We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but very expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt 48 Lex

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hyatt 48 Lex to your Saves list
Hyatt 48 Lex
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   517 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% Off
Ranked #91 of 454 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very good, but very expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms. Modern feel. We were upgraded to a balcony room which was a nice touch. Staff was friendly and attentive. Room was very clean, but already showing signs of wear after such a short time open. The headboard was scratched up, the desk badly stained and tiles in the bathroom chipped. The lounge with food throughout the day was a bit of a joke-- only one small tray of mini muffins and mini bagels for breakfast. Frankly not worth even offering it. My only major gripe was the price of 'add ons.' Valet parking is $70 a day. I've stated at hotels all over NYC and this is the most I've seen anywhere. With a best parking coupon, I got into the same garage next door for $40. Room service fees were over the top. I wanted 6 chocolate covered strawberries for my anniversary and they wanted $100. Ouch. No way.
I would stay here again, although I much prefer the Andaz just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hyatt 48 Lex, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Greetings from 48 Lex and Happy Anniversary!!!

Thank you for your kind words and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us. In regards to your pricing comments, we are in line with all area hotels.

Should your travels bring you back to the New York area, and we love the opportunity to send you a complementary bottle of Champaign and chocolate covered strawberries to your guest room.

Brian C. Twomey
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    175
    45
    16
    9
See reviews for
93
225
41
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bohemia, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you would like to experience Downtown Manhattan, but not be right in the middle of the Times Square hord all the time, the Hyatt Lex 48 is a great choice to enjoy the hussel and bussel and be able to relax from it too. The hotel offers all the amenites of a Big Apple hotel and only a few block walk from all the action. At the same time, a few blocks in the other direction you can enjoy the local flavors and the many multicultural neighborhoods. The service is premier and the staff and accommodations superb. They more then live up to The Hyatt reputation!
James P.

Room Tip: Corner suites are very spacious. They also have rooms on the lower levels with actual balconies, som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hyatt 48 Lex, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank You!

Great Comment "The service is premier and the staff and accommodations superb. They more then live up to The Hyatt reputation"

Hope you stay with us again soon...

Regards,

Brian Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Repeat visit here. Second floor lounge nice spot to relax and read papers. One negative is the phone rings continually when no staff is present. Had corner suite that is spacious. Staff is attentive and professional.
One major flaw is service/attitude wait staff in restaurant. My friend had a room and ordered and took breakfast to his wife. They included no condiments so he " borrowed" salt/pepper but was in process of quickly returning it. The snippy little manager came to me demanding his name and room #. Told her to relax he was bringing it back quickly! She said we needed her permission.
Brought incident to Hyatt GM's attention. They informed me that they were meeting restaurant's GM to discuss other service issues.
I would avoid eating here until resolved. Oh yes. Yesterday had to ask four times for ketchup. There is obviously NO seasoned leadership here. Rather sad as food is actually good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hyatt 48 Lex, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your detailed feedback! In addition, welcome back! Thanks for staying with us agian. In regards to your restaurant experience, I have reach out to our 3rd party restaurant Operator (Lexington Brass) to address your conerns.

Thanks again!

Brian Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I enjoy the Hyatt experience whenever I travel and this hotel is no exception. The room was spacious enough for us. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable . The bathroom was a good size with an ample sink and space for toiletries storage. The large shower had a rain shower head and the water pressure was good. We were not crazy about the frosted glass door to the bathrooom. It did not close all the way and you can see a blurry image through it. A modest person could find this feature a bit disconcerting. We were on the 15th floor and except for the ubiquitous sirens and the usual bumps and thumps we've encountered in all hotel rooms, the room was very quiet. Additionally, this is the first time we had real HD tv available in a hotel with a very nice large (I think 36 inch) flat screen. The room also had a mini bar which we did not use.
The second floor lounge was great for coffee and light snacks. The coffee machine brews cappuccino, expresso, cafe latte, hot chocolate and more. It is a wonderful feature for coffee lovers and a great convenience in the morning. There are light pastries available in the morning and small cake and brownie squares available in the afternoon. Also wine (for a cost) and cheese and crackers are available in the late afternoon. Be aware that if you have been to a Hyatt grand club, this is not the same experience. It is just a nice amenity for guests.
Overall, the Hyatt 48 Lex is a very pleasurable experience. We found the staff extremely friendly. We arrived around 11:00 am and even though the hotel was booked solid, Carlos at the front desk got us in our room within 15 minutes.
For full disclosure purposes, I am a Hyatt platinum member and can request early check-in but I don't think this made an exception as to how we were treated.

