We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAB” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Muse Hotel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Muse Hotel New York to your Saves list
The Muse Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off This Fall
Ranked #36 of 453 Hotels in New York City
DUBLIN, IRELAND
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“FAB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Myself and my wife stayed here for two nights in May and found it to be terrific. Sometimes "boutique" hotels can lack atmosphere or warmth but not here - from our arrival we were treated very well, from the concierge and reception staff to the restaurant staff each morning at breakfast. A wonderful location, just off Times Square, yet quiet for all that. Of particular note, and rare for NYC, were the size of the bedrooms (larger than normal) and the wi-fi (free of charge!). Highly recommended, we'll be back upon our return to the Big Apple.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and grab a balcony room if weather is likely to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear SPOONER47,

Thank you for the FAB review!

We are so happy you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,298
    550
    123
    63
    25
See reviews for
416
796
80
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My first trip to New York City was amazing partly due to the recommendations from many of the staff members at this caring hotel. The room itself was quietly elegant, good sized and clean with comfort and solitude. Staying on the 18th floor gave me great views of the city and kept the outdoor street noise to a minimum. A complimentary bottle of wine and chocolates awaited me and the hotel offered daily wine tastings in the lobby. I recommend this place and wanted to personally thank Preston at the front desk for his assistance and genuine kindness.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear SBOCC_Steve,

What an A’Muse’ing review!

We are so please you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s great knowing our hotel was a great back job to your Big Apple getaway.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here back in November the week before Thanksgiving with my mom for our annual Broadway Show Holiday Weekend. The hotel came at the recommendation of friends. It's a small, modern boutique hotel in the heart of the theater district. Location was perfect - we walked to John's pizzeria and the theater to see Kinky Boots. Room was quite small for a king bed, and a view of the roof/alley of the adjacent building. Decor is modern yet funky, kind of a mad hatter feel. The bed itself also felt short for some reason. Both mom and I are under 5'3" and I felt like there wasn't much room at the foot of the bed for a taller person. Quite odd. The amenities are nice, free wi-fi and fun animal print robes to lounge in and can be paid for to keep. Something also smelled quite off in the room at times. Not sure if it was whatever was outside the window at the adjacent building or coming through the heat vents, but it was not pleasant. Complimentary trail mix buffet set up in the lobby was a fun touch, but beware of pushy patrons. The bathroom off the lobby is quite interesting, won't spoil it for others, but you must go in and take a peak.

Overall, I think The Muse is semi-overrated. You really do just pay for location and cool decor. I would still try another Kimpton location to compare for myself, but not sure I would stay at The Muse again. Bucket list check marked, and that's about it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Christine S,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review.

We are happy you enjoyed our location and also the extra amenities we had to offer during your stay.

We apologize you weren’t satisfied with your room. We always want our guests to be happy and comfortable and if ever you are not 100% satisfied we are here to help.

We hope we can welcome you back again. Please reach out to one of the managers at tripadvisor@themusehotel.com so we can personally welcome you in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Our first visit to New York! Location was such a bonus, worth paying to be so central. Only a few steps to Times Square. Staff very helpful & friendly. Morning coffee in the foyer was perfect; as was happy hour. The room was lovely, comfortable. Would love to return. The decor in the toilets on ground level is fantastic and worth a visit! Good boutique beer and food in the bar.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear JennyZ1959,

Thank you for the great review!

We are so happy to know you loved our location! Nothing beats being in the hustle and bustle of Times Square!

We are also thrilled to know you enjoyed dining in Nios.

We hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The Muse is a great hotel! The room was very clean, and quiet. I was a little nervous being next to the elevator, but I was not disturbed by anyone or by the elevator noise. The staff was very nice and helpful. It is in a great location, just 1/2 block from Times Square and all the theaters. A couple blocks and you are at the subway. It's not that long of a walk to Central Park either. Loved the hotel and the location. Will definetly visit again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Michelle G,

Thank you for the great review.

We are so happy that you enjoyed both the location and your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My first visit was some 3 years ago. I had the opportunity to return to the Muse for a weekend mental escape to the city for two nights, I took advantage of a last minute rate, inexpensive by NYC standards! but still pricey by most other standards. The room was, of course, small with no view which I expected for the discounted last minute weekend rate, but everything else about the hotel was perfect. It's perfectly located, the staff are perfectly friendly, and overall the experience was perfect as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear TEXKEYSTONE,

Thank you for the great review!

We are so happy you returned to stay with us for a little ‘R&R’.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were so pleased with this hotel. From the very start the staff were efficient and friendly. I had requested a room on a high floor and they put us at the very top! I had also mentioned it being my husband's birthday and a complimentary bottle of bubbly was waiting for us on our first night with a hand written note from Sarah, the manager. This was very much appreciated and I made sure to tell her! The room was large, clean and nicely furnished. The bed and pillows were like sleeping on a cloud, I'd say the best hotel bed ever!!

We did have issues with the water supply on two mornings,which was annoying but I believed Sarah when she told me she was doing her best to resolve the issues with the workmen down the street. She also gave us a discount on the bill without us asking, again very much appreciated.

The hotel is brilliantly located for tourists being right off Times Square. It meant we could walk to numerous restaurants and bars and not have to worry about getting cabs late at night. The complimentary coffee in the mornings was great and set us up for our treks around the city. We only managed to get back in time for the free wine twice but it was very pleasant.

This hotel is a little pricey and more than we would usually pay but we wanted everything to be perfect for our first trip to New York and The Muse fits the bill. Thank you Sarah and all your staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear chattykathyblue,

Thank you for the great review!

We so are so happy you enjoyed our location and property.

We are delighted that we were able to help you and your husband celebrate such a special birthday.

Again, we do apologize for the frustrations with the water however appreciated your patience while we worked through this.

We hope to have you stay with us again and if we can ever be of any more assistance please reach out to us at tripadvisor@themusehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Muse Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Muse Hotel New York

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in New York City
#20 Family Hotel in New York City
#26 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#30 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#56 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Muse Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Orbitz, Otel, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Muse Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Muse Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.