We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream hotel down town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Meatpacking District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Dream Meatpacking District to your Saves list
Dream Meatpacking District
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   355 West 16th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Formerly Dream Downtown) (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 459 Hotels in New York City
New york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dream hotel down town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I has stayed here for a weekend in August. We were just amazed with the hotel experience overall. One of the best weekends we've had this summer. The rooms were literally like being in a cloud. The dream hotel was not only SUPER CLEAN but very comfortable. The showers were so modern and up to date. The service was excellent. Gina and Andy who were at the front desk were very professional and super friendly. They welcomed us as soon as we arrived and made us feel like royalty. We ended up going to the pool party that they had on Monday which was a great time. Highly reccomend and we will be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    355
    145
    69
    76
See reviews for
124
493
95
480
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

I couldn't have found a more perfect hotel. From the location to the people to the restaurants and bars this was by far the best hotel I've ever stayed at. I even loved the smell (Weird? Maybe but it's true). I spent 7 nights here and loved every minute. It started to feel like a home away from home. It's within walking distance to anything you need. The hotel is so nice that it was hard to leave. We actually came back to the hotel 4 nights out of 7 to hang out at the rooftop bar because we knew we wouldn't find a better spot. Thank you Dream for making my 40th birthday feel like a dream come true.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The staff and experience was top notch from the time we checked in to the time we checked out. The manager GIna J was extremely helpful and attentive to all of our needs and the front desk staff was second to none especially Andy. Booked at this hotel to get away for the weekend and couldn't have asked for a more relaxed, worry free stay. The rooms and overall atmosphere was very modern.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Overall a very good hotel , only small issue , next time would make sure you avoid bedrooms above Marble Lane , especially if you want to get any sleep before 2a.m. , very loud! Other than that no issues to report . Very helpful staff , good bars / club.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

the good-clean, modern hotel in a good location. Good bathroom.
the bad- the pretentious nature of the staff in the hotel. We went for drinks in the rooftop bar and the server was so rude. Two cocktails cost us $48 and they added an 18% automatic gratituity. Woulnt havce minded but she didnt deserve it. We are a young couple in our late 20s and used to going to trendy bars and yet we felt out of place so not sure how other people would feel. Front of desk staff not very friendly either. We had had been travelling around USA for past few weeks and although this was the plushest hotel we stayed in it certainly wasnt the best.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel F, Assistant General Manager at Dream Meatpacking District, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Geordierach - I apologize for the experience in our rooftop bar and agree that an automatic gratuity (as it is common policy in nightlife venues) should be deserved. As popular and trendy PHD is – we do not find poor attitude of our staff acceptable and I apologize that you did not feel welcome. We are addressing this with our team and your feedback is most helpful in this regard. Should you be in the area again - if only for a drink – please ask for me. With best regards - AXEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The main reason for booking this hotel is I wanted a weekend getaway from the Jersey Shore to relax poolside…yes poolside in NYC. How cool is that??? Very rare for the city!!! Unfortunately the weather didn’t cooperate however the Hotel accommodations and Location (across from Chelsea Market and in the heart of the MPD) quickly made the cloudy weather a non-issue!!!

Andy at the front desk updated my room to a King with a balcony. The bed was SUPER comfy!!! The shower was rain-type shower head with great water pressure...love hot showers!!! I must admit the balcony is quite small but a very cool design and I loved the city street view for people watching. I continuously admired the engineering and architecture of this hotel as it was designed to utilize every sq footage to it’s a full potential. The rooms are a nice size (remember you are in NYC) with modern décor and very clean. The staff was amazingly helpful and friendly. The room comes with a stocked mini bar, however we brought our own water and drinks, the hotel removed the stocked fridge and replaced with an empty one so we can keep our drinks chilled. We ate breakfast the next day poolside…the sun finally decided to come out and I enjoyed my salmon eggs benedict and bloodymary. Keep in mind you are staying at a boutique hotel in NYC…you are paying for the atmosphere and I was quite happy with service and food/drink quality…you get what you pay for.

The rooftop had a brunch party (held Sundays from 5-9pm). This was disappointing as the crowd was VERY young and did not fit Chelsea/ MPD scene. But I don’t fault the hotel as I believe this is run by a promotion company…ill reserve my Sunday brunch parties for Bagaetelle…

Room Tip: Balcony - city view or pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Located around the corner from The Chelsea Market, The Standard Hotel, The High Line, and all the shopping in the Meat Packing District. Location is perfect to sample this area. No need for a car or to leave this area. Quick walk to Greenwich Village, or the other chic spots downtown.

Hotel was modern and sleek. Filled with young European beauties. Roof top pool is great and they have a DJ Sat. afternoons. The bar on the other roof top has great views and good music too. If you’re over 30, see the bar before 8pm or you’ll be the odd man out. Don't stay in a room on that side of the hotel. You hear the thump of the music till the wee hour.

The only down side...the sink in the bathrooms. All I can say is what were they thinking. Looks nice, but completely dysfunctional. So much so that I will not return. Don't let it stop you from trying the hotel, especially if you have already stayed at The Standard or The Gansvoort.

Ask about the complimentary bikes at the desk when you check in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream Meatpacking District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Meatpacking District

Address: 355 West 16th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Formerly Dream Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in New York City
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#94 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#122 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dream Meatpacking District 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrying on an exciting and imaginative new concept in inventive, full-service luxury travel brought by its predecessors Dream New York and Dream South Beach, Dream Meatpacking District is the latest jewel in the impressive Vikram Chatwal Hotel portfolio. Situated between the hip, cool Meatpacking District and chic, charming Chelsea, Dream Meatpacking District's loft-style accommodations and innovative atmosphere breathe new life into the New York hotel scene. Our Downtown Manhattan hotel offers the best location for travelers aching for the interesting in New York City travel. Dream Meatpacking District is within walking distance to The Highline, superior shopping, numerous Chelsea art galleries, Milk Studio, Union Square, and the famous neighborhoods of SoHo, Chelsea, and the West Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Dream Meatpacking District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Downtown Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream Meatpacking District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.