We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beware of the construction noise” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Muse Hotel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Muse Hotel New York to your Saves list
The Muse Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Parking
Ranked #39 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“beware of the construction noise”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2008

I stayed at this hotel recently after reading the positive reviews. Unfortunately, when I booked it, I was not given notice of the construction on the street that was ongoing on one side of the hotel. The noise was terrible, starting early in the a.m and ending at approx 5. When I asked the front desk about why I was not advised of it, the person there truly did not seem to care and said all guests on that side of the hotel need to deal with it - not just me. She said the hotel was fully booked that night and she could not move my room. Notwithstanding I advised that I was never advised of the noise in advance, she said she could do nothing for me - that's it. When I continued to ask about why I did not receive notice in advance so that I can decide on my own whether to stay at another hotel given the noise, she advised she would speak to the manager. Again, unfortunately, nobody got back to me. I did not follow up because, at that point, I decided that the lack of any concern on the part of that individual would lead me to not stay there again. While the rooms are nice and clean, and the other staff, including the bellboys were quite helpful, her complete lack of concern was really off putting. I will try another hotel next time.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,365
    577
    127
    65
    27
See reviews for
441
833
80
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

The Muse is an excellent choice of hotels in the Times square area. A block from the square and very comfortable and elegant. The staff was exceptionally welcoming and professional. I would stay at this hotel again. Nothing negative about the experinece at all.

  • Liked — Professional staff
  • Disliked — Everything fine
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2008

Great little boutique hotel. Room was large, clean and very comfortable. Hotel is a 2 minute walk from Time Square. Staff were friendly - nothing too much trouble. Can thouroughly recommend this hotel. Will stay here again.

  • Liked — clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2008

Had a good stay at the muse on 1/11-1/14/08. Wasn't blown away by the hotel/room itself, but very friendly and helpful staff and awesome location if you want to be in the time square area. The biggest positive was that they allowed us to check in at 10:30AM. We were very impressed by that. The biggest negative was a noisy ac/heating system and some very loud construction (I believe it was jackhammering) being done close by. We stayed on the 6th floor, so the construction noise may not be as bad on the higher floors. That would be my one suggestion - ask for a higher floor and hope that dulls the construction noise. Other than that, an overall good experience.

  • Liked — Location and Staff
  • Disliked — Noise - Construction and loud heating/cooling system
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockeysville, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2008

We stayed at the Muse on January 4th and 5th. This was our second stay. We booked the Muse at the last minute due to a reservation dispute with another NYC Hotel. We had a very positive experience at the Muse. The hotel is centrally located. The staff is very accommodating. Rooms are clean and well furnished. The daily wine reception is a nice touch. Several interesting restaurants and pubs are within easy walking distance as are the theaters in Times Square.

Our only complaint was that the heating system did not appear to be functioning properly and our rooms became quite warm. This, however, was a minor inconvenience. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — heating system a little erratic
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles, Belgium
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2008

The hotel is excellent. Location is fantastic (just off Times Square).
Rooms are large and elegant and beds are very comfortable. The atmosphere is very cozy, the hotel has definitely great charme also because it is not a very large one. Service is impeccable. Pity that rates are so high!

Stayed January 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

I stayed with my parents at the Muse Hotel in NYC from Dec. 31-Jan. 3rd. We arrived around 10:00 A.M. and the room was not ready. They tried to give us a room at that time but didn't have anything available, so we left our luggage and left to the Metropolitan Museum. We got back around 2:00 P.M. and the room was ready (check in is at 3:00 P.M.). The Closing of the streets was affecting the access to the hotel after 4:00 P.M. on Dec. 31st but it was very well organized by the hotel. We had no problem moving through Times Square with the room key and a letter from the hotel. We stayed in a remodeled room with 2 beds (they are full size) and the room was fairly ample. Flat screen tv, mini bar, daily newspaper, robes, cordless phone, i-pod port...everything we needed for a great stay in the city. Check in was smooth and the hotel people were very friendly at all times. As other reviews mentioned, there's a wine reception in the afternoon at the hotel lobby, which was very nice. Didn't get to eat at The District restaurant so cannot comment on it. We were charged for some items from the mini bar that we did not consume but I addressed the situation to the front desk and they didn't ask any questions and removed the charges. The location is one of the best things about The Muse! It is closed to everything but on a street that is not noisy at all. Also, you get the personalized attention from a boutique hotel that is not found on a bigger chain hotel. I will definitely stay at The Muse again and again!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — couldn't stay longer!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Muse Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Muse Hotel New York

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in New York City
#28 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#56 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Muse Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Muse Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Muse Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.