We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never ever even think of this Hotel...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pennsylvania New York to your Saves list
Hotel Pennsylvania New York
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Seventh Avenue at 33rd Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rate Guarantee!
Ranked #389 of 464 Hotels in New York City
New Delhi, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Never ever even think of this Hotel...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Hotel is due for demolition.....the rooms are from the 17th century, staff is pathetic, the hotel use to be one of the landmark in NY in early ages, but it has not changed along with ages.....never ever think of this hotel, even though their were crisis in US and i was stuck up because of Sandy Hurricane and my other hotel had no rooms to extend my stay since many citizens also moved from their flooded houses to hotels, this hotel shows no courtesy at al to any guest......

Room Tip: Only a tip, never go with what they show on internet never think of even to stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    1,665
    3,065
    1,577
    2,575
See reviews for
1,807
2,566
628
725
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (920)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed here leading a party of 21 teenagers from the UK. Yes this hotel isn't 5 star but I think the fact that you are 2 blocks away from the Empire State and Times Square being just up the road makes up for some of the little niggles that you come across staying here. We had 9 rooms, on the 8th floor which gave me more opportunity than most to survey the accommodation. Being the leader of the trip I also quickly got to hear and have to solve any issues. All 9 rooms positioned in different parts of the floor, had been newly painted. The beds were a decent size, especially the doubles. Bathrooms were rather basic although clean except for one mirror which I think the decorators had forgot to wipe down. The main issues for the group were the roll away beds. The mattress was thin and you can easy feel the springs. The bed frame actually made the mattress feel even more painful so in the end one of our students slept on the floor on two mattress' piled on top of each other. The wifi isn't free however just pop next door to Macy's or Starbucks and you can get that anyway. A number of rooms didn't have a big light, instead two small bedside lamps were the only illumination which could be a hassle depending on the room. The rooms sizes varied dramatically to a suite with two rooms however one room was unfurnished, to small twin rooms. Most were two double beds with ample space for 3 to 4 teenagers. No safes in the rooms but you could hire safe deposit boxes from reception. Downstairs there is a very big foyer and reception. Considering some of our students kept losing their key cards, the staff were very patient and courteous to our party. Another nice touch is the little cafe/shop serving good coffee, muffins and pastries. There are souvenir and food shops connected to the hotel too. Be warned this hotel had numerous school parties from the UK. So if you are staying in NYC during school holidays you may find yourself surrounded, however all students from every party were well behaved. School parties also have a dedicated floor so not to disturb other guests. I would stay here again whether in a school party or not.

Room Tip: Remember the 8th floor is full of high school students.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

A few things...
Internet is not free so tack on another $7 a day if you want it.
Dirty.
Black mold on the stopper in the bathtub.
I was actually able to get on the roof. The doors were unlocked. Although this was cool - so very unsafe.
Security takes a long time to help you if you need it.
Our keys stopped working halfway through for no apparent reason and took half a day to fix.
The subway system is so good in the city that choosing a hotel farther away from downtown would have been no big deal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Thought I'd found a great deal when I came across this hotel - there was an offer for a room upgrade + free wifi when booking via a certain website. The hotel marketed itself as one of NYC's best (of course), but I was absolutely shocked by what I saw. Staff at the reception counter barely spoke English and were rather abrupt. They also had no awareness of the online upgrade offer I quoted - luckily I had email proof of the upgrade.

The upgraded room had what appeared to be bleach stains all across the carpeting; the walls were scuffed; the furniture was mismatched; the corridors could not have been shabbier; the carpet had completely frayed away in places. I have stayed at many budget hotels in the US and across Europe, and never seen anything quite so pathetic. I called the front desk wondering if a mistake had been made (since this was supposed to be an upgraded room!!!) and received an apology and an offer for a new room, which was also in poor condition (sans carpet stains, thankfully). Oh, and half the mattress was completely sagging... the bed groaned every time I sat on it (and I am a size 6!).

The location is brilliant but the property is in DIRE need of a total refurbishment. If all you care about is location, or just need a place for 1 night, this hotel would be appropriate, but absolutely not worth it otherwise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

It's not 5 star luxury but its not 2star rubbish either. The room was clean, well presented and the bed very comfortable, all you need in NYC. The location is unbeatable, times square is on the same road you can see it as soon as you step outside the hotel. We thought we would get the subway everywhere but from this hotel almost everything is walkable ! Only bad point is staff are rude, but that's normal in NYC.

Room Tip: ask for a room on high floor, they are renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time staying at hotel Pennsylvania. The location was amazing, 7min walk to Empire State Building and 10min walk to time square. Surrounded by restaurants you don't need to wander far if you don't want to.
Rooms basic but if you're in NYC I'm guessing you don't plan to be in the room a lot! Clean and comfortable
Lobby is always crazy busy but has a really nice buzz to it. There is a 24 hour cafe type shop where you can buy tea/coffee pastries, snacks etc which was great for a tea addict like me when there's no kettle in the room. And a diner type style bar/restaurant downstairs which is more expensive than some eateries close by but food was great.
Staff friendly and all you could need for a site seeing holiday

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

i stayed at this hotel for an educational trip, not paying a lot of money i didnt really expect much from it. It was a great location and is perfect if you just want a base or somewhere to stay. The rooms are not overly big but they arent in cities. the rooms were clean but they could do with some updating and so could the hallways. friendly staff
i would go again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pennsylvania New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pennsylvania New York

Address: 401 Seventh Avenue at 33rd Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #389 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Pennsylvania New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1705
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great location doesn't have to be out of reach. New York's Hotel Pennsylvania is in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, and our surprisingly affordable rates leave more money in your pocket to enjoy the city.Each day our guests hit the streets and arrive at fabulous New York City locales within minutes. Marvel at the Empire State Building, savor exciting Times Square and take in a Broadway show or, hop on the subway right by the hotel and head to one of NYC's diverse and exciting neighborhoods. Just steps away from Midtown's most popular attractions, and offering countless easy transportation options, New York's Hotel Pennsylvania puts you in the middle of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Amex, getaroom.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Pennsylvania New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pennsylvania New York
Pennsylvania Hotel Nyc
Hotel Pennsylvania Nyc
Hotel Pennsylvania New York City
Hotel New Pennsylvania York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pennsylvania New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.