We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Excellent Customer Service, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Muse Hotel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Muse Hotel New York to your Saves list
The Muse Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Parking
Ranked #39 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Chicago
1 review
“Lovely Hotel, Excellent Customer Service, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Lovely, unique hotel situated a half block off Times Square. Nice retreat from the city life at a great central location. Wonderful linens and ample living and sleeping areas in the executive suite (Room 1902). Top notch customer service from the doormen to the front desk to the housekeeping staff; and for good measure, the Muse throws in a complimentary cocktail hour in the lobby every night. What more does one need when away from home? Perfect place for adults, kids and furry friends. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 1902 was perfect: clean and tidy, fun and quirky, quiet and comfy, with generous sunlight and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Theresa W,

WOW what an amazing five star review!!

We are so happy you were able to enjoy our fun wine reception!

Hopefully we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,337
    564
    127
    65
    27
See reviews for
427
821
80
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed at the Muse several times in the past 12 months, always for business in the area. I love Kimpton hotels and try to stay in them whenever possible. This hotel is clean, and a nice stay with the extra 'usual' Kimpton touches (happy hour, whimsical decor, free internet for intouch members, etc).

When the staff is attentive, they are fantastic. They have helped me find restaurants, transportation, and nearby amenities. On the flip side, I've often been overlooked while in the lobby (no one around to get my luggage tags, help with the front doors, or not available to answer questions, etc). The lobby always seems busy and so perhaps I have just looked like a visitor instead of a guest?

One morning I chose to eat breakfast in the adjacent restaurant. I had wanted a quick bite to eat before starting the day, but the service didn't seem to be set up for "quick". I would only return again for breakfast if I had leisurely time to enjoy it. Also, speaking of the restaurant, it was closed several evenings in December for holiday parties. So if you're planning on a late night dinner when arriving, call to check if its open to guests before doing so.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear trvlgrl99,

Thank You for continued loyalty over the past year. We truly appreciate it.

We apologize for the inconvenience with the restaurant being closed at the end of last year due to private events.

However, we are so pleased all of our staff has been very helpful in suggesting restaurants and assisting you around the city.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at several Kimpton Hotels and The Muse did not fail to satisfy. The room was absolutely beautiful and clean, the bed was comfortable and the staff was exceptionally nice. My only drawback would be the price. While I can afford it on a business trip, it may be a bit much on a personal budget.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Spcollins,

We are so happy you enjoyed our beds and Thank You for commending our staff!

Always check out our website for great deals on room rates.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was our third stay with The Muse, and almost every staff member (including bellmen) said to my husband and I on multiple occassions during our stay, "Welcome back...Very nice to see you again...We appreciate your loyalty." It made both of us feel more than special. We had also utilized the concierge service for obtaining theater tickets, dinner reservations and massages, and on our first night we had a welcome note from the concierge staff Linda and Rolando, along with their polite reminders of noted events. We were also provided with two complimentary bottles of wine. The room was very clean and sizeable enough, especially by NYC standards. But I really come to The Muse for the bed. If you have never tried the bed, my friend you have never slept. Best sleep ever! I also very much enjoy the wine reception. It's such a great hotel and close to so much on Times Square. My husband and I have a strict rule of never doing the same thing twice in NYC. However, The Muse is our only exception. We wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else! We've also had two other family members make reservations there (one during Thanksgiving, the second is forthcoming in the spring). We always tell them, "You have to stay at The Muse!" Excellent experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear JMKELLA

Thank You so much for your great posting and for being a loyal Kimpton InTouch Member.

We are so thrilled to see our concierge assisted you so well as did the rest of our staff!

We hope you come back and visit us again soon and we look forward to having your family visit us as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

After reading trip advisor reviews, in the past, I really wanted to stay at The Muse. In the past, the rates have somewhat been out of reach. I am "fairly cheap" when looking at hotels as when I am on vacation, I want to "see and do" and hotels and their amenities are not first and foremost on my mind. Clean and comfortable, yes, they are important. Boy, am I happy that I was able to stay at The Muse and would most definitely stay there again. Perfect location to see and do in NYC. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. When we had a problem with the tub drain, the maintenance staff took care of the issue, post haste. The rooms are a very nice size and the beds & pillows - WOW. I would love to have taken those feather pillows home with me. Do not pass this hotel up.

Room Tip: While it will never be quiet in NYC, you might ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear bs081288,

Thank You for such a wonderful 5 star rating!

We are sorry you had an issue with the drain but so happy that it was fixed right away.

We all love our pillows and are glad you did to! We look forward to having you come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel is in a prime location and is perfect for couples. We were able to walk everywhere we needed to go and the staff were so helpful in providing directions. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are decorated beautifully. Wouldn't mind staying here again at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Nikki W,

Thank You for your fabulous review! We are so happy you had a great weekend with us and enjoyed our location. .

We can't wait to see you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Great stay. Very convenient to everything. Rooms could use a chest of drawers as space for clothing is limited. Great shower head. Barbara and Robert at front desk are the best. Highly recommend. Will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear ikeydoc,

We are so glad to see you enjoyed the location and took advantage of seeing a broadway show!

We thank you for commending our front desk staff!

We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Muse Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Muse Hotel New York

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#30 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#32 Family Hotel in New York City
#64 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Muse Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Muse Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Muse Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.