We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deliciously sweet morning watching the snow fall” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buvette

Buvette
42 Grove St, Frnt 1, New York City, NY 10014-5310 (Central Park)
212-255-3590
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #594 of 11,597 restaurants in New York City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central Park
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Deliciously sweet morning watching the snow fall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We trekked her on a snowy, beautiful morning in the city. We were happy to find that they were not too busy and we were able to be seated right away. We had less than an hour to order and eat as we were meeting with our food tour a block away and had gotten a late start that morning. The waitress was gracious in getting us our drink orders quickly (three coffees and a cappaucino) and then taking our breakfast order. We ordered two croissants and two hazelnut crepes. My only disappointment was that when I had looked at the menu online they had showed waffles with berries as a menu option but that was not a choice on their in-store menu. Oh well. My tummy needed to keep semi-empty for the food tour. We chatted and sat in awe of the quiet delight of the snow falling just outside the door. When our coffee came it was strong and piping hot and served with a side of warm milk. It reminded me of the strong coffee served each morning when I was in Paris, and I loved it. When our orders came we were in heaven. The butter and raspberry jam on the side of the croissant was so delicious. And the girls ooed and aaahed over their hazelnut crepes. Our only disappointment was that we didn't have longer to stay and enjoy more coffee. This is the perfect place to come when you have an hour or two in the morning and want to enjoy a quiet, leisurely breakfast. We saw many singles enjoying their coffee while reading or just quietly enjoying the snow fall. We will be sure to visit Buvette again the next time any of us are in the city.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    67
    37
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atascadero
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“French”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great place for breakfast or lunch. 3rd time...still wonderful! Like being transported to Paris! Can't wait to try outside during warm weather.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Perfect place for appetisers and wine before dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We went there before going to little owl and if was such a good idea. We stayed at the bar and had a very nice glass if wine with a lot of French style tapas such as salami,
French pickles, there is a very nice selection as well. We did not have dinner there but may try that next time.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“French/Italian brasserie with great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My partner and I ate here Saturday night without a reservation. Both enjoyed our appetizers of Duck Rillettes and Pesto bread respectively. The Cassoulet was the real deal. Terrific. Tapas style small portions but enough to eat if having three courses. The tarte tatin was sensational. Check was a pleasant surprise even with a $30 Corbières it was $100.
Service swift and professional. We'll return for sure

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meopham, Kent
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A cute artsy restaurant in a fabulous area off Bleeker Street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We were recommended this restaurant by our daughters foodie friend. We were able to take advantage of her choices and this was high in the list of good food and quaintly busy.

It's a small place and you have to be prepared to share tables and we were fine with this but if you're not, then don't expect the restaurant to care. I think they care more about the standard of food and it was good.

The food was mostly French and served tapas style - small plates that you can share. It was all extremely yummy.

A word of warning - the chocolate mousse dessert is so dense and chocolatey that you would definitely need to share with someone else.

I will definitely be returning.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buvette also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Buvette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buvette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.