We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, convenient suite in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Contempo Design Suites

Save Saved
You added The Contempo Design Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Contempo Design Suites
59 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10003 (Flatiron District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 97 New York City B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Spacious, convenient suite in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Contempo Design Suites is in an excellent location on Fifth Avenue at 13th Street East, well-situated in Greenwich Village for exploring the various other areas of lower Manhattan: West Village, Tribeca, Lower East Side and so on are all within fairly short walking distance. It is also close to Union Square, with its farmers market, and has some very good supermarkets nearby, including Whole Foods. We used these a lot to avoid eating out for every meal. Our suite was spacious with a good-sized bedroom with very comfortable bed, and a spacious kitchen and sitting area. The daily service was excellent, and any problems (eg our TV wasn't connecting to the satellite when we arrived) were sorted out very rapidly. Maria was welcoming and helpful. No real criticisms - if you want a comfortable hotel, then this isn't for you. But if you want a roomy and comfortable suite where you can relax, eat, cook if you wish to then Contempo Design Suites are highly recommened for both quality and location. We plan to return there on our next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    21
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
27
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

our stay was really awesome during friend party near hotel location.stayed for 4 nights & found rooms are really good decorated and dinning was finniest.location is also welcoming when you are tried finding good place here & there.over all staff behavioral was too good supportive to coustomer.over all nice place to stay at contempo design suites.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

After "outgrowing" our previous accommodation in New York, I was determined to find a new place for my husband and I on my 11th trip to New York. Contempo ticked all the boxes: location (Union Square, a fantastic base), comfort, amenities, cleanliness and service. Our suite had the rare treat of a functioning kitchenette, and we were given the use of a lap-top for a small fee. Noise was not a problem at all, again a rare treat in a big city. The search was over - hopefully Contempo will be there for as long as we are able to travel, because I don't feel a need to look for anything else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I booked here after the place I'd booked (the excellent East Village Bed and Coffee) was affected by the hurricane and had to cancel bookings. I wanted to stay downtown and have some space, and this place was perfect.

I stayed in the one-bedroom suite. The bedroom is separate and fairly large, with a mega-comfy queen-size bed, hanging and shelf space, bean bags, and good heating. I slept like a babe. The bathroom was fine, not too small, with good water pressure/heat.

The kitchen features a small fridge, coffee maker, small hot plate, crockery/cutlery etc, and stools for eating/drinking at the table. It was perfect for my needs, and thanks to the Wholefoods close by I did my own breakfast every morning - saves a lot of money! The lounge area features a sofa and TV.

The service was excellent, from booking right through to the end of my stay. They also provide helpful suggestions for shopping, groceries, must-do events etc.

This is a great choice for someone who wants to be downtown, be able to self-cater, feel like they live in NYC, enjoy quality and stylish furnishings and amenities, and not be squashed into a tiny room, pod or cabin!

Room Tip: The one-bedroom suite is perfect for solo travellers or couples, with a big, comfy bed, bean bags, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We spent 6 days here late July in the family suite on the third floor. Thanks Maria for your warm welcome. Good room service. Big apartment, well equipped. Bathroom is a little tiny. Main bed / living room was huge. Why isn't there a sofa to sit and relax? There is plenty of space for it. Beds are comfy. AC unit in the main room wasn't powerful enough (it was hot) and noisy.
But all in all I would definitly recommend this place. Ask for a room on the second floor if you want to avoid twenty more steps.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meestadimples
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My partner and I were fortunate enough to stay in 2 different rooms at the Contempo Design Suites; the studio suite and the one bedroom suite. Both rooms are very stylishly decorated, with fresh, vibrant colours and quality furnishings. The beds are absolutely enormous and extremely comfortable, and the suites are very quiet indeed, so you can get a really good night's sleep.

The complementary teas, coffees and cereal are a very nice touch and the suites are very well equipped with utensils and appliances so we found we often had our breakfast here before we set off for the day's sight-seeing.

The rooms are also full of information on local restaurants, food shops, bars and markets, which proved very handy.

The Contempo Design Suites are in an amazing location, and we found we could walk almost anywhere we wanted to from there. There is so much going on round here in the day and at night that we never really needed to stray uptown or downtown. University Place, which is just round the block, is bursting with good bars and restaurants. Try the 'Grey Dog' for breakfast for lunch - you won't be disappointed.

Overall I can highly recommend the Contempo Design Suites to anyone looking for stylish, spacious, comfortable and fantastically located accommodation in Manhattan.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My daughter and I spent 5 days at Contempo in August. We were impressed by the roomy studio suite, nice bathroom and shower, and kitchenette. There was at least twice as much space as the typical NYC hotel room. We had room enough to walk around and feel as comfortable as home. The room was quiet (we had the Studio Guest Suite) and the price was very reasonable considering we typically pay more than $300 a night for much less. The caretaker was very helpful. Location was easy walk to Union Square area. Can't think of any criticism. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Contempo Design Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Contempo Design Suites

Address: 59 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Flatiron District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer nicely furnished self-serviced apartments with fully equipped kitchen or kitchenette, free WIFI, movie channels and more. Located at the northwestern end of Greenwich Village and in the very heart of Manhattan, this is an awesome spot to live at as well as a perfect base for sightseeing. A few steps from Union Square, historic Washington Square Park, four major subway lines; within walking distance to Midtown, the Meatpacking and Soho - this location simply cannot be beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Contempo Design Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Contempo Design Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Contempo Design Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.