We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much style and very little substance...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Meatpacking District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Dream Meatpacking District to your Saves list
Dream Meatpacking District
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   355 West 16th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Formerly Dream Downtown) (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Too much style and very little substance...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I was really looking forward to staying at this property because we have had the pleasure of staying at Night and Dream without any indicent. First off, we checked in to our room and moments later another guest was mistakenly assigned to our room. It was a good thing that we were not in any compromising positions and had to call down to straighten this out. The cordless phone, though esthetically beautiful, lost it's signal as soon as you stepped 3 feets away from it. Nothing more than a verbal apology was given for this inexcusable incident.

Yes the rooms were beautiful, but not very functional -- where do I start? They were teeny tiny with no storage -- the minibar closet was bigger than the coat closet (way to allocate your priorities!). The bathroom, though it was sleek and sexy was not very function... no place to hang your towel, the sink and faucet were TERRIBLE in their design (you can properly fash your face since the spout of the faucet was behind the tap handle. The Etro bath products barely made up of this.

Oh yes, the light system is ridiculous -- it seems that the pendant light fixture in the center of the room is connected to the same grid as the bedside lamps and you could not turn the bedside lamps on their own without turning on the pendant.

From a service level, it was medeocre at best -- I tried to call down to the conceirge to make a restaurant reservation and was put on hold for about 15 minutes. I finally decided to go down to the lobby and make this reservation in person and the concierge had no clue that I was on hold for so long. We asked if she had any pull in getting us in and she arrogantly told us, "Consider it done... I know the owner of the restaurant and you could just show up." I was weary and didn't trust her, so i had asked that she call and confirm. About and hour later, when I didn't recieve any messages, I decided to phone down and follow up on this reservation. She told me that she needed another 15 minuyes (I presumed that she didn't even try until I called to follow-up). Moments later, she disappointed us in not being able to get our reservation time, but instead said that the restaurant would only be able to accommodate us at 10:30 PM.

And we couldn't even get to the rooftop without lining up with the rest of the non-guests to get a wristband to go up that evening. So if you really want to know how the roof way, I couldn't even tell you since I didn't want to line up.

And did I mention that we were here on business for about $500+/night?

I like to think that my reviews on Tripadvisor are good and reasonable, but I cannot recommend this hotel. It's a shame for Dream Downtown because our team of 20-30 people travels to NYC 5 times a year and we could have been a great repeat guest.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    355
    144
    69
    76
See reviews for
123
491
94
478
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We started off on a bad foot, arriving about 10 PM after a long day of travel. It was a nightmare trying to get through the lineup of people waiting to get into the club and then to get your luggage across a packed lobby that seems to double as a club. The check in desk clerk was helpful and polite, but it so was so loud I couldn't hear what she was saying. There was only one light at the desk, well away from the clerk so I had to walk my paperwork 10 feet away so I could see what I was signing. (I must be getting old when I am bothered by bad lighting and loud music.) The lobby is really interesting from a design perspective. The ceiling is the bottom of the pool so you can look up and see people swimming above you. There has been a lot of money spent on design and it is very creative. Looks like they cut costs on the painters though. Sadly, the beautiful floors were ruined by paint drippings from painting of the baseboards. Trouble is no one has really thought through what guests need. Our room was missing rubbish bins - and although I asked for one, it never arrived so I had to leave litter strewn around the room. The room came with the usual request to consider the environment by reusing your linens and towels - but also came with a sink that you could not hold water in as there was no way to plug the drain. When shaving, instead of using a couple of cups of water, much more was wasted when I had to keep turning the tap on and off. Bed was very comfortable and room had a nice sound system. I would avoid this hotel at the end of a long day of travel - but might stay again if I had a couple of days to play around and relax.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

i was in town for fashion week and had to book a last minute hotel. i am actually in the hospitality business and wanted to see what this place was all about.... i was impressed from the minute i got out of the cab. the door man was very polite as he carried my one bag all the way to the check-in counter.. i have yet to stop talking about my stay...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Check-in was unbearably slow. It took over 20 minutes to checkin, and we were only third in line.

Front desk staff was very unfriendly.

Toilette wasn't clean when we checked-in to our room. It was really disgusting.

Sink in bathroom was completely impractical. The faucet hung so low over the basin that you can't get your hands under it.

Room was very small.

Walls are extremely thin. We could hear everything happening outside, including the music from the rooftop bar.

Then, there was the rooftop party. Although we were guests in the hotel, the staff wanted us to wait outside in the line to get the necessary stamp to go to the roof. The staff is just really unfriendly and unprofessional.

The only staff that was friendly were the bellhops.

Don't waste your time and money at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to get some, but not much, sun. Actually, just don't stay at this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dreamdowntown, Managing Director at Dream Meatpacking District, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear GGGGGGG,

I was disappointed to read your review. Our front desk staff is usually exemplary, as you can read from other Trip Advisor reviews. Every faucet in every sink has been replaced with the correct size faucet that is longer and more utilitarian. I’m sorry we missed yours. With regards to our room size, we have almost 10 room types and by NYC standards even our smallest rooms are larger than most of our competitors. I’d love to have you experience a stay in a Gold King or Platinum King room which measures nearly 500 square feet and have postcard views of the New York City skyline, including the Empire State Building. Please feel free to give me a call so we can discuss arrangements for your future stay.

Warm regards,
Michael Lindenbaum
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Although I live in New York, I selected this hotel to celebrate my visiting daughter's birthday. The hotel more than met my expectations. Unexpectedly, we arrived to a red carpet, laid out for a fashion week event. Although the hotel was quite busy, we were personally greeted by Vaughn Davis, bell captain, who arranged the valet and saw to our baggage, which was extensive as we had a 4 month old baby and all his gear. The accomodations were luxurious and the housekeeping service and room service were excellent. The in house restaurants were great and my daughter and a friend enjoyed the rooftop nightclub. I would highly recommend this hotel for service and STYLE.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAGOS
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Really good stay. Will definitely be returning. Having lived in Midtown Manhattan for a year, when I was coming back for a holiday I wanted to try downtown and this hotel was ideal.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

What a fun hotel with the most helpful and friendly staff. We are older and appreciated everyone from the doorman to the concierge -- no "attitude" here! The rooms are smallish, but stylish; and, the bathroom lighting was superb. You can't beat the view from the 12th floor, and we plan to return for cocktails and excellent guacamole. We have stayed at other hotels in the area and this is our favorite.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream Meatpacking District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Meatpacking District

Address: 355 West 16th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Formerly Dream Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in New York City
#55 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#93 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#127 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dream Meatpacking District 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrying on an exciting and imaginative new concept in inventive, full-service luxury travel brought by its predecessors Dream New York and Dream South Beach, Dream Meatpacking District is the latest jewel in the impressive Vikram Chatwal Hotel portfolio. Situated between the hip, cool Meatpacking District and chic, charming Chelsea, Dream Meatpacking District's loft-style accommodations and innovative atmosphere breathe new life into the New York hotel scene. Our Downtown Manhattan hotel offers the best location for travelers aching for the interesting in New York City travel. Dream Meatpacking District is within walking distance to The Highline, superior shopping, numerous Chelsea art galleries, Milk Studio, Union Square, and the famous neighborhoods of SoHo, Chelsea, and the West Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Dream Meatpacking District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Downtown Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream Meatpacking District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.