We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment, fantastic location, excellent place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Contempo Design Suites

Save Saved
You added The Contempo Design Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Contempo Design Suites
59 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10003 (Flatiron District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great apartment, fantastic location, excellent place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I booked here after the place I'd booked (the excellent East Village Bed and Coffee) was affected by the hurricane and had to cancel bookings. I wanted to stay downtown and have some space, and this place was perfect.

I stayed in the one-bedroom suite. The bedroom is separate and fairly large, with a mega-comfy queen-size bed, hanging and shelf space, bean bags, and good heating. I slept like a babe. The bathroom was fine, not too small, with good water pressure/heat.

The kitchen features a small fridge, coffee maker, small hot plate, crockery/cutlery etc, and stools for eating/drinking at the table. It was perfect for my needs, and thanks to the Wholefoods close by I did my own breakfast every morning - saves a lot of money! The lounge area features a sofa and TV.

The service was excellent, from booking right through to the end of my stay. They also provide helpful suggestions for shopping, groceries, must-do events etc.

This is a great choice for someone who wants to be downtown, be able to self-cater, feel like they live in NYC, enjoy quality and stylish furnishings and amenities, and not be squashed into a tiny room, pod or cabin!

Room Tip: The one-bedroom suite is perfect for solo travellers or couples, with a big, comfy bed, bean bags, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    20
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
24
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We spent 6 days here late July in the family suite on the third floor. Thanks Maria for your warm welcome. Good room service. Big apartment, well equipped. Bathroom is a little tiny. Main bed / living room was huge. Why isn't there a sofa to sit and relax? There is plenty of space for it. Beds are comfy. AC unit in the main room wasn't powerful enough (it was hot) and noisy.
But all in all I would definitly recommend this place. Ask for a room on the second floor if you want to avoid twenty more steps.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meestadimples
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My partner and I were fortunate enough to stay in 2 different rooms at the Contempo Design Suites; the studio suite and the one bedroom suite. Both rooms are very stylishly decorated, with fresh, vibrant colours and quality furnishings. The beds are absolutely enormous and extremely comfortable, and the suites are very quiet indeed, so you can get a really good night's sleep.

The complementary teas, coffees and cereal are a very nice touch and the suites are very well equipped with utensils and appliances so we found we often had our breakfast here before we set off for the day's sight-seeing.

The rooms are also full of information on local restaurants, food shops, bars and markets, which proved very handy.

The Contempo Design Suites are in an amazing location, and we found we could walk almost anywhere we wanted to from there. There is so much going on round here in the day and at night that we never really needed to stray uptown or downtown. University Place, which is just round the block, is bursting with good bars and restaurants. Try the 'Grey Dog' for breakfast for lunch - you won't be disappointed.

Overall I can highly recommend the Contempo Design Suites to anyone looking for stylish, spacious, comfortable and fantastically located accommodation in Manhattan.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My daughter and I spent 5 days at Contempo in August. We were impressed by the roomy studio suite, nice bathroom and shower, and kitchenette. There was at least twice as much space as the typical NYC hotel room. We had room enough to walk around and feel as comfortable as home. The room was quiet (we had the Studio Guest Suite) and the price was very reasonable considering we typically pay more than $300 a night for much less. The caretaker was very helpful. Location was easy walk to Union Square area. Can't think of any criticism. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I, along with my sister and her husband, stayed for 4 days in early October. We had the studio suite which is on the second floor, and my sister and her husband had the one bedroom suite on the third floor. The instructions on reaching the building were spot on. It was very easy to instruct our taxi driver. The staff that greeted us and briefed us were very nice and quite helpful. The check in process was quick and smooth.

There were a number of great handouts in our room directing us to grocery stores, restaurants, sights, and special events in October. You receive a keypad code for your door of your unit as well as for the front door. This makes it very easy to come and go. We took a picture of it with our phones to keep it close at hand.

The studio unit was good for a couple. It was a large hotel room by NYC standards, and the ceilings were quite tall giving it an airy feel. The kitchenette was well equipped with coffee and tea, fridge, microwave, and all necessarily dishes/utensils for us to do basic breakfasts. You could definitely make more meals if needed. The king size bed was surprisingly comfortable, the linens were good quality, and my request for additional pillows was immediately met. The shower in the studio unit is very tiny. That is really my only complaint about the unit. It came with towels, iron/ironing board, hairdryer. Other reviews mentioned this - there isn't a window in this unit but it wasn't a huge deal to us. The air conditioner is for your unit only so you can control with a remote. The room also had satellite TV and Roku (netflix) on demand. Being on the second floor, there was perhaps a bit more noise from the stairs for folks coming to the second and third floors, but they provided earplugs in the room so that worked fine. There is ongoing construction next door that we began hearing around 8am, so it wasn't a big deal.

