We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Go!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dream Downtown to your Saves list
Dream Downtown
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   355 West 16th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Formerly Dream Meatpacking District) (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bridgeport, Connecticut
1 review
“Must Go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was the very first upscale hotel I've been to. I must say; great first impression! It was my best friends birthday and the hotel provided us a free bottle of delicious champagne chilled and ready to be pour. Not even 20 minutes after check in I met Janell Monae! Was also there the entire weekend! I met Eric Decker (He bought me a drink)! The hotel provides free bikes so that you take them out, my best friend and I rode to South Street Seaport, it was only 20 minutes away! Everything is about 20 minutes from the hotel, even Grand Central! The service was awesome! Everyone is so friendly and want to help, all of the doormen are kind and social and really down to earth, you can definitely build relationships here! It was an awesome experience and I would totally stay again!

Room Tip: All the rooms look the same except the PentHouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
It’s great to hear that you felt such a warm welcome at Dream Downtown. Many of our repeat guests feel as though Dream is a home away from home, as the staff truly enjoys pleasing our guests. I am glad to know that we made your first upscale hotel experience a special one and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,318
    405
    151
    74
    80
See reviews for
145
603
106
589
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Loved the atmosphere despite the smaller suite we started out with. The room set up was very nice. Problems with the lighting in the rooms. All the lights turn on automatically including the separate bedroom when anyone enters the suite. This is a problem if someone is trying to sleep & others come in or go out at different times. We also had a problem with noise from the nightclub next door pounding until 4 am. Hopefully they resolved that issue by now. We did spend a night in the Presidential suite. This was a really bad set up. They have 4 regular rooms combined into 1 big suite the problem is there are 4 doors to enter & no real master bedroom. It was a mix match setup the 2nd floor was great 2 spiral staircases to your own private spacious rooftop area along with a small inside bar entertainment area & bathroom & full surround sound music system both inside & out. It has a huge barrel style hot tub lounges & shower. Fun Experience.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for the honest feedback on Dream Downtown, it is greatly appreciated. In regards to the presidential suite I am pleased to let you know that the room is currently under complete renovation and will be ready in September. Rest assured the room is going to be spectacular and will compete with any presidential suite in the city. Please let us know when you will be coming back to NYC, you must check out what we have in store.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

This lovely hotels is located just around the corner from the popular meatpacking district and the high line.
The hotel beds are so amazingly comfy you could stay in bed all day...
Ok room size for NY city, nice interior and clean rooms, hotel also has a roof top bar. The hotel has a popular bar at Fri and Sat night which becomes a bit crowded, and a bit noisy around the reception area. Good value for money. Again, super comfy beds, I have never experienced anything like it!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your bed so much, they are extremely comfortable. Here at Dream our goal is to provide top notch hotel amenities combined with floorless service. It is pleasing to know that you had such a great time at the hotel. I look forward to having you back in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prato, Italia
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I've already been here a few times and I Always like it.
Atomsphere is great and sparkling!
Nice room, big enoght.
Just be sure not to in the top rooms (under PHD bar) for a more quite night.
Service has greatly imprved, at the beginning I feelt like not beeing treated as a Customer but as a number. This was the only aspect that I did not liked.
Now I feel at home.
Front desk recognise me and follow for all the need.
What else?
....Come here!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for the Kind words on Dream Downtown, the feedback is truly appreciated. This review brings me great joy as I know we are not without our flaws, however we try our best to be perfect and correct things when they go wrong. I am happy to know that we were able to change your initial opinion on the hotel and that you have had many great stays. I look forward to welcoming you back to Dream in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Hands-down the best value to be found in NYC for anyone seeking nightlife, a young and trendy crowd, and a good central location. Saturday evening sunset party at the nightclub, PH-D, is not to be missed. Stayed in the Presidential Suite: two large bedrooms, one large living room, more bathrooms than I could count, and a huge private terrace with hot tub overlooking the pool area. VIP hosts treated us like royalty. My friends intend to make a weekend at Dream Downtown an annual tradition.

Room Tip: There are two premium rooms: South Tower Terrace and Presidential Suite, both of which have multiple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
What a great review on Dream Downtown. You are right, PHD is a must see while at the hotel as it arguably has the best skyline view from any bar in NYC. I am glad that you and your friends had such a great time and hope to welcome you back to Dream in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Loved Dream Hotel Downtown! Stayed here for 1 night and have booked in for another week. The room was spacious and very clean and the rooftop pool was a nice place to relax after a busy day. The service was excellent, staff are very friendly!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
I love that you loved Dream Downtown, as we are very proud of our hotel and the amazing staff that work very hard to exceed guest expectations. I am glad to know that you had such a great time and look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was my first experience staying with Dream Hotels, and it will not be my last. I have personally stayed at a few different hotels within Manhattan. Downtown Manhattan is a great location for me and my significant other, as it is near friends and family. When looking for a place to stay in the future, we will book Dream Downtown.

The hotel was very modern on the inside and out. The pool area is beautiful with a few places to eat within the hotel and nearby. The rooms were magnificent and extremely clean. The staff was extremely friendly and went above and beyond for us. With all of the above being sad, my first visit will not be the last. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
I am very pleased to hear that you will be back to Dream Downtown, as repeat guests are our bread and butter. There are a few great hotels in the Meatpacking District, however I feel that Dream is the best of the bunch. With a wide range of amazing amenities coupled with the best hotel staff in the neighborhood, I also feel that staying at Dream is worth every penny. I am glad to hear that you felt such a warm welcome from all of the staff and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Downtown

Address: 355 West 16th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Formerly Dream Meatpacking District)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in New York City
#38 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#53 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#110 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dream Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrying on an exciting and imaginative new concept in inventive, full-service luxury travel brought by its predecessors Dream Midtown and Dream South Beach, Dream Downtown is the latest jewel in the impressive Vikram Chatwal Hotel portfolio. Situated between the hip, cool Meatpacking District and chic, charming Chelsea, Dream Downtown's loft-style accommodations and innovative atmosphere breathe new life into the New York hotel scene. Our Downtown Manhattan hotel offers the best location for travelers aching for the interesting in New York City travel. Dream Downtown is within walking distance to The Highline, superior shopping, numerous Chelsea art galleries, Milk Studio, Union Square, and the famous neighborhoods of SoHo, Chelsea, and the West Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Dream Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Downtown Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.