We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best time out of four years straight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pennsylvania New York to your Saves list
Hotel Pennsylvania New York
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Seventh Avenue at 33rd Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rate Guarantee!
Ranked #391 of 464 Hotels in New York City
ZEPHYRHILLS
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best time out of four years straight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

What an amazing hotel. Hotel Penn is filled with history and time spent in NYC. Granted, the decor on most of the floors is outdated, but it's expected with a hotel this old. The lobby is grand, but don't let that fool you for the floors above. But all in all, this Hotel offers a lot more than just a pretty room. Beds are comfy and what else do you want in NYC than to have a place to sleep??

We've stayed here for the past 4 years and for some reason, the rooms just keep getting better each year. This year's stay was quite lovely.

You can't beat the location. The main subway is right across the street. Macy's is right around the corner. The Empire State building is a very short walk. And Time Square is just a few short blocks away. Along the way, there are some GREAT Irish Pubs :)

The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. They even joked with us and made us feel very comfortable.

When you reserve, spend the paltry extra dollars and get the Penn 5000 club access. Free breakfast and lounge privlidges. Oh and also... try and book your room in advance. They're always running GREAT deals!

Room Tip: Get on the higher floors, if possible. And ones that face AWAY from 7th Ave. What they say about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    1,695
    3,121
    1,604
    2,613
See reviews for
1,843
2,617
645
747
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (945)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Trip to NYC and college booked this hotel.

Don't be fooled by the lavish reception area, because soon as you enter the lifts and get onto the other floors, you are suddenly sent back to the 60's.

Bedroom are falling apart, wires hanging out everywhere - including bathroom.

Would not stay here normally, and would not recommend it.

However, great location!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Location, location, location. Across from Madison Square Garden, around the corner from Macy's, and 8 blocks to Time Square. We booked through Orbitz and got a good deal for 2 nights. Actually got a junior suite thinking because of the late check-in so good for us. Don't pay for breakfast with your room. Bagels, pastries, coffee, watered down OJ, and maybe an apple or two. Don't think the room was used much. Very clean such as new bath tile, no stains on carpet. Not impressed with the flat chicklet pillow so asked for more pillows for the second night. Bathroom not upgraded with comfort height toilet or higher sink but doable. Door of bathroom did not shut and needed to be planed. Hot water plentiful. Very old hotel but for the price, it was truly good enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I'm at the hotel now, on day 4 of a 6 night stay. Because it's late January, the rate I got was RIDICULOUSLY low -- well under a hundred dollars per night, which is pretty amazing for New York.

If I had paid a lot of money for the room, I'd have a list of small complaints. But I think the negative reviews on here are greatly exaggerated. I'm sure some floors and rooms are better than others, but I've had a very positive experience here and would definitely stay again if I got a great rate like this. Here are all the positives:

*Perfect location -- it cannot get any more convenient.

*Decent size room -- definitely larger than others I've had in NYC.

*Clean -- yes, you read that right, clean, particularly the bathroom.

*Quiet -- no trouble with noise on my hall or with neighbors.

*Gym -- surprisingly decent, free gym.

*Service -- unlike many people, we had absolutely no line at checkin, and we arrived right at 3pm. People have all been pleasant, friendly and helpful.

*Window opens partially so you can get fresh air.

*12 elevators, all of which are new/modern work well -- never had to wait long.

The negatives are basically because this is an old hotel. If you've ever lived in a big city -- NY, DC, Chicago, San Francisco -- the rooms in this hotel will probably remind you of your first rental apartment. In other words, they've been painted over numerous times, the trim and moldings aren't crisp and fresh, the furniture and decor are dated, the hardware on doors is old.

Probably the worst part of the hotel is actually the hallways -- they're the most worn out aspect of the place, and many of the hotel room doors have chipped paint.

WHO CARES????

Nothing about these aesthetic issues makes the hotel unclean, unsafe or uncomfortable. They do, however, make it one of the best deals you can possibly get in NY.

If you're looking for something modern and pristine, don't stay here. If you're looking for a convenient, clean, safe hotel in a perfect location, and you get a really good rate, I'd highly recommend the Hotel Pennsylvania. I'll be back (if I can get a great rate like I did this time).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific palisades, ca
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I travel to NY frequently and like nice hotels. Unfortunately, on a busy week in NYC, my assistant couldn't find a hotel that was under $1000/night, but did find a room at Hotel Pennsylvania. I liked the location by Madison Sq Garden and arrived there late.

I was in a long line of bus drivers to check in. I finally got in, got assigned a room and headed up. Really run down, old place. Got to my door, grabbed door knob and it was sticky and covered in something. I got in the room and the carpet was stained, cigarette burned, and remarkably nasty. The mirror in the bathroom was attached to the wall with duct tape - seriously. I stayed in my socks and tried to sleep, and kept having (I hope) nightmares of stuff crawling on me. Could not get out of there fast enough. Never stay here. If you there are no options, I will stay in New Jersey or out by LaGuardia next time if this is the only option. You've been warned.

Room Tip: No such thing from what I observed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here twice it is very basic but returned as the location is excellent. Right next door to Macy's! Cleanliness is not at the forefront nor is customer service. One day we did not have hot water. Another day I found water flowing out a room door and could hear taps on. I phoned reception and I walked past 2 hours later and no one had even come to see it! Another time people were evacuated due to an electrical fire on the corridor. Bit of a faulty towers going on!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Worst hotel i have ever stayed in when we arrived they gave me a room with a ceiling on the floor with no bed in when i went down to complain they said sorry and gave me another room when i got my next room there was someone already in it the third room was leaking from above onto the beds and when i went down again they said that was all they had customer service is the worst i have seen consigere is a total disrespectful man when i went to complain they said whatever it gives you a wrong idea of what new york should be for me i could say a lot more but suffice to say do not stop in this hotel i have pictures of disgusting hygiene that would turn your soul needless to say i will never be stopping in this hole ever again and if were you you would not either

Room Tip: do not go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Pennsylvania New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pennsylvania New York

Address: 401 Seventh Avenue at 33rd Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #391 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Pennsylvania New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1705
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great location doesn't have to be out of reach. New York's Hotel Pennsylvania is in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, and our surprisingly affordable rates leave more money in your pocket to enjoy the city.Each day our guests hit the streets and arrive at fabulous New York City locales within minutes. Marvel at the Empire State Building, savor exciting Times Square and take in a Broadway show or, hop on the subway right by the hotel and head to one of NYC's diverse and exciting neighborhoods. Just steps away from Midtown's most popular attractions, and offering countless easy transportation options, New York's Hotel Pennsylvania puts you in the middle of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel, Amex, getaroom.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Pennsylvania New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pennsylvania New York
Pennsylvania Hotel Nyc
Hotel Pennsylvania Nyc
Hotel Pennsylvania New York City
Hotel New Pennsylvania York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pennsylvania New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.