The one bedroom unit was very nice and large by NYC standards. We spent time hanging out there all four of us since there was a futon and two beanbag chairs, with a separate bedroom. The table and kitchenette was equipped the same way, also with tv/satellite/roku. The bathroom was larger, with a tub/shower unit which would probably be a little better for space. There was a separate closet also. It worked out well for the four of us to enjoy some wine and beer in the evening before going to dinner in the living room. For two couples, having both units was perfect. The ceilings in the third floor unit were lower than our studio.

I think the best feature of this place is that it gives you the feeling you are living in your own NYC apartment and the location is AMAZING. It is good for independent travelers who don't need a concierge or front desk to ask lots of questions. We loved the location just north of the village, near Union Square. It seemed like it was just a short hop to everywhere we wanted to go. The subway station is 2 blocks away, as are Whole Foods, Trader Joe's and the only Trader Joe's wine shop in Manhattan. We stocked up on basics the first day for breakfast, snacks, and beer/wine as that is so expensive in NY. There is an excellent coffee shop (Joe's) just around the corner on 13th street, as well as cheaper college type places to pick up some take out when you just can't fathom going out to dinner after a long day of sightseeing. Being near New School and NYU meant there were people out all the time and we felt very safe.

You can walk to Greenwich Village easily, quickly grab a taxi right outside on 5th Ave, or hop the subway. We even took the L line to Brooklyn for a short visit to Brooklyn Winery. Easy. We were everywhere from central park to battery park and the longest we were ever on the subway was 15 minutes with transfers.

I would definitely stay at this place again. It makes such a difference to have your own space, instead of a tiny hotel room!

Room Tip: I'd recommend the one bedroom suite, due to the larger shower, even though it means an extra fli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My mum, sister and I spend a few days in NYC in this hotel.
We were looking for a hotel-apartement in Manhattan, well located and we were very pleased with our stay.

First, it is very easy to find weather you arrive by cab or by subway (only 5 minutes walk from Union Square Station). The landlords are very nice and give good pieces of advice to (re)-discover the city.
I think what is great is that it doesn't look like a hotel. You feel like you belong to the city.

Our apartement had one big room, a living room and a little kitchen (all furnished apartement) and of course a bathroom. There was enough place for 3 people and all our suitcase (and then all the gift and stuff we bought, thanks NYC for great shopping).

The most amazing thing is the silent by day and night (incredible in NYC).
The apartement was clean and very functional (and there is the air conditionning also)
And of course the hotel is so well located! Only 5 minutes walks to Union Square, 10-15minutes walks to Flatiron, maybe 20-25minutes to ESB. Easy line on the subway to the main tourist monuments, and of course lot's of shop around.

One of the negative point is the lack of light. But for a few days it's ok since you won't stay in the appartement during the day.....
I really appreciate my stay there and I for sure highly recommend it (and will go back during my next trip in NYC)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dijon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

You're so close of everything in Manhattan and it's so quiet as well and secure. I think it's a good point when you're looking for a place in NYC...
We get a one bedroom suite, which was very well decorated, and very clean.
The king bed in the room is comfy, and you can use the sofa in the living room as a bed.
The kitchen is all furnished, you have free tea and coffee.
You even have the flatiron in the room, which is quiet rare !
You almost fill like you're home...!
Don't be afraid to see walls through the window, you are in NYC...
The only very small bad point : no elevator...(very very small bad point)
Thanks again Maria for this !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Contempo Design Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Contempo Design Suites

Also Known As:
The Contempo Design Hotel New York City
The Contempo Design Hotel
Address: 59 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Flatiron District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer nicely furnished self-serviced apartments with fully equipped kitchen or kitchenette, free WIFI, movie channels and more. Located at the northwestern end of Greenwich Village and in the very heart of Manhattan, this is an awesome spot to live at as well as a perfect base for sightseeing. A few steps from Union Square, historic Washington Square Park, four major subway lines; within walking distance to Midtown, the Meatpacking and Soho - this location simply cannot be beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and Priceline so you can book your The Contempo Design Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Contempo Design Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.