We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Honeymoon Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt 48 Lex

Save Saved
You added Hyatt 48 Lex to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt 48 Lex
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   517 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% Off
Ranked #85 of 451 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic Honeymoon Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel from the 12th to the 16th May. The hotel looks immaculate from the outside and we were not disappointed when we went inside. We arrived a few hours earlier than the check in time due to the flight times and were checked in no problem by the staff. We had been told that the rooms in New York were tiny. This was not the case, we were in room 901 and this was very spacious with a large bed, a large bathroom, TV and a mini bar. There was also a large wardrobe with an iron. The free pastry, muffins and coffee in the morning were fantastic and stocked up regularly. Free wi-fi was provided by the reception team and extended to the rooms and eating areas. The location is excellent. 10 minutes from Broadway, the same to central park and only a few minutes from the shopping areas of 5th Avenue. The room maids were also great, the room was left clean and tidy every day. All in all this was a fantastic hotel and would happily return. Thank you for a great experience.

Room Tip: Room 901 is close to the elevators so less walking along corridors. We couldnt hear the elevators o...
See more room tips
Green Features: Hyatt 48 Lex encourages reuse of towels. The AC can be set to your satisfaction and turned off should you chose.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    321
    165
    43
    15
    8
See reviews for
87
210
36
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a long weekend in New York City, having stayed at Hyatt 48 Lex for 4 nights (we were only booked for 3 but our flight home was cancelled and we had to extend our stay - a process which the staff at Hyatt 48 Lex made a breeze).

I can't really fault this hotel - great location in Midtown East, within easy walking distance of a selection of Metro stations, the Rockefeller Centre, Times Square and Grand Central Station, excellent customer service, very good room size (which is not that common, from what I've experienced on two previous visits to NYC), rooms immaculately clean and very well equipped (iron, ironing board, small dishwasher(!), microwave, etc).

We also had a great view of Lexington Avenue from our room on the 18th floor. Other pros include complimentary tea and coffee 24 hours a day in the second floor lounge, and very large restrooms on the lounge floor as well, which is great if you are flying a significant amount of time after check out and want to freshen up and change before your flight. Additional nice touches which are offered in the lounge but which we didn't take advantage of are complimentary pastries from 7 - 10am and cheese and wine from 5.30pm.

My only criticism, which is not unique to Hyatt 48 Lex, is that free wifi is not standard. We managed to get this for the duration of our stay by joining the Hyatt Gold Passport Program (don't know much about this - really just joined because it meant free wifi!), but that would be my only suggestion for improvement.

Thank you to the staff and management at Hyatt 48 Lex for making our stay so pleasant, particularly with the drama surrounding our cancelled flight!

PS. A bit random, but we loved the fresh, clean smell of the hotel on entering, which you can smell as soon as you turn onto 48th St from Lexington Avenue - very refreshing and welcoming after a long, hot day touring around the city.

Room Tip: We had Room 1803, which was a great size, had a fantastic view, and was very well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hyatt 48 Lex, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Zara C,

Wow! Thank you for the wonderful review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and all of our amenities.

We hope to welcome you back as our guest soon!

Thanks,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Enjoyable stay. Nice hotel with modern rooms.

At check in, desk attendants were more than happy to work with us about rooms, floors, etc. went with their suggestion, and it was great.

Only downside to stay was concierge. She was located in lounge on second floor and seemed disengaged. Had to query her several times before response. Ended up making restaurant reservations on our own.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hyatt 48 Lex, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Bill L,

I am disappointed to hear you weren't satisfied with our concierge. This is not a common practice with our team and for that I am truly apologetic.

I am glad to hear you had wonderful interactions with our team!

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

All the best,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, NJ
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
398 helpful votes 398 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Being a regular guest of Hyatt hotels and a Hyatt Platinum Elite member, the Hyatt 48Lex is more reminiscent of Hyatt’s Andaz chain than a typical Hyatt, Hyatt Regency or Grand Hyatt hotel. For me, this isn’t a bad thing. In fact, I think this is one of the advantages of staying at the 48Lex (besides its great location).

Check-in is quick in the small, ground floor lobby. The lobby is also very “Andaz” like and I was informed that they will be switching to iPads (just like all the Andaz properties), for guest check-in/check-out shortly. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.

On the second floor there’s a nice, casual lounge where you can order drinks, snacks, sandwiches and complimentary continental breakfast and late afternoon snacks. They also have a great cappuccino machine that’s available 24 hrs. a day at no charge.

