We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Muse Hotel New York

Save Saved
You added The Muse Hotel New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Muse Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Travel Like a Local
Ranked #30 of 451 hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Spend a great weekend here had a room/suite with an amazing terrace, helpful staff, great location and a good atmosphere only one minor moan the hotel bar does not open until 3.00pm. This was not much of an issue as there is an Irish Bar next door!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear rohas,

Thank you for the five star review. We are thrilled to know that you loved your room with us and that our staff provided you with exemplary service.

Thank you for the feedback regarding our Nios. We do hope that minus the opening hours you were able to enjoy some great drinks and food.

We hope to have you return and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,018 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,283
    535
    114
    62
    24
See reviews for
394
764
79
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antigonish, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I recently stayed at the Muse Hotel in Mid-town, New York. The location of this hotel is ideal for people who want to be close to great restaurants and theater. The staff at the front desk are very efficient and personable. The concierge are respectful and helpful. The wine reception each night is a wonderful touch. The rooms are fashionable, clean and large. Room service is great.The lobby and public washrooms are very well appointed and clean. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. I have stayed in other New York hotels that do not even compare to The Muse.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Pixie101852,

Thank you for the nice review! We are thrilled to know you enjoyed you stay with us and we appreciate the glowing reviews!

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had a great room for the night we spent there. Our room wasn't that big but remember it is Mid-town NYC. Service was great and room clean and nicely appointed. Free guest social wine hour at 5:00 PM.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear RalphMerc,

Thank you for your review.

We are so pleased that our staff was of great assistance during your stay. We are pleased to know that during your one night getaway you were able to enjoy our extra amenities such as the wine hour.

We hope to see you again soon hopefully for a little bit of a longer getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I have to admit that I don't give a lot of hotels 5-star ratings in NY. I've become used to disappointment in NY but I can't tell you how much I really liked The Muse! I go to Ny around 4-5 times a year for work so having good accommodations is important.

As others have mentioned, this hotel is well-appointed, comfortable and funky as well as classy. There is the evening happy hour social in the lobby which is great for guests to sit around. It shows you the kind of vibe the hotel wants to encourage. I had an executive king room on the 17th floor and loved how it was decorated. What I appreciated was that it wasn't a tiny space but roomy enough with a closet that fit everything for a four night stay.

The staff were friendly especially the concierge to get me the cabs I needed. And I even dined at Nios one night and everything I are was delicious. Rare to find such good restaurants in a hotel too! Wish I had ordered dessert!

Anyway, this is my first option for hotel stays in NY from now on. I go pretty often and being centrally located is great. You won't go wrong here - stay and see for yourself that it's really a well-kept secret.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear irieisle,

Thank you for your fabulous FIVE star rewiew! We love secrets and are so excited you found us!

We are so happy to know that you have finally find a home away from home when you visit New York. Its great to know you were able to enjoy our wine reception and you enjoyed socializing with all the other guests… it’s a great way to meet people from all across the world.

We look forward to many return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Spent two nights pre cruise at the Muse Hotel. The hotel was chosen as a result of a lot of research for its excellent location and excellent reviews. My wife and I had travelled to New York on several previous occasions and this was definitely the best so far. We arrived on the evening of Halloween and the hotel foyer was decorated with pumpkins prepared by each department all excellent. The other side had a selection of sweet treats on offer.
At check in we were upgraded to a junior suite as they knew it was a celebration holiday for my wife's special birthday. When we got to the room we we retreated to a chilled bottle of prosecco .
The suite was spacious and well appointed and the bed very comfortable.
The bathroom was large and had a bath with shower above.
The staff were unfailingly helpful and we wished we had chosen to stay an extra night.
Thank you all for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Christopher B,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your entire stay with us.
What a fun way to start your stay in New York…. Walking into our Halloween party and seeing all of our staff dressed up to celebrate!

We wish you couold of strayed longer with us; however we will look forward to having you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

If you'd like to stay in the theater district, close to Times Square or the diamond district, this hotel is a great option. The rooms were very nice, modern decor and plenty of room. The beds were really comfortable and although we were provided 4 large down pillows, it was no problem at all when we requested 2 more of the same. The staff was very nice, welcoming and helpful. The vibe of the whole place was great! The bar was busy and although we didn't dine in the restaurant, we saw plenty of people enjoying both breakfast and dinner. Try it, I can't imagine why anybody would have anything to complain about regarding this property and it's staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear nancijoporten,

Thank you for the FIVE star review!

We are blushing at your glowing comments! Its thrills us to know you enjoyed everything about your stay from the location to the rooms and all of our staff!

We hope to have you visit us again soon….. maybe you can try our restaurant Nios as well?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

stayed at this hotel after a cruise .. it was absolutely fab .. from the moment we arrived to the time we left, can only be described as first class! the rooms were well decorated and very clean... the bonus was,when we arrived there was free bottled beer and wine in the lobby for a couple of hours each night.. good way to start the evening!
this hotel is extremely well located for all the sight seeing new York has to offer, times square was literally a few steps away, the staff are very attentive and just could do enough for, from organising airport transfers , to general information on the area!
if I go back to this beautiful bur crazy city.. I know where I will be staying!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear larnick25,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a nice review!

We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for calling us fab! We think you are pretty fab yourself! We are so pleased to know you were able to enjoy our wine reception in the evening.

We look forward to having you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Muse Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Muse Hotel New York

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in New York City
#21 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#22 Family Hotel in New York City
#27 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#62 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Muse Hotel New York 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jetsetter, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Otel, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Muse Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Muse Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.