We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt 48 Lex

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt 48 Lex to your Saves list
Hyatt 48 Lex
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   517 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% Off
Ranked #104 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“So Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel was great! The staff were very kind and helpful. The room was beautiful, modern and clean. I loved the lounge with 24/7 coffee, espresso and hot chocolate and morning pastries and snacks 2 times a day. The location was good and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hyatt 48 Lex, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your 5 Star Review! Glad you enjoyed yourself here and look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards,

Brian Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    188
    47
    18
    11
See reviews for
99
236
45
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend. This is a small, relatively no-frills hotel that is super-modern with a very efficient use of space. Small lobby with just a reception desk and a bench, and very friendly, helpful staff. Rooms are on the small side for 2 people but have everything one needs. If you are traveling on business I would highly recommend it! The desk area had a power strip with USB and HDMI ports, audio/visual plugs, etc., plus a large flat-screen TV/computer monitor where you could work on a Power Point presentation while listening to the news on the OTHER flat screen next to the bed. The in-room kitchenette/bar area is also really nice. My biggest complaint was mentioned here by another reviewer--the bathroom has a hanging door that slides shut--just not all the way. Looks tres chic but is lacking in privacy. There are a number of restaurants nearby in addition to the hotel restaurant. The ultra-cool lounge on the second floor was nice, but the offerings were pretty minimalist.... best part for me was the espresso/cappuccino/latte maker that is available all day! All in all, good value for the money.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the quieter the room. The staff asked us our preference when we checked in, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hyatt 48 Lex, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! Glad you to see you enjoyed your overall stay, we look forward to your return.

Regards,

Brian Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after reading a good review in the London press. We were very impressed. We had a room which was beautifully furnished and tastefully decorated. We had a balcony ! How unusual is that in New York! We stayed for 2 nights to do some Christmas shopping and this hotel made our trip special. I wanted to particularly thank the staff who were amazingly helpful and charming. Ive been to New York on short vacation trips at least 5 times and usually i gind new york hotels awfully cramped and very overpriced. Not so with the Hyatt Lex 48. We will return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hyatt 48 Lex, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for all your kind words - Glad to hear you enoyed your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back for the 2013 Shopping Season.

Regards,

Brian Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Visited over memorial weekend. without exception perfect service from every member of staff from reception to the lovely Walter the bartender. nice sized rooms very clean . Great advice from reception. Greeted every time we came into hotel and wished a great time every time we left. Perfect trip cant wait to come back.

Room Tip: we had a room on the 15th floor 1501 and it was lovely with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hyatt 48 Lex, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for your 5 Star Review! Hope your travels bring you back this way soon.

Regards,

Brian Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed one night over Memorial Day weekend. Only six rooms on a floor which gave a sense of exclusivity. Bathrooms modern and tastefully done as were the rooms generally. Very clean, modern appliances, could even order takeout and reheat in the microwave. Lounge on 2nd floor is a great place to hang out. Dual health clubs in the cellar (one for aerobics, one for weights) were of modest size but were uncrowded and equipment was in excellent condition. Felt a bit like a W without all the attitiude (loud beating lobby music, etc.). Strongly recommend for something different than a big NYC hotel and at a fair price! Look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hyatt 48 Lex, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We look forward to your return as well, and thanks for the review!

Regards,

Brian Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for the first time over the weekend and had a fantastic experience! All staff members seemed intent on making sure our stay was the best it could be. Jose at check-in was especially helpful and pleasant. The 2nd floor lounge is an unexpected treat. We will always consider this hotel for future trips to NYC!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hyatt 48 Lex, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for your review, as well as your shout out about Jose! We look foward to celebrating your comments with him.

Regards,

Brian Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed 5 nights in this supebly located Boutique style hotel. The staff were young vibrant professional and friendly, always taking time to say hello and a quick chat.
The second floor lounge was most welcoming with all the positive comments of other reviewers. I think we were upgraded to a premium studio which is on the 22nd floor with absolutely no external or internal noise whatsoever. Not often there is a dishwasher in a hotel room to go with a well selected wine rack, fridge, coffee machine and sink. I suspect there are few hotels offering rooms of this size in NYC.
We booked the flight and hotel deal with BA and I suspect it was much cheaper than booking hotel separate.
It was really well located close to all the main mid town attractions yet not on the main drag as it were. The subway for the E line was only a 10/12 minute walk and that takes you down the centre of Manhatten to the World Trade Centre and to JFK. We used this line only for the full duration of the visit as it took us close enough to everywhere we needed to visit. All in all,a worthwhile hotel to consider.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hyatt 48 Lex, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for your comments and we are glad to hear you enjoyed all that the hotel has to offer. Hope your travels bring you back soon.

Regards,

BT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt 48 Lex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt 48 Lex

Address: 517 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in New York City
#30 Family Hotel in New York City
#72 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#78 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#113 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt 48 Lex 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt 48 Lex is a striking and innovative, luxury boutique hotel, providing a fresh take on modern hospitality, focused on intimate and exclusive experiences for the chic and savvy traveler. Located on Lexington Ave and 48th St, with 116 guestrooms and suites our hotel promises extraordinary four diamond service, a wide array of amenities while you stay in our spacious guestrooms or suites with all showcasing our floor to ceiling windows. Visit our inviting 2nd floor living room with lounge seating, a fireplace that overlooks the vibrancy of Lexington Ave and enjoy daily our signature complimentary continental breakfast in the morning, cappuccino, water, fruit or cookies during the afternoon or a glass of wine with cheese which is served every evening. We also provide a 24-hour fitness center, our full service restaurant Lexington Brass, in room dining, 24-hour business center, and meeting space. Our convenient midtown location puts guests within walking distance of Grand Central Station, Chrysler Building, Radio City Music Hall, Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, and Fifth Avenue, home to the finest New York shopping. Perfect for corporate travelers seeking extended-stay accommodations book one of our corner one bedroom suites and enjoy a separate living room with generous space to spread out, a kitchenette and influx of natural light with floor to ceiling windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt 48 Lex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt 48 Lex Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt 48 Lex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.