We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice luxury retreat in NY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt 48 Lex

Save Saved
You added Hyatt 48 Lex to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt 48 Lex
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   517 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% Off
Ranked #86 of 452 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Really nice luxury retreat in NY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Where to start... I'm here for business which usually means a long boring trip without the mrs. spending most my time in the room. So what I want is a large room, nice luxury and a place to separate work and bedtime. Well you're not going to get that in most NY hotel rooms... Generally small and hominess... Enter the Hyatt 48 Lex. Probably not the cheapest hotel room but like I said its for biz and I'm a platinum. At first, the booked terrace room wasn't available so I got a regular room much smaller and w/out a balcony. So the review really is about the corner suite w the balcony... I'm not entirely happy about the downgrade at first but the regular room is really nicely laid out and well furnished... Didn't bother me for long.

Pros:
Huge room separate living, bath, 'kitchen', wrap around balcony, and bed.
Modern but elegant finishes... Dark woods, sleek steel, nicely done... Great standup shower w tiles...Typical Hyatt in my experience so far...
Two 37/42" flat screens
Great customer service... Clean rooms, helpful concierge, available lounge area in lieu of lobby... Everyone is Super helpful and always has a smile...
Clean and updated room, from wooden furniture to drapes to tvs and amenity kits
Turndown service w chocolates
Lex lounge offers fruits, coffee, tea, in addition to some pastries in the morning and cheese at night, free PC/biz center on a working Mac with printer... Nice "free" space for all
Free Internet for plats otherwise is 15/day w ability to swap device, only one per room at rate.
Although I didnt use... Small out of the way fridge, dish washer, minibar, wine bar, yes in room wine selection...and second 'kitchen' sink

Cons;
Prob due to the only two elevators the wait can be kinda slow since it services the entire bldg plus cleaning crew during peak hours
Location is a bit far east for my liking, but it's not awful... Waldorf and Interconnential is nearby, so you'd have to say the same about them...
Doors are heavy but the sound is kinda bad... Try not to stay near elevator or exit doors, but oddly enough it seems like this hotel is quiet as a mouse after 10... Dif type crowd id say... Fairly priced, a bit higher than mid tier but worth it.
10/15 min to central park, 5/7 min from fifth ave

Would definitely stay again, lex brass restaurant was quite good, you could do a lot worse for hotel restaurant... Didn't mind eating here at all. Wait staff seem really friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hyatt 48 Lex, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thanks for the Comment!

I cant agree with you more, we really are a nice luxury retreat in NY!

Brian Twomey
Assistant General Manager
brian.twomey@hyatt48lex.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    335
    169
    44
    15
    9
See reviews for
88
216
40
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Hyatt seems to either be listening to it's customers (unlike many other brands) or has simply decided to go above and beyond and test what happens when they offer a superior customer experience. The 48LEX is a cross between a luxury brand with contemporary styling and a long stay hotel since many rooms offer microwaves and dishwashers. The location is perfect on the upper east side and even it's restaurant, the Brasserie offers exceptional food. It's all pricey as is much in NY but the quality makes you feel better about spending the money. If you eat in the restaurant have the buttermilk fried chicken - truly a one off...

Room Tip: Spend time in the lounge on floor 2 - it's sort of the hotel hangout spot since it lacks a forma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hyatt 48 Lex, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
aadamopoulos,

Thanks for your comment, I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time w/ us.

By the way, I love the Fried Chicken as well - it hard to find great fried chicken these days.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best,

Brian Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

title says it all. staff was great. they were very accommodating. room was a good size. would stay here again in a heart beat.

check out is at 11am which was a little rough for us. real close to the subway which is perfect. peaked inside the gym and it looked nice. didn't use it though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hyatt 48 Lex, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for all your Kind words!

We look forward to wecloming you back...

Brian Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

From LGA, took the bus to metro and was within two blocks of the hotel all for $4.50 for two people.
We used points for 2 nights and cash for the third night.

Checked us in early which was really nice as it was Labor day weekend. 20th floor - regular room, no view, large restroom. Great bed and a ton of HD channels - didn’t watch TV...but always appreciate a nice HDTV with actual HD channels. Location is nice and close to everything. The lounge is a nice touch and not restricted to anyone. The staff in the lounge are great.

