We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel in great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Pennsylvania New York to your Saves list
Hotel Pennsylvania New York
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Seventh Avenue at 33rd Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $1
Ranked #377 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tired hotel in great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is its location being opposite Maddison Square Gardens and along the road from Time Sqaure. The underground is directly opposite the hotel and the Empire Sate Building and Maceys within walkinfg distance. Haviing said that the hotel is dowdy and in urgent need of refurbishment. The staff were off hand and teh food overprioced and of average quality. If you can put up with these deficits because of the superb location then this hotel could be for you - perversely we woud stay ther again and eat out at the local restaurants whcih are pretty good.

Room Tip: Eat out. Take advantage of the local attractions
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    1,377
    2,510
    1,317
    2,260
See reviews for
1,476
2,116
534
624
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John SJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Pics on Pennsylvania Hotel website have NOTHING to do with the hotel except the lobby and conference part on 18th floor where washrooms were lovely and the meeting rooms were worn but functional.

I was there for a workshop. Sounds like we had about the "best"of the rooms. Window broken so it is open in November. No hot water. Didn't want to put my feet on ground unless I had my shoes on. Bed were clean. TV worked. Bathroom was disgusting. Made my dive of an apt in university look good. Our room was only cleaned once in four days/three nights.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else or only pee on the 18th floor in the public washrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria ,va
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

In front of it is Penn.Sta (MTA Subway stop) and Madison Sq. Garden. North a few blocks is Times Sq. Behind it is the "PATH" NJ subway stop. To get a dingy room with a shared bath around here is at least 175.00 . The Penn hotel with a tolerable (only slightly dirty carpet) room and a clean private bath was 180.00 a night. The subway is still 2.25 to go anywhere.

Room Tip: I got on "Priceline" it was the best rate I could get. Better than the hotel website.Pay i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in November 2012 - last time I was here was 11 years previous in 2001 and the wealth of bad reviews recently made me apprehensive about staying here again.

But I need not have worried. This hotel IS old and a bit shabby but my room was **ultra-clean**, all bedding and towels ultra-clean and the bathroom also.

YES there might have been a hairline crack on the bathroom sink, YES the paintwork in the room was shoddy, YES the TV was ancient, YES the carpet a bit worn - but does this make for a dreadful stay in NYC? NO!!!!!!

Location is SECOND TO NONE - straight opposite PENN STATION. No walking around hauling bags when you get off the train or bus from the airport or from the subway during your stay.

Next door (practically) is MACY's. Starbucks, Pret-A-Manger, Whole Foods, etc. etc. ALL ON YOUR DOORSTEP!!! Times Square a few minutes walk up the street. Subway right outside takes you ANYWHERE instantly.

I found the front-desk staff perfectly helpful and polite. I made use of the free safe deposit box every day to store my laptop and ALWAYS got friendly and polite staff. Even chatty some days.

The cleaning staff always had a "good morning" for me when I passed them in the corridor!

Free fast WiFi in my room (wasn't expecting that) and even though I was on the 16th floor I *never* had to wait for an elevator - they have tons of them, all new and clean and FAST.

Slept like a baby every night (when I arrived I said I'd like a quiet room and the receptionist said 'no problem'). TV is ancient but perfectly adequate with about 20 or so channels. Bed was super-comfortable and my superior double room was not cramped at all. Bathroom old but clean. Shower had great water pressure and instantly hot every morning.

So if you are expecting the Ritz but you've paid less than almost any other hotel rate (for en-suite room) in the city, then yes you will be disappointed.

On the other hand if you are expecting a clean, comfortable room in an AMAZING location for a price around HALF the typical NYC hotel price then you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: I was on the 16th Floor - everything perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

No option for early check-in ,for late check-out (3 hours) they charg 94 $ ,to store 4 small bages they charge me 16 $ ,30 minuts wait in row during Check-in .small and old rooms it cost me around 660 $ for two nights, i will never retrun.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Hotel Pennsylvania is in a great area, looks great outside and in the lobby, but upstairs the hotel is due for a serious makeover.
Rooms are decent size but showers will problematic. Water temperature variances were annoying. Front desk was helpful but not enough to make up for the other issues.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I'll start with the good. The staff at the front desk are nice and helpful. Also conveniently located near time square, empire state building and across the street from penn staition.

The cons are rooms are so dated, old and extremely dirty. I don't think they vacuumed it since the hotel first opened. The room is also pretty dark due to the lack of lighting probably to keep from showing how dirty it is.

The heater was louder than a car engine I couldn't sleep the first night. I called front desk in the morning and they sent someone up right away. The guy changed the filter, he also found that the window couldn't close properly so he just pulled down the shade. After changing the filter the heater was still as loud and said thats the best he could do.

If you don't feel like sleeping at night this hotel would work for you. I would not recommend or stay at this hotel again. I would rather pay a little bit more for another hotel and get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pennsylvania New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pennsylvania New York

Address: 401 Seventh Avenue at 33rd Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #377 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Pennsylvania New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1705
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great location doesn't have to be out of reach. New York's Hotel Pennsylvania is in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, and our surprisingly affordable rates leave more money in your pocket to enjoy the city.Each day our guests hit the streets and arrive at fabulous New York City locales within minutes. Marvel at the Empire State Building, savor exciting Times Square and take in a Broadway show or, hop on the subway right by the hotel and head to one of NYC's diverse and exciting neighborhoods. Just steps away from Midtown's most popular attractions, and offering countless easy transportation options, New York's Hotel Pennsylvania puts you in the middle of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Venere, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pennsylvania New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pennsylvania New York
Pennsylvania Hotel Nyc
Hotel Pennsylvania Nyc
Hotel Pennsylvania New York City
Hotel New Pennsylvania York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pennsylvania New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.