We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cozy, very French” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buvette

Buvette
42 Grove St, Frnt 1, New York City, NY 10014-5310 (West Village)
212-255-3590
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #182 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: West Village
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very cozy, very French”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Went there for dinner - no reservations at this tiny little place, so it is take a chance - we got lucky and got a table in 10 minutes at 715 - those arriving later were not so lucky.
A very good small wine list, our highlight was a wine from Les Baux de Provence (where we had lived). All of the dishes we had were excellent - maybe a little pricey ($21 for a cheese/charcuterie platter with three choices, $15 for each "main" which were small portions, but all very good). Our mains were the very very good cassoulet and the special hich was a hachis parmentier, also quite good.

The service was very good as well, friendly. I would definitely return.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    65
    21
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simply the most charming & delicious little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Upon entering this cosy brick walled restaurant you feel like you've gone through the "looking glass". The chairs, tables, silverware and crockery are petite, however they're just right for the venue. We started with the best latte I've had in years. Then followed by an omelet with goat cheese, fine herbs & tomatoes which was beautifully presented on a saucer size place, and though small it was amazingly filling. Their savory crepe with ham and brie was delicious too. The atmosphere is busy but calm and the service is excellent. We ate there three times in 4 days!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great little Euro Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Better than most of the thousands of little restaurants like this. Located at 42 Grove Street in the village. Only has about 12 seats. Great coffee and wine. Try the Ham and Brie crepe. Obviously made by someone that really knows how to put food together. Other dishes look great but, I can't make it past the crepe so you will have to explore for yourself.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I really do Love Buvette!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I fell into this little place on a day trip to NYC and made a special trip to come back for their brunch. The bartender was so helpful in giving us little tastes of beer and olives to help us make up our minds for brunch.
This is a must go to restaurant! You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Overpriced tapas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We ended up here as a recommended alternative to the restaurant around the corner (late in the evening) and we were up for a surprise. I understand that this is a place for having a bite and not really have dinner but still, we had ONE bite each and a beer each and a chocolate mousse and we ended up in a 60 USD bill. While the amount is not too high it was indeed disproportionate for the quantity of food and the level of service. The decor and the place were awesome though.
The food was:
Toast with ham and purée (quite good)
Toast with garlic spread (quite good)
Chocolate mousse (it was not a mousse, more like a nutella cake, not what we expected)
Two beers (none of us liked the taste)
I would not recommend it with the amount of better options around

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buvette also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Buvette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buvette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.