The restaurant hides the "B" rating by the hotel entrance behind a plant...a little shady - we took a picture of it...but ended up deleting it - I thought it was funny and sad.

Was busy and this was expected - fast elevators - great staff and location would bring me back - but we tend to stay in a different hotel and location when in NYC.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Went to NYC for a girls weekend and had a great time. This hotel is very conveniently located to access the subway or to walk to destinations. I found the rooms to be modern, clean and had all that we needed in terms of amenities. We had no issues with noise. The lounge on the second floor was a great place to grab a muffin and a cup of coffee in the morning before we started out to see the city. I found the entire staff to be very friendly and responsive. When the printer in the business center ran out of paper, they were quick to answer our call for help. The concierge gave great tips on eating establishments and even the maintenance man came to our "rescue" when we needed to use a marker for a project late at night. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hyatt 48 Lex, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
itspeachy,

Thank you for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Brian Twomey
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I do a NY Trip each year to see friends, family and to try to catch a Yankees-BoSox game, and this time we were able to stay at the Hyatt 48 Lex and didn't fell cramped like several of our other stays in other hotels. It was centrally located, walked everywhere and easy access to subway/trains, and only took cabs in the evening for dinner. Room was suprisingly spacious, nice decor, very clean, and nice little kitchenette with microwave and bar fridge that we could actually put some drinks and food in. Staff was always helpful and friendly. The only issues we had was that it was difficult to catch a cab in front of the hotel, so we always walked around the corner (so, not really a negative...just an inconvience).

Room Tip: It is somewhat of a boutique hotel, so there are only a handfull of rooms on each floor, but try not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hyatt 48 Lex, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
kjpooler-

we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay w/ us at the Hyatt 48 Lex. We are sorry it was so difficult to catch a cab during your stay. The next time you stay w/ us, please ask one of our Hosts to catcha cab for you.

Best,

Brian Twomey
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Headed to NYC for the US Open / tennis and found 48Lex to be in the perfect zone for those attending the Open (and/or certainly fornthosenwith business in midtown).

Reception: essentially a small stand-up table with two laptops - was initially wondering if I had erred...Quality of Reception team was off the charts high!

Room: FAR exceeded my expectations ... had booked a room that would have space for a roll a way for my son to utilize. Turns out the space was perfect - even had a 2nd flat screen for that space. Room was great!

Noise: room faced right onto the corner of 48th & Lexington... was expecting street noise since I was only 3 stories up ... window technology was amazing - noise was muted and slept fine!

2nd Floor Lounge: we didn't even check it out as we always ventured out for meals.

Certainly it was no Plaza style hotel with a large grandiose lobby - which was fine for our purposes - but had Plaza level service & staff...

Very positive - surprising experience that I wasn't expecting for some reaon - would definitely return - staff was great!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Manager at Hyatt 48 Lex, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
InspiredPDX-

Thanks for staying w/ us and we hope you come back again soon!

Brian Twomey
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt 48 Lex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt 48 Lex

Address: 517 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in New York City
#48 Family Hotel in New York City
#51 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#59 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#99 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt 48 Lex 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt 48 Lex is a striking and innovative, luxury boutique hotel, providing a fresh take on modern hospitality, focused on intimate and exclusive experiences for the chic and savvy traveler. Located on Lexington Ave and 48th St, with 116 guestrooms and suites our hotel promises extraordinary four diamond service, a wide array of amenities while you stay in our spacious guestrooms or suites with all showcasing our floor to ceiling windows. Visit our inviting 2nd floor living room with lounge seating, a fireplace that overlooks the vibrancy of Lexington Ave and enjoy daily our signature complimentary continental breakfast in the morning, cappuccino, water, fruit or cookies during the afternoon or a glass of wine with cheese which is served every evening. We also provide a 24-hour fitness center, our full service restaurant Lexington Brass, in room dining, 24-hour business center, and meeting space. Our convenient midtown location puts guests within walking distance of Grand Central Station, Chrysler Building, Radio City Music Hall, Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, and Fifth Avenue, home to the finest New York shopping. Perfect for corporate travelers seeking extended-stay accommodations book one of our corner one bedroom suites and enjoy a separate living room with generous space to spread out, a kitchenette and influx of natural light with floor to ceiling windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hyatt 48 Lex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt 48 Lex Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt 48 Lex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;