We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful and very competitive alternative to NYC hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Contempo Design Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Contempo Design Suites
Save
You added The Contempo Design Suites to your Saves list
59 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10003 (Flatiron District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 96 New York City B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A wonderful and very competitive alternative to NYC hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were more than happy to stay at the Contempo Design suites rather than in a more expensive hotel for, in many cases, less service. We had the one bedroom suite, ideal for a couple.

The living area has a kitchenette with fridge and freezer, microwave oven, electric stove, toaster, electric kettle. The Contempo team are kind enough to provide you with tea and coffee. Large bedroom and a comfortable double bed for a nice sleep. All as described on their website. As explained here and there, little direct day light through the windows, but this was not an issue for our stay, as we spent more time out than in. No street noise for a wonderful quiet sleep.
Satellite TV and free WiFi comes with all that.

Maria and her friends were welcoming and helpful - as we feared we might arrive after 8 pm for check-in, a simple email to the Contempo team was quickly answered with all the necessary instructions to get in our apartment, should we be too late.
This is not a hotel, but rubbish is taken out every day, towels were changed every 2 days, and our bed linen was also changed once during our 5 night stay.

Location on 5th Av. is perfect, easy walking access to Chelsea and W.Village. Union Square is just around the corner, with its green market, but also supermarkets such as Whole Foods (Trader Joe's is just neraby on 14th St. with its wine shop) - in case you do not want to go out for lunch/diner every day.

A wonderful and very competitive alternative to NYC hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    22
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
29
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Contempo Design Suites is in an excellent location on Fifth Avenue at 13th Street East, well-situated in Greenwich Village for exploring the various other areas of lower Manhattan: West Village, Tribeca, Lower East Side and so on are all within fairly short walking distance. It is also close to Union Square, with its farmers market, and has some very good supermarkets nearby, including Whole Foods. We used these a lot to avoid eating out for every meal. Our suite was spacious with a good-sized bedroom with very comfortable bed, and a spacious kitchen and sitting area. The daily service was excellent, and any problems (eg our TV wasn't connecting to the satellite when we arrived) were sorted out very rapidly. Maria was welcoming and helpful. No real criticisms - if you want a comfortable hotel, then this isn't for you. But if you want a roomy and comfortable suite where you can relax, eat, cook if you wish to then Contempo Design Suites are highly recommened for both quality and location. We plan to return there on our next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

our stay was really awesome during friend party near hotel location.stayed for 4 nights & found rooms are really good decorated and dinning was finniest.location is also welcoming when you are tried finding good place here & there.over all staff behavioral was too good supportive to coustomer.over all nice place to stay at contempo design suites.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

After "outgrowing" our previous accommodation in New York, I was determined to find a new place for my husband and I on my 11th trip to New York. Contempo ticked all the boxes: location (Union Square, a fantastic base), comfort, amenities, cleanliness and service. Our suite had the rare treat of a functioning kitchenette, and we were given the use of a lap-top for a small fee. Noise was not a problem at all, again a rare treat in a big city. The search was over - hopefully Contempo will be there for as long as we are able to travel, because I don't feel a need to look for anything else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I booked here after the place I'd booked (the excellent East Village Bed and Coffee) was affected by the hurricane and had to cancel bookings. I wanted to stay downtown and have some space, and this place was perfect.

I stayed in the one-bedroom suite. The bedroom is separate and fairly large, with a mega-comfy queen-size bed, hanging and shelf space, bean bags, and good heating. I slept like a babe. The bathroom was fine, not too small, with good water pressure/heat.

The kitchen features a small fridge, coffee maker, small hot plate, crockery/cutlery etc, and stools for eating/drinking at the table. It was perfect for my needs, and thanks to the Wholefoods close by I did my own breakfast every morning - saves a lot of money! The lounge area features a sofa and TV.

The service was excellent, from booking right through to the end of my stay. They also provide helpful suggestions for shopping, groceries, must-do events etc.

This is a great choice for someone who wants to be downtown, be able to self-cater, feel like they live in NYC, enjoy quality and stylish furnishings and amenities, and not be squashed into a tiny room, pod or cabin!

Room Tip: The one-bedroom suite is perfect for solo travellers or couples, with a big, comfy bed, bean bags, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We spent 6 days here late July in the family suite on the third floor. Thanks Maria for your warm welcome. Good room service. Big apartment, well equipped. Bathroom is a little tiny. Main bed / living room was huge. Why isn't there a sofa to sit and relax? There is plenty of space for it. Beds are comfy. AC unit in the main room wasn't powerful enough (it was hot) and noisy.
But all in all I would definitly recommend this place. Ask for a room on the second floor if you want to avoid twenty more steps.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meestadimples
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My partner and I were fortunate enough to stay in 2 different rooms at the Contempo Design Suites; the studio suite and the one bedroom suite. Both rooms are very stylishly decorated, with fresh, vibrant colours and quality furnishings. The beds are absolutely enormous and extremely comfortable, and the suites are very quiet indeed, so you can get a really good night's sleep.

The complementary teas, coffees and cereal are a very nice touch and the suites are very well equipped with utensils and appliances so we found we often had our breakfast here before we set off for the day's sight-seeing.

The rooms are also full of information on local restaurants, food shops, bars and markets, which proved very handy.

The Contempo Design Suites are in an amazing location, and we found we could walk almost anywhere we wanted to from there. There is so much going on round here in the day and at night that we never really needed to stray uptown or downtown. University Place, which is just round the block, is bursting with good bars and restaurants. Try the 'Grey Dog' for breakfast for lunch - you won't be disappointed.

Overall I can highly recommend the Contempo Design Suites to anyone looking for stylish, spacious, comfortable and fantastically located accommodation in Manhattan.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Contempo Design Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Contempo Design Suites

Address: 59 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Flatiron District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer nicely furnished self-serviced apartments with fully equipped kitchen or kitchenette, free WIFI, movie channels and more. Located at the northwestern end of Greenwich Village and in the very heart of Manhattan, this is an awesome spot to live at as well as a perfect base for sightseeing. A few steps from Union Square, historic Washington Square Park, four major subway lines; within walking distance to Midtown, the Meatpacking and Soho - this location simply cannot be beat! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Contempo Design Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Contempo Design Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.