We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but mediocre rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pennsylvania New York to your Saves list
Hotel Pennsylvania New York
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Seventh Avenue at 33rd Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% Off!
Ranked #383 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location, but mediocre rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Hotel Pennsylvania is in a great area, looks great outside and in the lobby, but upstairs the hotel is due for a serious makeover.
Rooms are decent size but showers will problematic. Water temperature variances were annoying. Front desk was helpful but not enough to make up for the other issues.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    1,539
    2,836
    1,459
    2,435
See reviews for
1,669
2,372
587
673
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (849)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I'll start with the good. The staff at the front desk are nice and helpful. Also conveniently located near time square, empire state building and across the street from penn staition.

The cons are rooms are so dated, old and extremely dirty. I don't think they vacuumed it since the hotel first opened. The room is also pretty dark due to the lack of lighting probably to keep from showing how dirty it is.

The heater was louder than a car engine I couldn't sleep the first night. I called front desk in the morning and they sent someone up right away. The guy changed the filter, he also found that the window couldn't close properly so he just pulled down the shade. After changing the filter the heater was still as loud and said thats the best he could do.

If you don't feel like sleeping at night this hotel would work for you. I would not recommend or stay at this hotel again. I would rather pay a little bit more for another hotel and get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This Hotel is not really that bad as some people make out, after all it was built in 1919 and the rooms could do with a bit of renovating. Anyway you don't go to New York to stay in your room!!. The sheets and towels were very clean and that is the main thing. The room and bathroom were clean and shower good. Location exellent. If you want a perfect hotel then you pay the price it's as simple as that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed at the Penn for two nights last week with some friends. Booked a few weeks ago and were pleasantly surprised by the rates. When we got there, we found what was, in its day, a fabulous hotel but one which, it has to be said, has suffered from a lack of tlc in recent years. Many of your most outspoken critics have commented on the seediness and the 'carewornness' of the place - not evident when you check in or step into the lifts/elevators, but certainly so once you arrive on your chosen floor. We were on the 9th, and once we arrived in the room we were somewhat alarmed by the state of the bathroom and the room itself, which hadn't been visited by a caretaker or maintenance chap for some considerable time. What was evident, though, was that the housekeeping staff were 'on the case' as the bedroom, bathroom, linen etc were superbly presented. Many of the contributors have been extremely harsh in their criticism of the place, which I believe is pretty unjust. What many haven't mentioned is that the location, in the heart of 7th Avenue, opposite Madison Square Garden and Penn Station, is absolutely first class, possibly the best spot in NYC, so for the price you pay, fab!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Pro:
the location.

Con:
- we booked at non smoking room, but the room still smelled old smoke.
- the bedspread had old stains on it so we asked to change room (wich we did).
-Thin walls, we were awakened by the neighbors.


Comment: we are happy that we only spent one night at this hotel. It was old and run down. We will try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is very charming but it needs to be renovated. The location is excellent. I stayed on the 3rd floor and the corridors, specially carpets and walls, looked terrible. However, the walls were being painted the day I left, which is a good sign. The room looked dated but it was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was also a bit worn out but it was always clean with nice towels and a good shower. I didn't have a very good impression when I arrived but liked the place after a good night sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The only thing that made this motel good was its amazing location. Due to damage from Super storm Sandy at our pre booked accomodation we had to find last minute replacement. Looked ok on internet and was about the only thing available. Lobby looked ok and location was amazing. Across from Penn Station and Madison Square Gardens, 2 blocks from Empire State Building and an easy walk to Times Sqare and even Central Park. Many, many cools shops and places to eat all around.

Now the rooms. Got out of the elevator on level 4 and thought we had traveled back in time to the 1930s but a dirty version. When we found our room that was not easy as motel was so huge and found these funny looking doors that looked from another time. Once in the room it was quite large but that was the best feature. We were too scared to put anything on the floor as the carpet was sure to have things living in it. Strange brown color but I am not sure that was its original color. The bathroom was a bathroom by name. The water was running from the totally rusty shower head constantly and the whole room was damp and moldy. I was going to run a bath for my 10 year old one night but the water looked like it would make him dirtier so let it out again. We had a strange little room off our main room that looked like it may have been a safe or a prison cell once? It was handy to put our suit cases in though. The TV was the first colour TV ever made and we had no internet in the room to use. The heater was a moster and too noisy to run so we left it off.

We had 4 nights here finishing on election night. We thought about leaving after the first night but due to the great location and trouble with finding anything else we stayed. It was a sort of test of our will to see if we could make it through. If only they would fix it up it would be an amazing place to stay.

Room Tip: I dont know if you can choose a good room. Be prepared for a fright and enjoy the location if you da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pennsylvania New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pennsylvania New York

Address: 401 Seventh Avenue at 33rd Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #383 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Pennsylvania New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1705
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great location doesn't have to be out of reach. New York's Hotel Pennsylvania is in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, and our surprisingly affordable rates leave more money in your pocket to enjoy the city.Each day our guests hit the streets and arrive at fabulous New York City locales within minutes. Marvel at the Empire State Building, savor exciting Times Square and take in a Broadway show or, hop on the subway right by the hotel and head to one of NYC's diverse and exciting neighborhoods. Just steps away from Midtown's most popular attractions, and offering countless easy transportation options, New York's Hotel Pennsylvania puts you in the middle of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Groupon, Amex, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pennsylvania New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pennsylvania New York
Pennsylvania Hotel Nyc
Hotel Pennsylvania Nyc
Hotel Pennsylvania New York City
Hotel New Pennsylvania York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pennsylvania New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.