We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blowing in the wind..............” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eurostars Dylan Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eurostars Dylan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eurostars Dylan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52 East 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #312 of 451 hotels in New York City
London
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Blowing in the wind..............”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was neutral about the Dylan till my enforced stay in another NYC hotel. I was stranded in New York by the authorities over-reaction to an impending storm (Sandy). When I arrived at La Guardia, on Sunday, to get my return flight to UK, there was hardly a breeze blowing, yet all flights were cancelled. The weather remained mild for the next 12 hours. In my view, I was placed in danger by a very poor decision. I had to return to Manhattan but Dylan was full, so I had to accept any port in a storm - the New York Inn. The staff were friendly but the carpet was filthy, the shower was unusable and the room was tiny. On the plus side, it had a good TV and good WIFI. Final point - I am covered in bites! But back to the Dylan - compared to NY Inn it was very good; but compared to other 4 stars I've stayed in, it was no more than OK. The location (between Park and Madison; near Grand Central) is it's major positive, although I also found the bedroom a good size and clean. Negatives? Poor facilities and terrible WIFI. Nowadays good WIFI (it was weak even in the lobby) is a must-have. I was also disturbed by the "So what?" reaction of reception staff, when I returned from the airport. Fair enough they can't magic an empty room, but they didn't even offer to help me find an alternative. I had to use their pathetic WIFI to (very slowly) find a room. Not nice.

Room Tip: Ask for good WIFI.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    207
    99
    54
    36
See reviews for
70
203
38
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

On arrival the staff were very pleasant and we checked in. Our room was a decent size and clean. Plenty of cupboard space with a free safe to use. The shower worked well. The room was a little cool though.
Staff were helpful and gave us a map to get around.
We found the location great with the central station just outside ( try the oyster bar for a meal there) Times Square was about a 10 min quick walk.
The hotel kept our cases on the last day so we could fully enjoy our last day to the full. They booked a taxi for our return to JFK airport which cost $65. ( taxi from the airport to the hotel will cost you $60 all in.)
All in all good value , clean good location and would recommend it either for a long weekend or a weeks holiday to visit New York . Ps : recommend a 3 day pass for the attractions and the lion king .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Looks good on line but the reality is a very different story. For $300 per night you would expect a lot better. This place is very tired. The Wi fi doesnt work properly and is very Slooooow. Sink was blocked. Phones dont work, Even the curtains are broken!
Spend you money somewhere else!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in the Dylan for a night in October. Found the staff on check in really nice and the concierge was nice if not that helpful of where to go out to get a bite to eat! He didn't really know the area that well. The room was really nice, big king size bed which was super comfortable and impecably clean. Bathroom was big and spacious too!
The only draw back was that the wifi connection was really weak and became very irritating to try and use!
Would recommend the Dylan if the wifi wouldn't both you!

Room Tip: When travelling to NYC shop around and look at using two different hotels on your trip to see if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Dylan Hotel is located close to stores, Grand Central Station and the New York Public library. It was good walking distance to 5th Avenue as well. The hotel itself was clean, quiet and a great value.

Bathrooms were a little small and shower awkward, however very clean. We enjoyed our stay at the Dylan and would recommend it for couples or individuals.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

 I would like to acknowledge the support we received from all the hotel staff. All were friendly and efficient. The reception is very good, the hotel is very good and well located.

When I return to NY, I'll be there again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scunthorpe
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed last week it was a great location for sight seeing.
Walk everywhere from the hotel & it was fine for me, as I don't do any exercise.
Times Square Grand Central Broadway 5th avenue easy to find.
Go to the Yankie Stadium in the Bronx it was an experience
Tip- cheaper places to eat & drink are in the higher street numbers , the lower the more expensive.
Hotel had free wifi
Staff nice
Rooms surprised how nice they were.
Tip no heating until November & it was cold.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eurostars Dylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Dylan Hotel

Address: 52 East 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#154 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Dylan Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Dylan Hotel, hotel in Manhattan, unites tradition and modernity exquisitely and with a contemporary elegance that captivates our guests. The building is very emblematic, first having been the residence of the Welsh writer, Dylan Thomas and later, the headquarters of the New York Pharmacists Club. The Eurostars Dylan Hotel combines the classical lounges and guest rooms of the period with ambiances and areas in contemporary design. We are a non-stop hotel, because the Big Apple never stops. For this reason, the gym and the Business Centre are open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Eurostars Dylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Hotel New York City
Dylan New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eurostars Dylan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.