We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Muse Hotel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Muse Hotel New York to your Saves list
The Muse Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Parking
Ranked #39 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Hamilton, ON
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best hotel ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

We stayed at the Muse Oct 4 - 7. What a fabulous place. I travelled with my BFF :) and my 18 yr old daughter and her 2 girlfriends for a Kelly Clarkson. We had first booked a Marriott C/W breakfast, and a last minute recommendation landed us at the Muse. The kids were a bit upset about the change UNTIL we arrived. OMG - the squealing didn't stop for 4 days. They soon got over having to buy their own breakfast and settled into the double pillow top beds, enormous bathroom, the pillows, bathrobes, large roomss , the glamourous bar, and don't forget the coolest bathrooms we've ever seen - in the front lobby. The hotel is spotless, and safe - I never feared for the girl's safety when they went to the lobby on their own, and the staff was top notch. We definately would return. Oh, and as an added bonus - Kelly Carkson's band was staying there - oh how the the girls squealed with delight at seeing these cool musicians in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distributi0nManager, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 18, 2009
Dear zeete,
We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Muse New York! I'm thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable visit. It sounds like your daughter and her friends really had a special experience, too! I'm happy to hear you'll be visiting us again. Until then, happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,365
    577
    127
    65
    27
See reviews for
441
833
80
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

I know NY pretty well and have experienced many hotels in the big Apple, mostly on business trips.
For once on a leisure trip and travelling with my friend, I was looking for a hotel that was not the huge building of 500 rooms, more boutique type, smaller size and nice decoration, that feels a little like home. Yet very near Times Square which was my friend's wish. I would have taken some distance from Times Square easily has a feared the crowd and the noise. None of that on this small street, when the hotel is 1 mn away from Times Square.
The hotel was exactly what I expected. Charming. The decoration met my expectation creative yet comfy and cosy. The room and bathroom very clean. The street quiet. The staff amiable (not always the case in NY). The wineglass invitation every afternoon is very pleasant after an afternoon of sightseeing or shopping.
I checked Kimpton hotels since, and apparently they are a US chain. I wish they were worldwide, I would be looking to try others.
One disappointment: I had booked a 'premier' room - supposedly a corner room, and I was not given the room I had booked and paid for in advance. The hotel was full and no chance to switch. Nor was I proposed a rebate. I was told I was given an executive instead, 'a good deal'. Difficult to check that I got a good replacement and I doubt still. I would have preffered a corner room. Management was not amiable or apologetic when I was inquiring.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

This was our second visit to a Kimpton Hotel and both stays have been literally perfect! The Muse is a fun hotel in a great location with truly outstanding customer service.

Every single staff encounter we had was positive. And some were downright unbelievable. I had forgotten to add my InTouch number to the reservation, but the hotel staff spotted it in advance and had me all set.

We had a superior king, which was just a bit more than a standard room. It was huge for New York and completely spotless.

What was especially nice was getting a totally quiet room, that actually had a view and was as close as we were to Times Square and Rockefeller Center.

We're sold on Kimptons!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distributi0nManager, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 4, 2009
Dear TumbleweedandCactus,
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Muse New York! We're happy to hear that your stay was so wonderful and that you had such great experiences with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andover ma
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

stayed here at the Muse this past weekend. Walked in without a reservation even though online the rooms were around 249.00 on this particular weekend. Reservationist quoted us 389.00!!! We said forget it we'll go to the Comfort Inn across the street........suddenly the price came down to 309.00 hmmmmm. Anyway, the room was lovely, the bed incredibly soft. Rooms do look exactly as pictured. Only 1 block from Times Square, across the street from Havana Central restaurant.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

Perfect location, right near Bryant Park and Times Square. Central to everything! The rooms are fabulous! They are renovated, clean and the beds are so comfortable. The bathrooms are a great size as well. Free wi-fi for Kimpton In Touch members. Wine hour every night in the lobby, you can't beat it! And the lobby and restaurant have just been renovated as well, and are just beautiful!

Service is great. I was checked in within minutes and when I forgot my computer cord, they found one in lost and found and brought one to my room immediately for me. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distributi0nManager, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, October 14, 2009
Dear hawkeye0905,
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at the Muse New York! I'm glad the location worked out so well. I'm happy to see you also enjoyed our evening wine reception and the free wi-fi! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

Had a lovely stay at The Muse. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and modern. However, if you can upgrade to a non-standard room I would. The standard room (one we were placed in initially) was on a low floor and close to the hotel generators. The hotel staff were very accommodating and moved us quickly to a different room. Complimentary tea/coffee in the mornings were an added bonus. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

On Saturday, night, Oct 10th, the hotel next door (the night Hotel) had apermit for a special party. Despite us being on the quite side of the hotel, we and others we unable to fall asleep until approximately 4 am. The hotel staff, refused to take give up any compensation - not a penny (we only asked for one night free parking). Danielle the manager refused saying that the noise keeping us up until 4 am in the morning was beyond their control. Danielle recommended the I relate this story when making another reservation and I would get a better rate. He refused to give meanything in writing.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Muse Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Muse Hotel New York

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in New York City
#28 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#55 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Muse Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Muse Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Muse Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.