Room Tip: We were in room 1506 and there is a linen closet outside the room. This could contribute to noise b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hyatt 48 Lex, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Greetings!

Loved your post - Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Brian Twomey;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here for one night on the way to cruise. Our room was not ready when we arrived in the early evening and the hotel offered us some wine while we were waiting. The room was good, and we wish we could have used the dishwasher. The hotel was hard for the limo driver to find as the address of the hotel does not match its actual location. We were surprised to be charged about $25 for fedex packages received. I have never seen that before in a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hyatt 48 Lex, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Greetings from Hyatt 48 -

Thank you for your kind review, please email me the address you had while trying to locate the hotel. If this is truly a mis-posting, I would like to have it corrected.

Please email the info to brian.twomey@hyatt.com

Regards,

Brian Twomey
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed there this past weekend and being a Sabbath observant Jew,it sometimes makes it hard to stay in hotels. The staff did ask one question, whatever I needed them to do they did. It was a wonderful hotel

Room Tip: The stairway for shabbos is on the left of the elevator and no electronics needed. Oh yeah on Shabbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hyatt 48 Lex, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Greetings from the Hyatt 48!

Thank you for all your kind words...Hope to welcome you back again soon...

Regards,

Brian Twomey
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

A nice hotel with a very residential feel about it; ideally located for midtown business meetings. The rooms are nicely sized by New York standards, design, furnishings quite nice. Beds are extremely comfortable.
The staff is doing a good job, although don't go beyond themselves. A bit NY-slickish.
The one thing that does not work is the breakfast restaurant - long waits, steep prices for so-so quality and pretty brash staff.
Bottom line: very recommended, one of the nice NY places, just have your breakfast somewhere else.

Room Tip: Upper floors with a view towards Lexington Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hyatt 48 Lex, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback about your most recent stay with us. I wanted to personally let you know that we addressed your posting with the General Manager at the Lexington Brass. He takes these types of postings seriously, and your concerns will be addressed.

Thanks again!

Brian Twomey
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt 48 Lex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt 48 Lex

Address: 517 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in New York City
#31 Family Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#64 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#102 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt 48 Lex 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt 48 Lex is a striking and innovative, luxury boutique hotel, providing a fresh take on modern hospitality, focused on intimate and exclusive experiences for the chic and savvy traveler. Located on Lexington Ave and 48th St, with 116 guestrooms and suites our hotel promises extraordinary four diamond service, a wide array of amenities while you stay in our spacious guestrooms or suites with all showcasing our floor to ceiling windows. Visit our inviting 2nd floor living room with lounge seating, a fireplace that overlooks the vibrancy of Lexington Ave and enjoy daily our signature complimentary continental breakfast in the morning, cappuccino, water, fruit or cookies during the afternoon or a glass of wine with cheese which is served every evening. We also provide a 24-hour fitness center, our full service restaurant Lexington Brass, in room dining, 24-hour business center, and meeting space. Our convenient midtown location puts guests within walking distance of Grand Central Station, Chrysler Building, Radio City Music Hall, Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, and Fifth Avenue, home to the finest New York shopping. Perfect for corporate travelers seeking extended-stay accommodations book one of our corner one bedroom suites and enjoy a separate living room with generous space to spread out, a kitchenette and influx of natural light with floor to ceiling windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt 48 Lex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt 48 Lex Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt 48 Lex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.