We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pennsylvania New York to your Saves list
Hotel Pennsylvania New York
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Seventh Avenue at 33rd Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #382 of 458 Hotels in New York City
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located in the heart of midtown manhattan near to attractions opposite the subway, so easy for commuting.
The rooms themselves are quite basic but they do the job if you aren't planning staying in your room all day long, I have stayed here twice now and wouldnt hessitate about staying again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    1,492
    2,736
    1,415
    2,381
See reviews for
1,605
2,299
565
662
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (813)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Langport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The rooms are still dirty. The staff is still rude - yes, all of them! Only the location (which is fantastic) and being unable to award 0 gives this hotel a score of 1 from me. The price is high because it is New York. Had I had a choice I would have stayed somewhere else but was travelling with a colleague, who booked before I could advise against it. I had a bad experience last time and had worse this time.

Room Tip: Pay anything not to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYHPTeam, Management at Hotel Pennsylvania New York, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We’re sorry to hear about your experience with our staff. Management will share your comments with our Housekeeping and Front Office teams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I knew it'd be tired-looking and pretty basic, I didnt expect mould on the ceiling and walls, broken tiles in the bathroom, peeling paint on the ceiling and everything to be so **sticky**.


It is in a great location, and the wifi is good, but I cant remember staying in a worse hotel.

Room Tip: somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYHPTeam, Management at Hotel Pennsylvania New York, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We’re very sorry to hear about your stay. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with our Housekeeping and Maintenance teams. Thanks for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Location is perfect, it was about a 5-10 min walk to Times Square, and right across the road from the subway.
A very rude Gustavo checked us in, he was chewing gum with loud chewing noises and was no help whatsoever, when we asked how to get to the elevators he just waved his hand vaguely in the direction of where the elevators were,
We checked in at 3pm, when we got to our room there was a trolley in front of our door, but as check in is from 2pm we assumed it was just left there for whatever reason, but as we went to open the door, housekeeping opened it and said "don't you know that when the trolley is there you don't come in cause I'm cleaning!!!" Front desk should have known this, so we had to wait for her to finish, room smelt damp which turned out it was damp with massive water leakage all over carpet from air con, we were moved to a king room, I don't really care how small a room or bathroom is, but as long as it is clean, and the bathroom was full of mould!!
Anyway if you can afford it, pay the extra and stay somewhere else, but there is no mistaking the location, it is really good, except when you walk out the front and get hassled!!! Oh and if you are arriving there for the first time, (to JFK airport) and you are getting a cab, when you walk out of the airport guys will come up and say they can take you, and they will say the yellow cabs don't go to Manhattan, just ignore them and go straight to the taxi line, it costs $62 plus tolls and tip,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYHPTeam, Management at Hotel Pennsylvania New York, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We’re sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The issues that you mentioned regarding the Housekeeping and Front Office teams will be brought to their attention. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Spent two nights at the hotel but only time spent in the room was to sleep. When we arrived the room smelt damp the decor was very poor and needs a major overhaul. The only saving grace is the location,everything you want is right, there went out to do some shopping and all the major shops are close by,also all the attractions are not far away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYHPTeam, Management at Hotel Pennsylvania New York, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. Your comments will be looked at by management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

You cant beat the location of this hotel, right across the road from Penn station and in the heart of NYC. Our 1st room was very small and only had a double bed and we were right by the lift shaft so was quite noisy, the next day we asked to be moved as it was loud and they upgraded us to a king room which was great. Allow plenty of time for check in as this was rather busy, took us 45 mins to check in.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I was part of a group of 4 female friends, so we loved this hotel because it offered 4 single beds in one room. We paid ~$400, so it was $100 per person for a night in mid-town Manhattan. It is located across from Madison Sq Gardens, above the Amtrak, so the convenience is supreme. The hotel is basic-basic-basic!!! Reception/check in was mediocre. We were able to store our suitcases (for $10 fee) until our room opened at 3. We had small roll-aboards, and they WERE nice about letting us double 2 up for the price of one normal suitcase. Rooms were old, basic and institutional. Great hot water, water pressure. Beds were adequate. We couldn't complain for the price and location, but SET YOUR EXPECTATIONS LOW!!!!

Room Tip: Doesn't matter if you're high up or not; you'll hear street sounds all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pennsylvania New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pennsylvania New York

Address: 401 Seventh Avenue at 33rd Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #382 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Pennsylvania New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1705
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great location doesn't have to be out of reach. New York's Hotel Pennsylvania is in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, and our surprisingly affordable rates leave more money in your pocket to enjoy the city.Each day our guests hit the streets and arrive at fabulous New York City locales within minutes. Marvel at the Empire State Building, savor exciting Times Square and take in a Broadway show or, hop on the subway right by the hotel and head to one of NYC's diverse and exciting neighborhoods. Just steps away from Midtown's most popular attractions, and offering countless easy transportation options, New York's Hotel Pennsylvania puts you in the middle of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pennsylvania New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pennsylvania New York
Pennsylvania Hotel Nyc
Hotel Pennsylvania Nyc
Hotel Pennsylvania New York City
Hotel New Pennsylvania York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pennsylvania New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.