We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Awesome Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Muse Hotel New York

Save Saved
You added The Muse Hotel New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Muse Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Eat, Drink, Dine at Nios
Ranked #34 of 452 hotels in New York City
Frederick, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Location, Awesome Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned from a visit to New York City and the Muse hotel. We celebrated our first anniversary here and it was nothing short of wonderful. Our hotel room was ready for us when we arrived and later we were greeted outside our room door with a wonderful bottle of champagne with a Congratulations card. It is in a great location where everything is easily accessible. I would very much recommend this hotel to anyone visiting NYC.

Room Tip: Higher rooms offer less street noise, but overall a very quiet hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Lauren081388,

Thank you for your five star review! We are so happy we could be part of your wonderful celebration!

Thank you for your high recommendation. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,018 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,277
    538
    118
    62
    23
See reviews for
408
778
80
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The location is the best aspect of this hotel. It is situated about 20 seconds from Times Square and within walking distance of all the main tourist attractions (except ground zero and Statue of Liberty in which can be reached cheaply by a cab). The hotel itself is very clean and always felt safe as there were always security guards around. Staff were friendly and made us feel very welcome. The rooms we stayed in were brilliant and the beds were by far the best I've ever experienced in a hotel! Really could not fault this hotel, it was perfect for our first time in the Big Apple!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Jack G,

It is such a pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you to the Big Apple for the first time! We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your entire stay! We hope this is the first of many trips to NYC and the Muse Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here for two nights recently. The hotel is a nice boutique hotel, an oasis just off the bustle of Times Sq. We very much enjoyed the 5-6 pm wine hour in the lobby where wine is served to the guests - you can take it back to your room or stay in the cozy lobby and socialize with your fellow guests. Coffee is also served in the lobby in the mornings.
A huge problem however is that the outside windows are definitely not updated for sound remediation. We have stayed in many many hotels in Manhattan, as near to Times Sq as this one, and we have never heard street sounds like this. I thought in fact that our window (which was a very small window, BTW) was open, which of course, it wasn't. We were on the 14th floor. The inside walls are great, we never heard a sound from within the hotel, but the outside noises were extremely disturbing, so much so that our sleep was frequently interrupted. The 2nd night, what helped, was to keep the fan in the room on, creating enough white noise as to block out the outside.
This is a lovely enough hotel, but is it amazing? For this price point, no. There is no turn down service, which, at this price point, I expected. Sure, the robes are cute, and there was one pair of socks for the two of us to use (I made sure the mgr knew we hadn't taken the 2nd pair, that there was only 1 pair there to begin with, for the 4 of our combined feet!), and the yoga mat, uh, really??, kind of gimmicky if you ask me, and trust me, I work out all the time - so with all the hype here on this site, I just expected more. The rooms are very small, the smallest in fact that we have stayed in in NYC, but even so, that's ok. There was a light out in the bathroom, nowhere near enough hooks/racks in the bathroom for towels and said cute robes, and the in room heating/cooling system was a bit off - the room seemed to be heated from the building as a whole, we would turn the heat way down, even off, to no avail, so we ended up turning on the aircon even though it was in the 40s (F) outside! .......it's these little things that add up - I don't rate a place 5 stars easily. But it definitely deserves 4 stars, even with it's foibles, I just expected more, as I said, due to the reviews.

Room Tip: Windows are not sound proof!! Very loud street noises!!
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear lexmiller,

Thank you for taking your time to give us a thorough review.

We are so pleased to know you enjoyed our proximity to Times Square but far enough away from the hustle and bustle. We also are happy you were able to enjoy our wine reception as a nice way to begin your evening.

We do want to apologize for the noise you experienced. Please know we do have many rooms which face the interior and we would be happy to ensure this on your next stay. Thank you for the comments regarding the room. We have shared these comments with our engineer and housekeeping team to ensure these items are addressed. We also wanted to let you know we do offer turn down service upon request and again would love to ensure you receive this on your next stay.

We thank you for all your comments and hope to have you stay with us again. Please reach out to one of the managers so we can ensure a 5 star stay on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Clean clean clean and attractive. Honored our request for a high floor - we were on top floor (19th) which was amazingly quiet for 46th St. near 6th. We were two blocks from our lunch and dinner restaurants and our theater. Very attractive bar and the wine hour on Saturday had a DJ. Kimptons are consistent and the Muse met every high expectation.

Room Tip: High floor inside if possible
See more room tips
Green Features: Kimpton is very committed to the environment and they are pet friendly.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear alwoh,

Thank you for your five star rating! We are glad to see we met your high expectations! We hope to continue to deliver this level of service for you.

We always look to honor room and other requests our guests may have! Thanks for the notes and glad we could meet your needs. We look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

A lovely little boutique hotel in a fabulous location. Located just off Times Square and close to the shopping of Fifth Avenue, I thought it had a great location for exploring NYC. The rooms were very nice with great touches like a yoga mat in every room and unusual dressing gowns. They also host drinks in the lobby every evening for happy hour. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Catherine F,

Thank you for the nice review. We are so thrilled to know our location was perfect for your stay in New York!

We are so happy you enjoyed our dressing gowns! Sometimes guests like to where the dressing downs during our wine reception which is always fun!

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waldwick
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Close to everything, great ambiance in lobby, nice sized rooms, and have to love the happy hour!! Dinner at the attached restaurant was tasty, good sized portions and reasonable price. They got us out in time for the show! Only suggestion is to pack your earplugs cause the NYC night noise can be sleep inhibiting!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Annette h,

Thank you for the SUPER review!

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the wonderful feedback on NIos restaurant.

We do apologize about the noise you experienced due to the hustle and bustle of New York City. However on your next stay we would love to ensure a quieter room in the back. Please reach out to one of our staff before your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

A warm 'thank you' to the staff at The Muse where my mother and I stayed for ten days recently. They were warm, informative, professional and accurate with their information. I want to particularly note Ivana, Barbara and Rolando, who gave us excellent advice for restaurants, events and directions, and helped us with ticket purchases. Our room was large, (particularly the bathroom), well-serviced and quiet. Nios, Muse's restaurant and bar, is also very good, even if you aren't a guest at the hotel. I highly recommend staying here and at any of the Kimptons (we also stayed at The Onyx in Boston and The Helix in Washington).

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street, as the hotel is on a very busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Catriona M,

Thank you for the FIVE star review.

Thank you for mentioning our staff. We are so pleased that our team gave you exemplary service and were able to assist in giving you great advice and direction in New York City.

We appreciate your loyalty with Kimpton and are so pleased you were able to visit some of our other properties.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Muse Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Muse Hotel New York

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in New York City
#22 Family Hotel in New York City
#26 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#60 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Muse Hotel New York 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Muse Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Muse Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.