We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urban Oasis, a pearl!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Oasis

Save Saved
You added Urban Oasis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Urban Oasis
5 West 31st St, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 97 New York City B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Urban Oasis, a pearl!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This the best hostel I´ve ever been to. And I´m not exaggerating. And it was a surprise. I´ve been to New York before and stayed at a crappy hostel. New York is famous for their crappy, dirty hostels. But this was something different. It´s clean and it feels like home. The best thing is the staff! I hade some problems with a package and they help me fix it, they helped me do some calls. And they are very friendly and service minded!
If you´re going to New York, try to make a reservation here!

//Elin, Sweden

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
51
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is amazing!
We spent one week there and were absolutely excited about the Urban Oasis.
The location is just perfect, the Empire State Building (~5min by foot) is only three blocks away, the next metro stop is only one block away.
Room was basic, but what else than a bed do you need in NYC?! It was clean and the bed was comfortable. Only little minus whas that the window didn't close properly, so it was quite noisy sometimes and we had to turn on the heating because of the low temperatures outside.
There are two shared bathrooms per floor and we never had a situation where both of them were occupied.
The fully equipped kitchen can save you a lot of money if you choose to cook you dinner there and it also comes with free Tea and Coffee.

All that taken into account, it's incredibely good value for the money and i will definitely stay there again on my next trip to NYC!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The lofts are split into floors so only 5 room on each floor, so it's like renting an apartment.

We had the small room which was fine (having lived in a shoebox in London it was plenty big enough for me) but we hung out in the communal areas mostly.

They have a big flat screen tv with Netflix for your quiet evenings. Free wifi. Lots of guide sheets for the city and a cool atmosphere!

Everything is super modern and really clean! I would stay again in a heart beat!!!

If you do stay try keko's and Penelope's for breakfast both Divine!!! :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed here over the Fourth of July week and I did not want to leave! Very clean and very safe! It was like living in your own apartment with some cool new friends down the hall. Close to subway and shopping. From now on whenever I come to NYC I will be staying at this hostel!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Never having stayed at a hostel, my family was a bit nervous about Urban Oasis. I felt good about it from the time we booked because of the reviews, but even upon arrival, my family was even more nervous due to the street facade and elevator entrance. Otan.nce we got into our room, my wife and children felt much better about it. After spending five nights there, we were all very pleased with our choice. Urban Oasis is a great place in a great location—close to so much in Manhattan. The staff was very welcoming, and attentive to cleanliness in the common areas, kitchen and baths. We stayed in room three on floor seven, and having two bathrooms, we never once had to wait for a bathroom. The bathrooms are as clean as any hotel's I've ever stayed in, and the towels are large, soft and absorbent. The other guests we encountered were courteous and respectful. Noise was never an issue. There are food bins for each room, along with labeled containers within the frig. Do not hesitate to stay at Urban Oasis! You'll be glad you did.

Room Tip: Room 3 on floor 7 will easily accommodate a family of four, with two queen beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

There is not a bad thing i can say about Urban Oasis! The location is just perfect & the hostel is just like your own home, we would look forward to coming home after a big day out. Clean, cool, excellent staff, comfy beds, lots of helpful information & guides! Just perfect! :D

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ushuaia, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I didn't ever had any doubt about how great this place would be, and it still exceded my expectations. This is a place that should get a permanent 100% rating.
I have been here for 12days and it really felt like home. I had a spacious room, with aircondition and a lot of daylight. There is space to hang / put away your cloths and you have a reading lamp on each bedside. If you don´t want to be in your room, the common area is so beautifull. You can choose from sofas, chairs or beanbags. There is a laptop which you can use. Most guests respect the time of use and you don't usually have to wait (for long) to use it.

The kitchen is equiped very well. You have coffee and tee available and in the fridge you have some 'free food' which people have left and you can use.
Every room has it's own big tupper in the fridge, where you can store your belongings.

There's tourist information all over the place, and if you still have doubts, one of the receptionists will always be glad to help. The only minor downside to this place is that they don't have 24houre reception in case of any emergency, but this really isn't a big issue.

You have 3metro stations within 5minutes walking distance, so you really can't have a more convenient location. There are some restaurant / fast food places in the area and you have a drugstore 2 blocks away where you can do your grocery shopping.

Shared bathrooms where not an issue. Just don't plan your bathroom-time between 9.00 AM and 10.30 AM.

I want to thank ALL the staff of this place, because even if you have an amaizing building, if the staff doesn't treat you well, you won't go home satisfied.
I have been treated realy well, have had some great conversations with both receptionist, housholding staff and fellow travelers. Overall, Urban Oasis has contributed to an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Urban Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Oasis

Address: 5 West 31st St, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic NYC guest house in a private loft with private rooms and shared facilities. Located in the very center of Manhattan, this property is perfect for those seeking a real New York experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and T4B so you can book your Urban Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Oasis Hostel And Guest House
Urban Oasis Hostel & Guest House Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.