We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedbugs, rude management” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pennsylvania New York to your Saves list
Hotel Pennsylvania New York
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Seventh Avenue at 33rd Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #384 of 459 Hotels in New York City
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bedbugs, rude management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011 via mobile

stayed in december2011 room 1570. All was fine, had three bedroom three bathroom suite. At 130am we found bedbugs crawling across two of the beds. Took pics, called manager. Manager came up said he didnt see anything but moved our room anyhow. Had to sleep on roll out cart in a dinky room th at had not beed cleaned, as there was hair in sink and cheerios on floor. It was disgusting. The whole experience was terrible and even though we were downgraded due to bedbugs they refused to give any money back until the exterminator came and would only reimberse us if the bugs were in fact bedbugs. Wouldnt matter if they were ants, fleas or mites, no money back. Ive been coming to new york for years and never had such a crappy experience. DO NOT STAY HERE. Location is great but its not worth it

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    1,497
    2,755
    1,420
    2,384
See reviews for
1,612
2,308
568
665
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (814)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011 via mobile

So we came here on a school trip with 25 high school kids. The first night one of the rooms had be bugs and they had to change rooms at 3 in the morning. A day later they tested the room and it came back positive for bugs. That same next day a girl in our group in the next room had bites and rashes all over her. They were already in a tiny room. They then got moved into a room that couldn't even fit 2 suitcases. We only had 1 towel and we called down. We didn't get them. After calling 5 times and 3 hours later we got towels. This is honestly the grossest hotel. DO NOT COME HERE!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011 via mobile

Adequate clean no frills, but I would stay again. Make sure to check out well before 12 as they will bill another night if a minute over. 4 dollar charge to hold luggage on arrival before 3pm and that's per bag. Great location just great. Staff were nice I thought.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

My friend and I stayed here on a shopping Trip and booked before reading these reviews. All I can say is that I am not fussy in the least and wasn't planning on spendnig time in the room (hence us going there for shopping) but what I can say is, pay an extra $50.00 and stay elsewhere.

We stayed on the 3rd floor in room 313 - It's haunted and I don't believe in ghosts.
The ceiling was hanging off with paint and plaster
The Light switches plug sockets are not safe for any human
Carpets and bedding smell of mould
Bed bugs on my friends bed
The bathroom is beyond vile - rust/dirt/stench
Noisy from every angle
Zero sleep in 3 days and lived on redbull
Try to move rooms and that failed
Tried to move hotel and that failed

I REPEAT DO NOT STAY - WORSE THAN ANYTHING I'VE EVER STAYED IN!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

When you enter the hotel, the lobby is new and nicely decorated. This is very deceiving, as the room are not. We stayed on the 7th floor and the rooms look NOTHING like the pictures portrayed on the website. I am sure these rooms do exist somewhere in the hotel. So unless you know the nice floors, beware.

From the minute we exited the elevator I knew it was bad. It was dark and grimy. The carpets and room doors were filthy. The room was also difficult to find. There were no labels of what halls contained which rooms and it was like a maze. When I first entered the room, I was a little grossed out and almost wanted to leave. It just looked run down. The bed was sagging, the furniture was broken, and there was mold and rust throughout the room. The window was wide open and it was freezing in the room. We also couldn't get the heater controls open to even adjust the heat. Everything, including that, had layers of thick paint just slopped on it. We ended up staying since it was only one night, but I would never stay there again. In the morning, I was going to take a shower, but there were many hairs in the tub. So it was obvious it wasn't cleaned.

The only positive I can give this hotel is the location. Right near Penn Station, and the heart of Midtown.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

If it's your first time in New York, I advise you to look for a hotel near the Times Square, where everything happens. This was the main reason why we've chosen Pennsylvania. The hotel is located in front of (literaly!) Penn Station, on the 7th Av. and 10 minutes walking distance from some of the main spots.

Regarding the hotel service, if you are looking for a pleasant place, with a nice service and a neat and comfortable room... forget Pennsylvania!

We've paid a little more for a room "Penn 5000", with breakfast included, thinking that we would have a bigger room but I can tell you that the only thing big in there was the furniture! Furthermore, the breakfast room was a standard room size for, what it seemed to me, a all floor, with only 4 tables...

Hotels are expensive in New York, but I can guarantee you that this is not a "great value" for its service, only for its location!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshalltown, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I stayed here in Feb of 2011. I had read all the reviews ahead of time and was a bit freaked out. When I got there after a 6 hour plane ride and a motion sick Taxi ride from the airport I was in a bad mood and felt like crap. But I walked in with my bags and did have to wait in line for a while to get my key. I went up to my floor and was a bit freaked out. The hall ways are scary and you think a ghostly little girl will pop out at anytime. I got to my room and it did smell like smoke but I was ok with that seeing as I am a smoker. I checked the sheets and bed for bed bugs and stains and I found none. The bathroom was so so. It was clean but really outdated. The shower had good temp and pressure. The sheets where changed daily and the room cleaned. I had no issue with staying here. I am 26 and have been around the world It was just as good as some of the hostiles I stayed at in downtown paris. I would recomend if you do not mind non flashy things and needed a place to stay that is close,cheap and you wont spend a ton of time in. Nothing wrong with this hotel other then what I said. Yes It does need some help but it is going to be demolished soon sadly :(

Room Tip: Make sure to understand the deposit refunds. You can wait over a month to get the money back and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pennsylvania New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pennsylvania New York

Address: 401 Seventh Avenue at 33rd Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #384 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Pennsylvania New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1705
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great location doesn't have to be out of reach. New York's Hotel Pennsylvania is in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, and our surprisingly affordable rates leave more money in your pocket to enjoy the city.Each day our guests hit the streets and arrive at fabulous New York City locales within minutes. Marvel at the Empire State Building, savor exciting Times Square and take in a Broadway show or, hop on the subway right by the hotel and head to one of NYC's diverse and exciting neighborhoods. Just steps away from Midtown's most popular attractions, and offering countless easy transportation options, New York's Hotel Pennsylvania puts you in the middle of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pennsylvania New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pennsylvania New York
Pennsylvania Hotel Nyc
Hotel Pennsylvania Nyc
Hotel Pennsylvania New York City
Hotel New Pennsylvania York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pennsylvania New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.