We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience overall...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Menno House

Menno House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Menno House
314 E 19th Street, New York City, NY 10003 (Central Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 96 New York City B&B and Inns
buenos aires
1 review
“great experience overall...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The Basics: Location is great, nice neighborhood with stores, restaurants and number of interesting places close by for groceries or dinner. The staff, mainly the manager, is very helpful and willing to help. The actual residents in the house seemed very friendly, at some points interacting with some of the guests, which is very important .They are all very friendly when sharing common areas, etc. And the rooms are quite large with plenty of closet space if needed. WiFi worked great.

The place is quite full of character, if you are an active kind of traveller, the place is great, however, if you are more on the lazy side, there are no TVs on the room or breakfast, which means you will need to adapt to that against a regular BnB or Hotel. I found it ideal for the kind of trip I enjoy best.

Highly recommendable for people looking for a quiet place, both residents as well as guests were very respectful of each other while I was there, and quiet times were thoroughly respected.

Room Tip: get a room with window to the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

A few buddies and I stayed here for a one night stay in September 2011. It was adequate and clean accomodations on a quiet side street in Manhattan that was within easy walking distance of a subway station. The price was very affordable (particularly given the outrageous prices of NYC) and tax is not charged due to its not-for-profit status. We stayed in the room that had a queen bed and 3 twin mattresses in a loft above. The shared bathroom was down a flight of stairs so that wasn't so convenient but no big deal for us. I loved the Dutch Blitz cards as room numbers!

Booking and initial inquiries and checking-in were easy and pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Stayed here recently for 3 nights. The location is on a quiet side street, but easy access to restaurants, shopping and the subway. The room was clean and comfortable. There's a small fridge and cabinet for guest's food items, which was nice, and the residents who live there were very friendly.
When I got there, though, it was snowing, and the front steps were very slippery - I wasn't sure I was going to make it up the steps lugging my suitcase.
All in all, really good deal, and I'll stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

The price was very low for accomodation in Manhattan, and the walk to Union Square subway station wasn't bad, a brisk 10 minute walk. Quiet side street. The 3 guest rooms are on the main floor (10 steps or so up from street level). Ours faced the backyard. The bed is old though, the mattress needs replacing. I had a chance to check out the other rooms when they were empty, mattresses seemed the same. The room is small, bed, small desk, one chair, one dresser, a closet, a bunk area, little empty floor space though. The bathroom is downstairs, which is okay unless it's occupied and you really gotta go. You have access to the living room and kitchen in the lower level from 9am to 5pm, that's when the students and volunteers aren't using it. I would have liked to have access in the evening to relax there, because the bedroom room is too small for that. Our hostess was friendly and helpful. All in all, a heck of a bargain, it won't suit everyone's comfort expectations though.

Room Tip: ask for the room facing the garden, most light, best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M10003, Manager at Menno House, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review Menno House! We do our best to provide a comfortable and welcoming environment for our guests, and, as a residence in Manhattan, to be creative with what space we have. Guests are welcome to use our common areas, including our kitchen, living room, dining area, and outdoor garden; things do get busy during the mornings and evenings when our residents (who are volunteers, non-profit workers, and students) are preparing meals before and after work.

We average five guests per night. If the guest bathroom is occupied, visitors are welcome to use a resident bathroom, which is located on another floor.

Comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated--thanks so much for your time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Great place to stay. Private (and spacious and comfortable) rooms for a great rate and in a great location. Seems like a great community!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

I enjoyed staying at Menno House. Our room was big, with a (no longer functioning) fireplace and a high ceiling. Also walls that were not quite straight. I appreciated the history of the place--there was a pamphlet in the room about the history of the house, going back more than a hundred years, when it was cheap lodging for immigrants--and I felt connected to those people, myself a stranger in New York and in America. It has a homey feel, bathrooms and kitchen are shared, and it's clean and reasonably priced for New York. But it's only available some days of the year.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Menno House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menno House

Address: 314 E 19th Street, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Central Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Menno House offers 3 rooms in our brownstone residence as guest rooms to those visiting New York City looking for a clean and affordable stay in a safe neighborhood. In business for over 20 years, we look forward to welcoming you for any length of stay from 1 night up to 4 weeks. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menno House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Menno House to your Saves list