We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great quiet location in the middle of broadway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Muse Hotel New York

Save Saved
You added The Muse Hotel New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Muse Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Travel Like a Local
Ranked #30 of 451 hotels in New York City
denver, co
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great quiet location in the middle of broadway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This lovely, quiet hotel is central to Broadway but an oasis in the city. Right on a street with several theaters and great restaurants, it has great beds, beautiful details, and an accommodating stafff.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear lovepaula,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,020 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,283
    537
    114
    62
    24
See reviews for
395
765
79
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Kimpton Hotels offer upscale boutique-y hotels that offer a nice alternative to large hotels with hundreds of rooms and acres of lobby. This was no exception, it was nicely decorated, with comfortable rooms and decent value for money. However, they were a little short on the service side - no one to help with bags, a tray of dirty dishes left outside the room, not much help hailing a cab. Out first room, a suite on the third floor, had people walking outside of it at eye level, a little disconcerting (must have been some kind of service access or roof area - they were not walking on air! We switched to a higher floor) The location was excellent for the theatre however. They also had a fun hair and makeup event one evening (promoting one of their services). Overall, a little more attention to the front of the house there could really improve the experience - oh, and adjust the settings on the elevator doors, they close very quickly like steel traps!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear RdSxfn,

Thank you for your review.

I do want to apologize about your dissatisfaction with your first room, however very pleased we were able to get you into a new room once you spoke with our team.

We do thank you for your feedback regarding our team and will make sure to share your comments in order to learn from this.

We are thrilled you enjoyed our ‘On Demand Glam’ services that we have to offer.
We hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We spent four nights at the Muse and were very pleased. The room was well appointed and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and attentive. We especially enjoyed the restaurant, NIOS. It is cozy, charming, and very convenient. The food and drinks were excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Tim D,

Thank you for your FIVE star review.

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s great that you were able to enjoy Nios as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Had an amazing stay over the Easter weekend. Everything from start to finish of our stay was perfect. When we checked in we were upgraded to an amazing room with a balcony (1502) and there were surprises for my daughter who was celebrating her birthday that weekend. Everybody meet us feel special and important and very welcome. Special shout out to Sarah Sam Rohan and Valerie. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
Green Features: Great recycling practices and all environmentally friendly
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear edandmer,

What a fantastic review! We are thrilled that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us and so pleased we could help celebrate your daughter’s birthday.

Thank you for the shout outs! We have made sure to share this with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 8 nights and chose this hotel based on reviews, we agree with the positive reviews and had a comfortable stay. The location is excellent and definitely good value in comparison to other hotels. The rooms do look like the pictures and they will not disappoint, bed was comfortable and the room was spacious and the shower was good. We ate breakfast at the hotel every morning it was adequate for what we needed. My only gripe is that I think there should be tea/ coffee facilities in the room, did annoy me that I had to wait to go down to the lobby to get a cup of tea in the morning. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel and will stay here again when I next come to New York.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Mandy S,

Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. We are thrilled your enjoyed our location as well as the rooms.

Please know while we do offer complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby during the mornings we actually do provide complementary coffee and tea makers upon request and would love to ensure one on your next visit. Please just speak with our team so we can set that up.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This was our hotel of choice for a recent business trip to New York and I was not sure what to expect as we usually go for a larger hotel when on business but it turned out to be a great choice. Location was perfect for getting to our meetings - smack in the heart of midtown. Everyone we encountered at the hotel from check in through check out were great. I loved to uber contemporary somewhat funky feel of my room with the part wood floor, the wingback chairs...down to the bathrobe which was a tiger print. I was upgraded upon check in to an exec king room. It was very spacious, especially for this city. It was well laid out, very clean, bathroom was functional, comfortable bed and a proper desk from which I was able to work. The room actually had quite a bit of furniture in it but somehow, it did not feel crowded. Everything worked, Internet was great! Particularly when compared to the Fairmont in Toronto where I had been earlier. It was key for me to be able to catch up on work during my stay and the internet here did not disappoint.
We had dinner our first night at the hotel restaurant (Nios) and it was great. I had a meditteranean flatbread with a lovely Reisling. I also ate breakfast here on the last day of my stay and it was good. I tried room service for breakfast and dinner and again, not bad at all. Did not have to wait long and the food was good.
The room does not have coffee/tea and I am not sure why. Coffee and tea is provided daily in the lobby but I would much prefer to have it available in my room. They also offer wine in the lobby in the afternoon, daily I think. My colleague and I partook of this one of the evenings and it was a nice way to unwind. Oh and the bathrooms off the lobby are interesting, different...cute.

All of the staff that we encountered during our stay were pleasant and helpful especially guys at the door...they were really helpful.
I enjoyed my stay here for the most part. It made a refreshing change from the Hilton/Hyatt where we normally stay when on business in New York. I would definetly want to repeat the experience.

Room Tip: Splurge for a king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Valerie G,

Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us during your visit to New York!

We are thrilled you enjoyed your room. We understand how important Wi-Fi connection is these days and so please to know that this was at great speed for you.

Thank you for mentioning Nios. We are so happy you enjoyed your dining experience.

Please know we actually do provide coffee and tea makers complimentary upon request and we would be happy to deliver this on your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Big Apple!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stay at a different hotel each time we are in New York and The Muse is definitely one of our favorites! We will be there again in July for a nice retreat and I can't wait!! The staff is wonderful, massages are Devine and the Bartender we had was hysterical! The rooms are comfortable and the beds feel like you are sleeping on clouds, also love the toiletries left for you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Jamaica5195,

Thank you so much for your incredible review!
We are thrilled to see the staff and services were to your liking.

We hope to continue to welcome you back to the Big Apple!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Muse Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Muse Hotel New York

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in New York City
#21 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#22 Family Hotel in New York City
#26 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Muse Hotel New York 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Muse Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Muse Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.