We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for a better location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Muse Hotel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Muse Hotel New York to your Saves list
The Muse Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Parking
Ranked #39 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Vacaville
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for a better location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

loved this hotel! It's within 1/2 a block of times square and just a couple blocks from all the broadway shows. We stayed in a large balcony room the first night and then switched to an executive suite the following two nights. There was no in room coffee and thier coffee service in the lobby did not start until 6:30am which was off putting for those of us who have to get up early to catch a plane. Be sure to look over your bill when you check out. I found they charged me for both restaurant and room service that I did not order. When I disputed the charges they made no qualms with removing the charges which lead to me to believe this may be a regular practice of thiers. Other than those two things the rooms were great the beds were comfortable the staff very friendly.

Room Tip: try to get a balcony room the view is incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,337
    564
    127
    65
    27
See reviews for
427
821
80
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Campden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

5/4/12 to 14/4/12. what did I think Hotel reception gives a good impression. The accomodation Delux very clean but very dark and extremly warm with out having the air con turned on all the time and the noise, you would have though you were sleeping in a sauna the room tempreture was 76 all the time.

The mini bar was full up but did not use because it was very expensive we only had a bottle of water and that cost over $7, everything you used came at a cost.

We had continental breakfast which was good untill other guest started to reserve tables and we stopped going because we did not want to sit a bar to eat. ( we were not coming to breakfast late between 7.30 & 8.30am the latetst.

The hotel was very central to all locations.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, MO
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Were we not getting such a great military discount, I would have asked for a different room. It was one of the smallest I've ever stayed in! That being said, the room was very nice, the bed awesome, and the staff accommodated our request to be adjacent to the couple with which we were traveling. AND, as they knew this was a celebratory trip, a bottle of sparkling wine and fruit plate was in both our rooms upon arrival. The guys at the door -David in particular-are awesome. Helpful and congenial, they went out of their way to help at every opportunity. The lobby is a bit small and lacks seating that invites lingering. The bar is the same. The wine reception is a nice idea, but the wine is terrible. A real mix of guests, which is always interesting, one easy block off Times Square and most theaters. I would stay here again....in a larger room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

It's hard to find good value hotels in NYC. This hotel is really a gem - great prices (approx $250 a night for the single queen when we stayed), very clean, views of the city from the higher floors, dog friendly, and excellent location just a block away from Times Square!

The decor is modern and trendy, they have a wine hour every day for free, and the staff is really helpful (spent 20 minutes trying to flag us a cab at 4 in the morning). Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

Checked in after 20 odd hours flying. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and had us checked in no time. Mike the friendly porter had us and our luggage to our room in no time.
Prior to arriving I had signed up for their free loyalty program and listed on my profile that we wanted a quiet room. We were placed on the ninth floor away from any traffic noise.
Their loyalty program includes free wi fi and a "raid the mini bar" well not a full raid...just $15 value so we get to have one and a half drinks!
The rooms are a decent size and unlike some hotels, the bathroom had plenty of room.
Nice to see a King size bed rather than just a Queen...And NO bed bugs. The air conditioning is a bit noisy but with the temperature 25 degrees above average we didn't mind.
For anyone wanting an hotel that is less than 100 meters from Times Square, this is the place.
Well done Kimpton Hotels.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

i chose this hotel because its location only half a block away from times square! -we got to see Nick Jonas a few meters away from the hotel and he was part of our objective in the trip- and of course its atmosphere. The decoration and ambience is very cool and cosy. I chose a package that included a welcome bottle of sparkling white wine, a plate of fresh fruit and muffins and my kids, husband and i just loved it. It was together with a handwritten note from the general manager welcoming us to the muse and Manhattan. The room was very large and so was the bathroom. Also loved their amenities. Its a pity i never knew there was a wine hour in the lobby i would have enjoyed it as well.

Room Tip: i was told the back rooms are larger and more quiet. despite of having a construction in the back, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulu E, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback! Good job on achieving the objective of finding THE star you were searching for in New York! I’m excited to see you enjoyed the package, we love setting up an amenity to welcome you after you’ve been travelling all day! I’m so sorry you didn’t know about wine hour while you stayed with us, we would have loved to pour you a glass while you sit back and relax. We will have to plan it for next time, I hope we get to welcome you and your family back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

The Muse Hotel is the second Kimpton Hotel we have stayed at in NYC. We had a King Deluxe room on the 11th floor. You can't beat the location. Less than a block away from times square. Our view was less than flattering in room 1102 but who cares.We were in NYC to eat, shop and be out in NYC, not to sit in our room.Our bathroom was roomy and the shower had great water pressure. Bed was very comfortable.There is a fanastic Scottish Pub and restaurant next door that has great food. We will definetly stay here again.

Room Tip: Go higher if you want a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Muse Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Muse Hotel New York

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#30 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#32 Family Hotel in New York City
#64 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Muse Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Muse Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Muse Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.