We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy and noisy but a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Americano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Americano to your Saves list
Hotel Americano
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   518 W 27th St, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #288 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Buggenhout, Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Trendy and noisy but a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

After staying at the Americano for a week I could write a long review, but let me summarize in - and + points:
- excellent bed, but since it's on the floor, it takes some effort to get out
- bathroom shelf and sink might be minimalistic, but is most of all not practical
- not enough clothing hangers
- the beanbag is old scool, in the way and again not practical
- the rooftop setting is monopolized by the 'beautiful' New Yorkers in the weekend. Too many of them with an arrogant attitude, loud music and apparently more important then hotel guests. The Americano is a trendy club then and not a hotel anymore.
- 88 dollars for a bottle of white wine on the rooftop terrace? Seriously?
- don't use Bluevan shuttle services for airport transportation: expensive, lousy service and unfriendly
- construction work right across the hotel makes for a lot of noise from early in the day
- I accidentally entered the wrong room with my key: assuming anyone can enter a room with their key I kept the 'do not disturb' sign on the door

+ personel is extremely polite, friendly and helpful
+ iPad in the room is definitely a big plus, as well as the free wifi
+ complimentary water in the lobby
+ walking distance from Penn station, even with luggage
+ safe neighbourhood, ideal to start exploring the city
+ the Italian restaurant/bar across the street serves good food and has an impressive choice of liquors
+ the rooftop bar, restaurant and pool definitely are an added value

All in all, I can advice this hotel, but there are a few things you should be aware of.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JPamericano, Director of Sales at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. There were negatives that you mentioned that the hotel would have been more than happy to assist with during your time here such as providing extra hangers, we would have been more than happy to extend our company we use for airport transfers instead of the shuttle you used, and at any point would have been happy to remove the bean bag and place a regular chair in the room for your use.

Thank you for pointing out the great things such as the service, location, ipads in the rooms, and our rooftop pools. We always appreciate all feedback because it can only make us more aware of what our clients would like and allows us to better ourselves. We hope to see you soon and please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to return and I will be more than happy to assist with your next direct booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    73
    27
    16
    13
See reviews for
7
81
22
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Hills, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed at the hotel over a holiday weekend and had an amazing time. The hotel is beautiful and amenities are great. The rooftop deck has a great pool and wonderful views of the city. The staff was so personable and attentive. Joe from the front desk was so accommodating and went above and beyond anything we expected. Angela was great and checked in with us and was available for anything we needed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPamericano, Director of Sales at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you so much for this incredible feedback and mentioning some of our staff that added to the great experience. We love to hear that the attention to detail from our staff and even all of the amenities we have to offer were just additions to a great weekend. We hope to see you again very soon and remember you can always enjoy the rooftop views in the winter as well when we enclose the roof. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My Partner and i were in NY for 6 nights and our only regret was we weren't staying here the whole time. The hotel is located in what seems like an old industrial area which isn't the most appealing setting; however that all changes when you get inside. The room was amazing, the bed is possibly the comfiest coolest i have ever seen in a hotel. The rooftop pool and bar has the most amazing views of the city and is a great place to relax. All in all the hotel is a great stay. A huge thank you to Calvin who was extremely friendly and really made the stay, his explanations of the room was perfect and his help with organising a car to the airport made things very easy and stress free. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPamericano, Director of Sales at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
These are the reviews we love the most! It is great to know our teams' efforts have not gone unnoticed and if anything made your time in NYC better. Thank you especially for mentioning Calvin. It is always great to be able to share the praises of our guests with our team. We would love to have you back and if you loved Americano you will love all of our other properties. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My wife and I decided to stay near the Downtown location as we were meeting our sons who live both in Brooklyn/Jersey City and we planned a diner at Tao's Downtown.
I has Priority points but decided to try this hotel based on location and reviews. We did get a bed upgrade which was nice. Hotel staff very polite and courteous. A nice change from Midtown. Definite Boutique Hotel. Funky room/ keys; small European like rooms; dark lobby/elevators (like the W) bed just off the floor (cool but age appropriate); small shower bathroom with mirrors that see in/out. What made it special was the rooftop bar/lounge. Amazing view at night and looks like food was good. Location not exactly in Chelsea but right in the middle of an art gallery neighborhood. Short nice walk using High Line from behind the hotel down to Chelsea and from there downtown. Not great options on parking, which is street or a garage which is $36+. All in all a nice experience but I would probably stay right in the downtown area next time (but if you like galleries it’s perfect). In my mid-50s, we need light, a higher bed but the roof top experience was definitely worth the stay.

Room Tip: Call ahead and ask if the roof top is open or closed for special events. Request an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPamericano, Director of Sales at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for all of your kind words. Its great to know that although the hotel may not be specifically for you that you would highly recommend it to others. We strive to be different, funky, edgy, and it has worked being that we sit in a very creative neighborhood in Manhattan. Having access to Highline is also very special.We hope to see you soon, if not to stay than to dine on our rooftop or Americano downstairs. We hope your time with your family was very special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I chose the Hotel Americano after finding a good deal online. The location is quite good with easy access to the High Line, 1, A, C, E trains and the Hudson River Park. The area seemed quite cool and hip, surrounded by galleries and restaurants and not touristy. I stayed in Room 36, a queen bed room. It was small but not unusually small for NYC. The décor was sleek and minimalist which maximized the small space. It was enough space for one person, two would be a squeeze and your roommate would have to be comfortable showering in a semi-transparent stall. There were a few minor adjustment that would have made my stay much nicer. There was no way to make tea or coffee in the room. Surely a single cup coffee maker would fit. There also wasn't a lot of space in the bathroom to put a makeup bag or toiletries case, just a narrow shelf. Also, the black pleather bean bag chair looked cool but wasn't comfortable. Overall though, I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: There is currently construction Mon -Fri directly across 27th St. Try to get a room away from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPamericano, Director of Sales at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review. You touched base on some great points we pride ourselves on being able to offer our guests such as the location and design. Being a New York property we feel we do our best with the space we have. The minimal design leaves the room feeling more open, spacious, and not cluttered. Although we do not offer tea or coffee in the rooms, we have a wonderful coffee bar downstairs and we extend in room dining as well. We hope you will return and next time may we suggest a larger room category such as a Superior King. Please reach out directly when you do return so that we may assist with your direct booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We came one week ago to the Hotel Americano to spend our anniversary night. When we checked in, the front desk offered us a nice upgrade to a suite: The Room was just amazing !! Clean, functional with a great design and nice amenities. When we got back to the hotel after a long and beautiful day in NYC we found in our Room a nice bottle of red wine from Jacquelin (very nice attention).
In few words: Great location and outstanding hotel!
We would like also to recognize the FOH team (Thanks to Eric, Gil, Calvin etc.) and Olivier from F&B for there service!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPamericano, Director of Sales at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you so much for these kind words about Americano and the team. We are so happy you were able to celebrate such a special time with us. We will make sure to give a special thanks to everyone on our staff for making your day so memorable and we hope to see you very soon (especially for your next anniversary)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The location is great, with easy access to anywhere in Manhattan - the neighborhood is much nicer than the busy Times Square area, for example. The room was clean and functional, simplistic and clear in deco, it could've done with a bit more storage room for clothes and such. The restaurant downstairs is pretty good both for breakfast and dinner - not exceptional, though. The service in general was prompt and efficient, if not overflowingly friendly. Overall, the hotel has a bit of a cold athmosphere to it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPamericano, Director of Sales at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. We hope to have you back. Next time please try our rooftop restaurant. We hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Americano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Americano

Address: 518 W 27th St, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Americano 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Americano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Americano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;