We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious "real" thai food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pure Thai Cookhouse

Pure Thai Cookhouse
766 Ninth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
212 581 0999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“delicious "real" thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We chose this restaurant based on a love of different thai food and the recommendations on this site and it did not disappoint. Arriving at 6pm on a Saturday (2 of us), the place was already packed and we were told it would be a 30 minute wait. However in reality it was only about 15 before we were sitting at a table. We would have waited much longer because the food smelled so good, and the taste did not let us down. The Papaya salad was delicious (hint, get it spicy if you're into that) and the noodle selection was great. Highly recommend getting one of the Pure Thai noodle selections as the handmade noodles were some of the best we've had. A nice cold Singha to wash it down finishes it all off. The food was authentic and up there some of our favorite "real" Thai experiences. Will be coming back for sure!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    82
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We happened to come across this restaurant on a walk down ninth and were drawn in from the open cooking at the front and the delightfully cosy insides. The food was just divine, I recommend the pad thai! The staff were friendly and I have to say it was one of the best meals I had in the city. 5 stars!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Tasty Thai Treats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Tasty and inexpensive. A short lineup at this eatery- well worth the wait.

Service good and quick.

Food made to order, hot and delicious.

A must visit for any midtown visitors.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Small But Great Food and Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is a typical small restaurant in this area of Manhattan. Not many tables and they are close together. But so what? The food is excellent! We just got back from a trip to Thailand and we sampled many dishes at The Shophouse and loved all of them!! The Pad Thai was excellent! The wait staff is friendly and very pleasant and efficient. We got there when it opened at noon on a Sunday and it was filled within an hour. Great food! Great staff!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

So delicious!! Had 4 different items off the menu and all of them were unique delicious. I love spicy food and have a hard time finding dishes when I'm out that are actually spicy. Not the case here! Would definitely go again! Also- great service and great prices.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pure Thai Cookhouse also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Pure Thai Cookhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pure Thai Cookhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.