If you’re looking for a full service restaurant, the Lexington Brass restaurant is located on the ground floor in the front of the hotel. It has a full bar and is open late. It’s also where you have breakfast if it’s included as part of your rate. Good food and service, nice atmosphere and creative dishes.

The rooms (also very Andaz like), are modern and very comfortable. While on the smaller side, there was more than enough room for 2 people without ever feeling cramped.

One of the hotels best features is its location and proximity to everything in mid-town Manhattan. It’s a short walk to Radio City, Rockefeller Center, Times Square, 5th Ave. shopping, Central Park, Grand Central Station and dozens of some of the best restaurants in NYC. You couldn’t ask for a better location. And since the room rates seem to be consistently lower than that of other Hyatt’s in NYC, I will certainly be coming back to the Hyatt 48Lex on my future trips to NYC.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter than those lower and closer to street traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hyatt 48 Lex, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear HeyMan76,

We appreciate the awesome feedback and five star review! I can't wait to celebrate your kind remarks with the hotel team!

Thanks,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I was met on the sidewalk by friendly staff who brought in my bags, checked me in and escorted me to the second floor club room while I waited for my room. The rooms are large, great windows floor to ceiling providing sun light and marvelous view of street life below. Very quiet for being in heart of NYC. Exceptional security with room key required to go from lobby to any of the floors above.
Rooms have great bar stocked with wine and liqueur. Lots of electrical outlets, great bed and pillows. Would have liked better water pressure in shower, but not bad.
Service throughout was professional friendly and helpful. Will be putting this on my go-to list of NYC hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hyatt 48 Lex, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Soonkeum,

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on your most recent stay at Hyatt 48 Lex. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your room and all of the amenities. You should make sure to check out our lounge on the second floor on your next visit!

Kind regards,

Robert Gormley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Nicest... friendliest... most helpful staff I have ever encountered. Offered upgrade (free) at check in (which was early by the way).... rooms were clean (albeit a little small)... but cant say enough good things about the staff. Would stay there again in a heartbeat!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hyatt 48 Lex, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you so much for the five star review, Eric J! Our team works exceptionally hard to ensure that every guests stay is memorable. I cannot wait to celebrate your wonderful review and kind comments with everyone!

Please visit us again soon,

Robert Gormley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This was a pleasant surprise for one transit night in Manhattan. The hotel is very close to the UN building, Grand Central Station, and all the shopping area around 5th, Park and Madison avenues. I was upgraded to a suite at the 21st floor, which was great at the corner of the building with a lovely view on the East river. There is a lounge area at the second floor where complimentary breakfast is provided (and also cheese and wine in the evening, but I didn’t have the chance to taste it). This seems like a great option for the price, given that anything in the area below 200 dollars involves a shared bathroom! Last but not least staff was very helpful and polite. I will definitely be back and I think it’s a great price/quality ratio.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hyatt 48 Lex, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear LadyAbroad,

Thank you for choosing Hyatt 48 Lex for your stayover in NYC! Not to worry, no shared bathrooms here :)

All the best,

Robert Gormley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt 48 Lex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt 48 Lex

Address: 517 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in New York City
#50 Family Hotel in New York City
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#90 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt 48 Lex 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt 48 Lex is a striking and innovative, luxury boutique hotel, providing a fresh take on modern hospitality, focused on intimate and exclusive experiences for the chic and savvy traveler. Located on Lexington Ave and 48th St, with 116 guestrooms and suites our hotel promises extraordinary four diamond service, a wide array of amenities while you stay in our spacious guestrooms or suites with all showcasing our floor to ceiling windows. Visit our inviting 2nd floor living room with lounge seating, a fireplace that overlooks the vibrancy of Lexington Ave and enjoy daily our signature complimentary continental breakfast in the morning, cappuccino, water, fruit or cookies during the afternoon or a glass of wine with cheese which is served every evening. We also provide a 24-hour fitness center, our full service restaurant Lexington Brass, in room dining, 24-hour business center, and meeting space. Our convenient midtown location puts guests within walking distance of Grand Central Station, Chrysler Building, Radio City Music Hall, Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, and Fifth Avenue, home to the finest New York shopping. Perfect for corporate travelers seeking extended-stay accommodations book one of our corner one bedroom suites and enjoy a separate living room with generous space to spread out, a kitchenette and influx of natural light with floor to ceiling windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hyatt 48 Lex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt 48 Lex Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt 48 Lex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.