
    50
    35
See reviews for
66
194
37
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Without doubt a fantastic location right on Grand Central's doorstep, this Hotel is serious need of renovation, don't be fooled by the well appointed lobby and great use of photography on the web site. this is far from 4 star luxury

Our original room on the 16th floor had fixtures hanging off the wall and electrical socket loose, furnishings that were so old the handles came off, and a shower that you had to run around in to get wet. With the winter heating system in full effect the room was like a greenhouse!

To be fair the staff promptly agreed to move us to another room which was better, cooler, larger but still tired. Don't expect a view unless you are on a high floor.

The wifi was slow, but at least it was free throughout the hotel. Whilst we were there only one elevator worked.

Overall I was pretty disappointed and wont be rushing back - sorry!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights at the Dylan. Our room was on the 6th floors and just in front of another building, which means it was always dark and we never saw daylight. The room is comfortable and not too small, but the furniture and the curtains looked a bit tired and old. Moreover, it was very noisy because of the A/C system.
The bathroom was of good size and functioning well. We found the hotel very convenient and well located but nothing special. It was ok, as we only slept there and never spent time in the room.
A special mention to the staff at who was always polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the upper levels and where you can actually see the daylight
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was neutral about the Dylan till my enforced stay in another NYC hotel. I was stranded in New York by the authorities over-reaction to an impending storm (Sandy). When I arrived at La Guardia, on Sunday, to get my return flight to UK, there was hardly a breeze blowing, yet all flights were cancelled. The weather remained mild for the next 12 hours. In my view, I was placed in danger by a very poor decision. I had to return to Manhattan but Dylan was full, so I had to accept any port in a storm - the New York Inn. The staff were friendly but the carpet was filthy, the shower was unusable and the room was tiny. On the plus side, it had a good TV and good WIFI. Final point - I am covered in bites! But back to the Dylan - compared to NY Inn it was very good; but compared to other 4 stars I've stayed in, it was no more than OK. The location (between Park and Madison; near Grand Central) is it's major positive, although I also found the bedroom a good size and clean. Negatives? Poor facilities and terrible WIFI. Nowadays good WIFI (it was weak even in the lobby) is a must-have. I was also disturbed by the "So what?" reaction of reception staff, when I returned from the airport. Fair enough they can't magic an empty room, but they didn't even offer to help me find an alternative. I had to use their pathetic WIFI to (very slowly) find a room. Not nice.

Room Tip: Ask for good WIFI.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

On arrival the staff were very pleasant and we checked in. Our room was a decent size and clean. Plenty of cupboard space with a free safe to use. The shower worked well. The room was a little cool though.
Staff were helpful and gave us a map to get around.
We found the location great with the central station just outside ( try the oyster bar for a meal there) Times Square was about a 10 min quick walk.
The hotel kept our cases on the last day so we could fully enjoy our last day to the full. They booked a taxi for our return to JFK airport which cost $65. ( taxi from the airport to the hotel will cost you $60 all in.)
All in all good value , clean good location and would recommend it either for a long weekend or a weeks holiday to visit New York . Ps : recommend a 3 day pass for the attractions and the lion king .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Looks good on line but the reality is a very different story. For $300 per night you would expect a lot better. This place is very tired. The Wi fi doesnt work properly and is very Slooooow. Sink was blocked. Phones dont work, Even the curtains are broken!
Spend you money somewhere else!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in the Dylan for a night in October. Found the staff on check in really nice and the concierge was nice if not that helpful of where to go out to get a bite to eat! He didn't really know the area that well. The room was really nice, big king size bed which was super comfortable and impecably clean. Bathroom was big and spacious too!
The only draw back was that the wifi connection was really weak and became very irritating to try and use!
Would recommend the Dylan if the wifi wouldn't both you!

Room Tip: When travelling to NYC shop around and look at using two different hotels on your trip to see if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eurostars Dylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Dylan Hotel

Also Known As:
Dylan Hotel New York City
Dylan Hotel New York
Dylan
Dylan Hotel
Dylan New York City
Address: 52 East 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#153 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#292 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Dylan Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Dylan Hotel, hotel in Manhattan, unites tradition and modernity exquisitely and with a contemporary elegance that captivates our guests. The building is very emblematic, first having been the residence of the Welsh writer, Dylan Thomas and later, the headquarters of the New York Pharmacists Club. The Eurostars Dylan Hotel combines the classical lounges and guest rooms of the period with ambiances and areas in contemporary design. We are a non-stop hotel, because the Big Apple never stops. For this reason, the gym and the Business Centre are open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Amex, TripOnline SA, Otel, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Eurostars Dylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eurostars Dylan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.