We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One dot is one dot to many!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania New York

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pennsylvania New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Pennsylvania New York
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Seventh Avenue at 33rd Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $1
Ranked #379 of 452 hotels in New York City
Riverton, Utah, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One dot is one dot to many!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

There's "value" and then there's just plain Thievery! The only positive comments on this hotel, say the hotel is in a great location. Quite honestly, the dirt this hotel sits on is a great location...the hotel itself plummets property value. This place should be condemned and imploded ASAP!

When the taxi cab driver laughs at you because you're staying at Hotel Pennsylvania that should be your first clue this is going to be an adventure. Check in was fast, non-eventul. I was amazed we were not "welcomed" to the hotel but I am sure the receptions staff looks at each guest as the next pissed off guest and I can only imagine the numerous trips people take back to the reception to ask if this is some kind of joke!

So let the adventure start......you walk to the elevator, where a security person sits with a sign stating you must show your room key to proceed. I have been in and out of the hotel no less than 12 times and they could give a crap who's going anywhere. Who cares anyway because once you get to your room, you have a fantastic steel door half rusted off the hinges which was "built on this very location in 1919" as the sign states as you slide your card key in to open. I was wonder if the key card was necessary, if I should just give it a little push to open it. The 1970 appointments in the room are rather lavish. Can you ever really get enough of that gold, green and rust color? The carpets are amazing. Listen, they have not been vacuumed or cleaned since 1970 - so I am hoping they went with brown carpets (otherwise, look out).

The bathroom is really nice. It appears the interior decorator found some rusty steal at the bottom of the ocean and said, "Wow this would make a great door jam for the bathrooms at the hotel". The vanity light looks like someone purchased it from a salvage yard for $0.50. When you flush the toilet, it sounds like a turd rocket has fired its engines to propel this building to outer space. OH WAIT.....the water pressure was fantastic....I mean it's like a fire hydrant, which I love. Tons and tons of water pressure. Loved it. The really bad news, within two minutes, the water was cresting the top of the tub, almost knee level. Great if I was taking a bath and had plugged the tub. What's worse...GREEN WATER standing in the clogged tub with my feet soaking in it.

A quick three calls and half hour wait to the front desk, finally got someone up to fix this pond water in the tub....I quickly found out who the ONLY workers are in this hotel (the scam artist are the people taking the reservations and the robbers are the reception staff taking your money)...it's the engineers. This dude showed up at the door with a hanger and some pliers. After 1-2 minutes, he came out and said, I be back in a few minutes. He came back with a manual plumbing snake and an electric snake. He grinded that thing for over 20 minutes and no water budged. I finally had to leave and he smiled and said, "no worries, by the time you get back it will drain perfectly". I cant imagine having a commercial grade electric snake working for 20 minutes and not have the clog cleared. I did ask him about the the green water and he said, sometime you have to let the water run for a while for it to clear. Great thought, had i done that, 10th floor and below would have been a little leaky.

The air didn't work, option was to open the window. TV didn't work....you turn it on.....it just doesn't come on.....you forget about it and about 20 minutes later it's blaring loud and scares the crap out of you. Called the front desk again and after a different engineer gave the TV a good beating...it worked again.

For my business travels, I like to say that I only really care about safety and cleanliness. This one is neither!

If you stay here after reading the reviews, YOU'RE A COMPLETE IDIOT, or homeless. If you're like me and reading the reviews from your room, enjoy and get a good laugh because you booked it too!!!!!

Any suggestions on the best techniques for a delousing?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,461 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    316
    1,304
    2,389
    1,256
    2,196
See reviews for
1405
2006
504
607
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (702)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is the most disgraceful hotel I have ever stayed in. My room featured a 30 inch tube TV set on an 18" high table. The walls had empty picture hooks and cracked and pealing paint. The carpet was stained and the room had a distinct odor. The tub was worn down to the iron base and rusting. About 50% of the grout in the tub was missing and there was black mold on the walls and around the base. The toilet was tiny and tucked into a corner, blocked by the paper holder such that a child could not sit properly. The hallways had missing plaster in dozens of places with chips on the floors. The entrances to every room looked like someone had chiseled the paint off. Rust on the locks and door frames.

Met a lady in the foyer on our floor who was freaking out because she was itching everywhere and said she saw bugs in her bed. I left a towel on the floor after using it only to find that housekeeping took the wet towel, folded it and put it back on the towel rack.

I felt better sleeping in my son's frat house!

Room Tip: This hotel is the ultimate bait and switch. The lobby and the conference area on the 18th floor are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Funny old hotel. The lobby is as crowded as a shopping mall. This is accommodation factory. Big basic rooms, but everything seems very old. Superb location.
A little disappointing that there is no wi-fi, but Starbucks is right across the street.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

It felt creepy. Air didn't work. Needed to switch rooms because the one I first checked into had an unmaid bed AND used towels. Spring for the few extra bucks and stay someplace better. Good location -- but that is the only good thing about this hotel. My 93 year old grandmother stayed here on her wedding night and I don't think they EVER updated!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Arrived in New York hoping for the Pennsylvania hotel to be atleast basic .The lobby was quite nice but once we got out of the elevator on level 3 the hallway have dirty carpets and horrible smells. The doors to our room looked horrible like submarine doors, we stayed at room 359 and once we opened the door we looked around and it was something that you would think twice about putting the dog in.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is supposed to be a historic hotel. It probably is, but they forgot historic hotels can be renovated. The rooms are big. They could easily fit 5 by NYC standards. Our room windows allowed some cold wind through and the heater would not heat. The doors are an attraction on themselves: they tried to fit "modern" card-based locks but the old doors have strange shapes and they do not fit well together, making it difficult to open or close the doors.

The hotel is well located, just across the street from NY Penn Station, which is convenient for public transportation, shopping (Macy's) and some dining (specially Koreatown, a couple of blocks away).

One thing that we noticed is that there seems to be a constant line for the reception desk. So expect some waiting while arriving.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirao Preto, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I went there a few months ago and I have to say, the location is just amazing. There's a subway station in front of the Hotel, a lot of cool stores near by too. The room is horrible, but at least the bed it comfortable. Also, we were treated like trash. =) And yes, I'd come back there, anyway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pennsylvania New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pennsylvania New York

Address: 401 Seventh Avenue at 33rd Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #379 of 452 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Pennsylvania New York 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great location doesn't have to be out of reach. New York's Hotel Pennsylvania is in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, and our surprisingly affordable rates leave more money in your pocket to enjoy the city.Each day our guests hit the streets and arrive at fabulous New York City locales within minutes. Marvel at the Empire State Building, savor exciting Times Square and take in a Broadway show or, hop on the subway right by the hotel and head to one of NYC's diverse and exciting neighborhoods. Just steps away from Midtown's most popular attractions, and offering countless easy transportation options, New York's Hotel Pennsylvania puts you in the middle of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Amex, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Reservation Counter, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hotel Pennsylvania New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pennsylvania New York
Pennsylvania Hotel Nyc
Hotel Pennsylvania Nyc
Hotel Pennsylvania New York City
Hotel New Pennsylvania York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pennsylvania New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.