We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Safe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Menno House

Menno House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Menno House
Save Saved
You added Menno House to your Saves list
314 E 19th Street, New York City, NY 10003 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 97 New York City B&B and Inns
Marshall, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean and Safe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

If you just need the basics, this is the place to stay. We were really only needed a place to sleep, so the price was right. The bathroom is in the basement, along with a kitchen. It's not fancy, but we knew that when we booked. The manager, Sara, was always extremely helpful in our email communications and when we checked in.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a fine experience at Menno House. Our room was perfectly adequate, the location was great, the price was right. The bathroom was clean, the kitchen area and guest fridge was nice to use, the A/C was great. It's a good place for singles and couples to stay. We would stay here again.

But don't expect a big meet and greet. Guests are just tolerated and ignored by residents. It's a private room and usable common space, not the vibe of a hostel kitchen or anything close. Maybe that's okay, although cursory greetings might be a nice touch here and there. But it's New York. Fuhgeddaboudit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My friend and I stayed here the beginning of Aug. I slept in the bottom bunk, the nextmorning I found 3 bites on my leg, big red marks, thought they were spider bites.
butwhen I returned home I found another 3 bites again big red, discovered that I had bed bugs now.
Will not stay here again

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M10003, Manager at Menno House, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We take such concerns very seriously. Bedbugs are an ongoing issue throughout New York City. As a guest house with frequent turnover, we take a number of precautions to prevent infestations, including routine inspections, cleaning rooms after guests depart, and the installation of monitoring devices. If we ever have a confirmed case, we intend to treat it as swiftly as possible, and to take any steps necessary to eradicate the issue.

We have attempted to contact the reviewer regarding this report, but they have not responded to requests for information. We urge guests to contact us immediately if they have any concerns regarding bedbugs so that we can act swiftly.

Additionally, we urge travelers to act with caution, as movement to and through various areas (airports, bus stations, hotels, public spaces, etc.) can potentially increase one's risk. There are actions that can be taken to prevent and/or mitigate infestations, and we are happy to provide guests with information about prevention and treatment. Furthermore, we encourage travelers to check out reputable resources such as the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Unfortunately our stay here was quite disappointing. Generally a well suited personality to run a suite with accommodations is one with a bubbly and cheery disposition. I am saddened to say that the manager running this unit was neither and probably should re-evaluate if being in a service oriented profession is really for them. We were greeted and given a quick tour of the space and room and that was it. There was no follow up the next day to see how things were, if we needed anything else etc. Our timing in the city was coincided with a heat wave, which was rather unfortunate. After a few days our towels (we got one each and a face cloth) were absolutely disgusting and we had to ask for new ones. The manager did state it was an oversight to not offer this as the weather was 38F to 104F during our trip.

We had booked our room for seven days and was booked months in advance. Out of the three rooms that were available we got the smallest suite, with the only improper ladder up to the loft unit. The other rooms had steps, this room had dowel rods as the steps which made it quite difficult getting up and down. The room that is pictured on the website is much more spacious and quite nice but if you do not get that room, this is fair warning, it was very cramped. Besides having basic amenities, which was already outlined, the vibe in the house was quite tense and very unwelcoming. The patrons that live in the house often seemed annoyed that other people who didn't live their were there. Given the fact that if all three rooms are rented for a week, their earning are over $1800, I would hope it was viewed more as a business and not an inconvenience. Either way, the main issues were that if any of the house guests were in the kitchen, even at the times stated that we could use it, we weren't able to. The same went for the main sitting room. I've stayed at many MCC Guest houses internationally and it's a communal set up, one where you can interact and talk with the household which is what I was anticipating here. This is not the case at all at this place.

I would not stay again and just wanted to let other people know, who are on the fence about the shared bathroom, small rooms etc, that it is probably worth your money to stay else where with proper accommodations. At the end of the day I am just sad and disappointed the house was so unwelcoming. The day we left, the manager walked right by us as we were leaving and didn't ask how our stay was or goodbye. As stated early, I really think the manager makes the place and sets the tone, in this case the girl who is doing the job is ill suited to be in a hospitality field. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The Basics: Location is great, nice neighborhood with stores, restaurants and number of interesting places close by for groceries or dinner. The staff, mainly the manager, is very helpful and willing to help. The actual residents in the house seemed very friendly, at some points interacting with some of the guests, which is very important .They are all very friendly when sharing common areas, etc. And the rooms are quite large with plenty of closet space if needed. WiFi worked great.

The place is quite full of character, if you are an active kind of traveller, the place is great, however, if you are more on the lazy side, there are no TVs on the room or breakfast, which means you will need to adapt to that against a regular BnB or Hotel. I found it ideal for the kind of trip I enjoy best.

Highly recommendable for people looking for a quiet place, both residents as well as guests were very respectful of each other while I was there, and quiet times were thoroughly respected.

Room Tip: get a room with window to the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

A few buddies and I stayed here for a one night stay in September 2011. It was adequate and clean accomodations on a quiet side street in Manhattan that was within easy walking distance of a subway station. The price was very affordable (particularly given the outrageous prices of NYC) and tax is not charged due to its not-for-profit status. We stayed in the room that had a queen bed and 3 twin mattresses in a loft above. The shared bathroom was down a flight of stairs so that wasn't so convenient but no big deal for us. I loved the Dutch Blitz cards as room numbers!

Booking and initial inquiries and checking-in were easy and pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Stayed here recently for 3 nights. The location is on a quiet side street, but easy access to restaurants, shopping and the subway. The room was clean and comfortable. There's a small fridge and cabinet for guest's food items, which was nice, and the residents who live there were very friendly.
When I got there, though, it was snowing, and the front steps were very slippery - I wasn't sure I was going to make it up the steps lugging my suitcase.
All in all, really good deal, and I'll stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Menno House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menno House

Address: 314 E 19th Street, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Menno House offers 3 rooms in our brownstone residence as guest rooms to those visiting New York City looking for a clean and affordable stay in a safe neighborhood. In business for over 20 years, we look forward to welcoming you for any length of stay from 1 night up to 4 weeks. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menno House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.