We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Kimpton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Muse Hotel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Muse Hotel New York to your Saves list
The Muse Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Parking
Ranked #39 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Solana Beach, California, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“It's a Kimpton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Excellent location - half a block from Times Square an the Theatre district.
outstanding Kimpton Service - quiet attention to detail. Friendly and helpful staff. Quick to react and address any request or need.
Room was wonderful - quiet, large, comfortable. Shower had wonderful water pressure. And of course the regular Kimpton amenities (including free WiFi). Modern equipment, and no lack of outlets (which is an accomplishment for any family travelling with teenagers and their electronic devices).
Gym is tiny, but well equipped (two treadmills, two ellipticals and two bikes a bench and weights), but if you want to stretch, you are better off using the yoga mat in your room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Noam Z,

Thank you for the five star review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! We are happy we could help your teenagers stay connected…. we understand the importance of that!

Come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,337
    564
    127
    65
    27
See reviews for
427
821
80
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor MI
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

The Muse is no longer spiffy, but the location is excellent and the beds are comfy. Beware of lengthy serious traffic jams in the lobby around check-in and checkout time, when the guests line up several layers deep waiting (and waiting and waiting) to get to the front desk. The refrigerator that purports to be a minibar is not even a little bit cold, but you can ask them to bring up a complimentary mini-frig.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear ToykoVisitor,

Thank you for the review. Its great knowing our location was perfect for your stay.

Be sure to join Kimpton Karma rewards program for great deals and offers.

We hope we can welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel to do a family tourist trip. Being a former New Yorker I knew time square would be a good location to center on. We like boutique hotels and The Muse was perfect for what we needed. It is very quaint and clean with complimentary coffee, tea, lemonade whenever you need. The front staff , especially Espirit are fabulous. They had a mix up of the name on our reservation it was addressed immediately and then sent up a bottle of Complimentary champagne and homemade cookies. They had gift bags with little things for children. This is great when you get back to the room and want to chill.. It gives them something to do. It is kid friendly but very adult New York. Not Disneyland. Which is also what we wanted to avoid considering we are in the new time square. We had a one bedroom with living room suite. The room was a nice size with fun boutique furniture. The bathroom had modern amenities. The best thing was at bedtime it was quiet and dark despite the location. It is centerd to the train station,tour buses and plenty of resturants and shows. If you don't want to do the time square thing just head over a few blocks and find something less touristy.

Room Tip: They have a fully stocked refrigerator,but will bring one up to your room free of charge for all you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear beachbum2626,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review.

We do apologize about the reservation mix up but so happy we were able to get this fixed and ensure your family had a great stay.

Its great knowing our location was perfect for your New York getaway and that we are the perfect mix of kid friendly and adult friendly!

Come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This hotel is located just by Times Square, and for an adventures trip to NY that's just perfect.

From here you have the theaters and bars just by, you are just a few blocks away from Central Park and all the shopping areas.

The hotel it selves are good, and like all other Kimpton hotels we have stayed on its fresh and fancy (even though they are not a complete rebuild but only surface fixed).

Definitely on my list next time in NY

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Khoeg,

Thank you for your review.

We are thrilled to know our location was perfect for your Big Apple getaway.

Come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Spent 3 nights the first week of August. Like all Kimpton Hotels this one has the distinctive charm, homey feel and staff friendliness the chain is noted for. Just a half block up the street from all the Times Square teeming humanity - The Muse is cool, calm, inviting and contemporary. Room was quite comfortable with one of the largest bathrooms I've had in a New York hotel in a long while. Safe, mini bar, iron, ironing board, bathrobe, standard toiletries, radio/TV - only thing missing was a coffee maker which was soon sent up from housekeeping when I called. Complimentary wine served in the Lobby after 5 is a well attended affair. (One grump - the "gym" is a pretty dismal affair even by NY compact standards. Basically a treadmill and some weights. Also - had to pull sheets off the bed and put on the floor in order to get fresh, clean ones put on my last night.) Overall, a real gem of a small hotel. Superb location!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear SanAntonioBill,

We are so pleased to know that our hotel was serenity from the hustle and bustle of Times Square.

Its great knowing that our rooms and amenities we perfect for your stay.

Being an eco-friendly hotel we would be happy to change all the sheets however upon request.

Come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

This hotel, like most in the Kimpton chain, is on the smaller scale and very clean. The rooms are above-average size for a Manhattan hotel. The location in the Theatre District and right off of Times Square is a plus. However, the area is quite noisy and the rooms on the 46th street side of the property are as well, so make sure to request a room in the back. The hotel elevators are quite slow so keep that in mind of you are rushing to get somewhere.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear WanderingDad,

Thank you for the review.

We are happy you enjoyed our location.

Please know we have just finishing updating our last elevator which was to better service our guests.

Come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

I found the hotel to be overpriced for what it offered. For instance the refrigerator in my room did not work. When we arrived there was left over trash in our bathroom and fruit trays. The hotel ambiance wasn't so bad however, front desk service leaves a lot to be desired . A few times when I walked over for assistance both ladies were on the phone and did not even acknowledge me. At one point I just left. When I asked to have trash from previous guests removed, I was asked is this all! In a tone indicating annoyance.These are things I expect in a motel 6 hotel. Not a $500 a night hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Amogee2014,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review.

It seems as though we missed the mark on your recent stay and I hope you can accept our sincerest apologize for the issues that occurred. This is certainly not standard or acceptable and we will make sure to follow up on the issues that you mentioned.

We hope we can welcome you back and show you a true Muse experience. Please reach out to us at tripadvisor@themusehotel.com as we would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Muse Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Muse Hotel New York

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#30 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#32 Family Hotel in New York City
#64 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Muse Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Muse Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Muse Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.