We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Muse Hotel New York

Save Saved
You added The Muse Hotel New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Muse Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Travel Like a Local
Ranked #30 of 451 hotels in New York City
Gainesville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Hotel is nice and clean. Somethings, such as doors, could use some updated paint. Staff was friendly and helpful for us first time New York visitors. Very good location - 8min walk to Empire State Building, 1min to Times Square, 2min to Broadway. Nice balcony for breakfast or relaxing as well. Also they have a wine reception in the lobby each evening.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Michelle F,

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to see you had a great stay! We will make sure to focus on the details you have stated in your comments. We are so happy to see you took advantage of the balcony! We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,018 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,283
    535
    114
    62
    24
See reviews for
394
764
79
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay in NYC, The Muse is it. This is a medium sized boutique hotel run by Kimpton. I have been staying at The Muse now almost every week for the past 7 years for business and it just keeps getting better and better. I have stayed at the Four Seasons and The Ritz Carlton and neither has the charm nor the hospitality that The Muse offers. Barbara, the Concierge treats me and my family like her own! Lauren, Sarah and Ivana at the front desk are all phenomenal!! The other hotels around the country could stand to learn a thing or two about how to treat their guests from these folks!!! Avelin, the bartender extraordinaire, is the best in the City and will always make you feel at home.

The Muse is the best of the best. Don't pass it up when in NYC.

Room Tip: All rooms are large, clean and very quiet. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Peter G,

Thank you so much for your incredible review! We strive to create a warm, welcoming, and fun environment for all of our guests. We are so pleased to see you experience that with our staff! We always look forward to welcoming you back! Thank you again for your continued support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

beautiful hotel, the beds are super comfortable!! but the best part is the bar in the lobby...a nice crowd is drawn by the unbelievable mixologist bartender! such a good way to end a day of new yorking....

Room Tip: ask for a street facing room as all the others basically face the side of a building..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Peter G,

Thank you so much for your amazing review! We thank you for your continued support and for visiting us for so many years... that puts HUGE smiles on our faces! We look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here for a 50th birthday celebration, and the Concierge Barbara went out of her way to make sure our celebration was special. Place is immaculate, sophisticated, perfectly modernized, staffed with cheerful people, and well located - we didn't hear any street noise from our room. The only downer was that our room was next to the engine room, which produced some noise with the use of the elevator, but in NY, all hotels are old and come with some sort of trade-off. The positives of this place far outweighed this one small annoyance. One tip: there's a subway entrance on 6th Ave and 47th - easier to get to than the Times Square location - and much more peaceful.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Rhonda S,

Thank you for you great review! We are so glad you had a great time with us.
Sorry about the room noise- we will make sure to block you in a quieter room next time! We look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My favorite hotel! I travel about 40% of the time for my job and stay in many hotels. The staff of the Muse always makes my trips to NYC pleasurable and memorable experiences. They are always accessible, knowledgeable, accommodating and friendly. The rooms are first rate and and a great place to unwind from the fast pace of the city. The 5:00 wine hours are a great way to end the day or start the evening. Truly the biggest difference between the Muse and other hotels can be summed up in the people. From David at the front door to Barbara and Ivana, the concierges at the front desk, you are never are never without a warm smile and a welcome back. I will often introduce my co-workers to Barbara only to find out she has already talked with them or assisted them in some way. First rate location, amenities and tremendous service with a smile!

Room Tip: Talk with the front desk staff when you check in. They will bend over backwards to accommodate you,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear gwhitam,

Thank you so much for your great review! We are so happy to see we continue to provide fantastic service for you... we hope to be your home away from home! Thank you for again and again visiting us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Wow! What a great location to explore New York City. The hotel is smack in the middle of Times Square but because it is off of Broadway on 46th Street, you are able to get away from all the craziness of that part of the city at the end of a long day of sight seeing. Also, the service at the hotel was excellent. It was my first time staying at The Muse and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear marieshannon,

We appreciate your wonderful feedback! So glad you enjoyed your time with us; We look forward to seeing you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The staff were lovely and very friendly. The rooms were big spacious and luxurious! Its located in the heart of Manhattan, the Rockafella building was mintues away, times square was down the block. Breakfast buffet was scrumptious. 5* standards.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Jdshabs86,

Thank you for your five - star rating! We are happy you found our staff lovely and very friendly... we will always be here to provide a service with a smile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Muse Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Muse Hotel New York

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in New York City
#21 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#22 Family Hotel in New York City
#27 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#62 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Muse Hotel New York 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jetsetter, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Otel, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Muse Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Muse Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.