We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, fantastic location and awesome staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Muse Hotel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Muse Hotel New York to your Saves list
The Muse Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #46 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, fantastic location and awesome staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I've had several trip to NY over the past few years and stay at a different hotel each time. This was my first stay at The Muse and I will definitely stay here on my subsequent trips.
You can't beat the location. Great access to Times Square without being right in all the congestion. The staff were extremely friendly and incredibly helpful. The front desk staff were always happy to assist us, we never had to wait for our check-in / check-out or anytime we had an inquiry. There was always someone available. The food in the lounge was great (we just had some appetizers a few times, but all delicious and well priced). And of course, the wine reception every night is a great way to unwind and rest your very sore feet after a great day of walking around the city.

While I didn't bring my dog with me, I am a dog person and the hotel is very accommodating to guests and their dogs. They even had a little welcome sign in the doorway that includes the name of the arriving dogs that day (seriously, how cute is that! - dog guests get their own signs!). I just loved that aspect of this hotel. At one point we even saw the front desk acting as a bit of a doggy daycare (just for 10 minutes mind you) while the owners of the dogs ran an errand. It really helped round out how great and accommodating this hotel is to all guests.

Our room itself was spacious (rare for NY) though I'm sure we got a great deal as things are a bit slow in January. The housecoats gave us a big laugh (were leopard print and zebra print!).
And even at our 4:00 am departure, staff were bright and smiling and check out was a breeze.

Room Tip: We were on the 14th floor, so we could hear some noise from outside, but nothing that ever kept us u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Magsalama,

Thank you for the fabulous review.

We are so pleased that you have now found your new home way from home in the Big Apple and are very happy to have you part of our Kimpton Family. Thank you for mentioning our entire team has providing exemplary service from arrival to departure.

We look forward to welcoming you back on each of your visits… maybe you can bring your four-legged friend with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,487
    623
    134
    70
    30
See reviews for
476
911
83
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This was our first stay at the Muse. We loved the location, which is steps from Times Square, but surprisingly not crazy. I asked for a high floor, and our room was on the top floor, which ended up being noisy because of the mechanical equipment on the roof (we think), so the hotel moved us to a quiet and spacious room on the 8th floor. The front desk staff was great -- they showed us two rooms so we saw the options. The rooms were clean and nice, and the bathrooms had marble tile and bathtubs. This was a nicer hotel than some other Kimptons I've stayed in. For the price, this was a much nicer hotel than I expected. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Avoid top floors which are noisy due to mechanical equipment on the roof. Ask for a room in the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear khakio,

Thank you for the nice review. We are so pleased that our location was perfect for your Big Apple trip.

We do apologize about any noise you experienced during your first night however very pleased our team was of great assistance in showing you other options which was much more comfortable for your stay.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This hotel was the first time staying at The Muse and it was awesome. From the front desk staff who welcomed us as if we were family, to the technician who came to fix our cable box, to the server at the wine hour in the lobby, to the bellman at the front door - everyone was exceptionally friendly and helpful.
Anything we asked for was taken care of immediately. The room was spotless and beautifully decorated and the location of the hotel is perfect for the Westside or Eastside.
The Muse is definitely going to be our NYC hotel of choice after this weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear ACohen2525,

YAYY! Thank you for the great feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and that everyone was of great assistance throughout your stay as was the location perfect for your getaway.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I had stayed at San Francisco Kimpton 'The Argonaut' and this hotel was very different, but I am told that for NY hotels that was how things are, it was smaller and older than the reviews led me to believe, the room on the 10th floor was small but adequate looking out over the back of the building, the bathroom was clean and cleaned well but the bath and washbasin needed the sealant redoing as it was spotty and discoloured, the robes were well worn and the bed was not the usual sumptuous soft bed that you normally have at a quality hotel in the states, due to a thick soft topper, none of this here, it was adequate but that was all.
My main complaint, which I have made to the hotel since returning home and am told that I should have been made aware of was this
The Hotel takes a $500 'hold' on the credit card you proffer at reception. I was not told this and as my credit card was just one used for holiday spending and had a small credit limit, my card was declined on Christmas Day - my card issuer just told me I was out of credit leading me to assume my card had been scammed. It was only on leaving that I asked the receptionist what happens when you give your credit card to them, I assumed they kept the number in case you ran up a large account, but was told they put a $500 hold on your account, which in my case was HUGELY embarrassing.

Other than that the hotel was OK , well placed for Times Square, there is a super steak restaurant La Marais just lower down the street from the hotel. The Muse ran out of croissants, bread, fruit and yoghurts on our last day (Dec 27th) as 'they had been busy

Room Tip: Kimpton Hotels are pet friendly and we have a dog ou rselves, but next door was a dog that was frequ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Sampford,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and for all your comments.

We do apologize about the dissatisfaction with your room. We understand that a good night’s sleep is very important and we want you to be comfortable throughout your stay. We always welcome you to reach out to your team if ever you are not happy so we can look into rectifying this for you.

We also want to bring note to the authorization that was placed on your credit card. We do authorize the card for $100 each evening in case of any incidentals that you may incur throughout your stay. Upon departure we do release this hold. We do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your stay.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We've been in November and the hotel was just perfect. Great location, just a few steps from Times Square and all "must see" places. Room was excelent, very big, quiet, nice and warm and the staff very nice, always ready to help, Next visit to New York has our hotel schedulled - The Muse. Awsome!

Room Tip: nosso quarto (5º andar) era de quina, muito bem iluminado pelas amplas janelas, e bastante silencios...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear AnnieFF,

Thank you for the great review! We are so pleased our location was perfect for your Big Apple getaway.

We are so excited that we are now your go to hotel when visiting the city and look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Although we have been Kimpton In Touch members for years and stay often at their other NYC properties, we recently stayed for the first time at The Muse and liked it so much we have stayed on two separate occasions in the past couple of months. The location is just off Times Square and near Rockefeller Center and Radio City plus Bryant park. It was ideal to take in some theater at the Belasco and to visit the International Center for Photography. Very convenient to a couple of different subway lines and also to some fine dining in the neighborhood. Our rooms both stays were fantastic and we were pleased with the roomy and stylish suites and especially the one with a spa tub. The staff could not have been more accommodating and went out of their way to make our stay special by sending up wine and snacks to acknowledge our elite Inner Circle status. Free and good coffee is available in the lobby in the morning and In touch members have free newspaper delivered plus free WiFi. The complimentary wine hour is a great way to unwind and meet other guests and to chat with the super friendly staff. We met some new friends and enjoyed a lot of laughs over a delicious Australian red. Looking forward to our next visit! .

Room Tip: Higher floor is farther from street noise but the hotel is on a side street so it is pretty good for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear cookieadge,

We are blushing with pride knowing you enjoyed your stay so immensely! We are happy to know our location has been perfect for your visits to the Big Apple.

We appreciate your loyalty with both us here at The Muse and also Kimpton Hotels and look forward to having you stay with us many more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I have been staying at The Muse for over 6 years and I am never disappointed! The rooms are beautiful and the staff is so warm and friendly. The location is amazing and close to everything I need. I am always greeted with smiles and hello's whether from housekeeping or the front desk. The Muse is definitely my home in NYC!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear David B,

We are so happy to be your home away from home and appreciate your continued loyalty over the years!

We look forward to seeing you many more times and welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Muse Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Muse Hotel New York

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in New York City
#31 Family Hotel in New York City
#35 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#39 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#49 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Muse Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Amex, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Muse Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Muse Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.