We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Oasis

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Urban Oasis
Save
You added Urban Oasis to your Saves list
5 West 31st St, New York City, NY 10001 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 95 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

A great Hostel in the heart of NYC. I recommend this place for couples and friends.. It occupies three floors (7th, 8th, and 9th). All floors have two toilets - bathrooms for around 5 rooms so there is not much traffic in the toilets. All areas are very clean and nice decorated and the rooms are quite big... There is free coffee and tea and big refrigerators for your food if any. The stuff was friendly and helpful. Overall, a very good and not very expensive place to stay in NYC.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    26
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
61
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The street entrance is by no means appealing but this hostel is a hidden gem! Rooms are spacious, facilities are squeaky clean. Location is perfect. A great vibe with funky interiors add to a real NYC experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Urban Oasis for a week and loved our stay. It was the cheapest we could find in Manhattan that would give us our own room, in a good location with a nice modern feel & it didn't disappoint. If this is what you are looking for - BOOK! We researched for months & were finally recommended this place. We had looked at it before but were scared away by TA forum posts, ignore them.

Facilities: The place is immaculate, always super clean and the facilities are provided with travellers in mind. Although we were on the go constantly and never got to use the kitchen or tv areas much.

Room: The bed was comfortable but the space was very tight. I would recommend booking ahead and getting a good deal for the deluxe room so you have an area to open your bags.

Info: they supply a huge amount of information on check in which was super helpful.

Breakfast: Speedys around the corner is cheap and fabulous food. You won't find better for quick and convenient.

Noise: The walls are thin but there is a 10pm be quiet curfew so everyone is quiet or out by then. We did get woken up a few mornings by the workers hanging on scaffolding outside our room yelling/swearing. That was like our alarm to get up and start the day. Luckily it was NY and we had lots to do during the day otherwise it would have been frustrating. We wore ear plugs every night.

Location: close to three major stations (buy the week pass for $30 - you will use it). You are right in the middle so getting to Eataly and Shake Shack in Flatiron District, Times Square walking distance from there or quick subway, subway to Central Park for the day, walk to Chelsea and jump on the high line then explore a meatpacking, subway to Soho and financial district, subway across to Brooklyn for the day. Don't miss the recommended 230 Fifth rooftop bar.

So much to see & this is a great base.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Don't be turned off by the unconventional "buzz to get in, to check in" and the terrifying elevator experience, because once you are actually introduced to the hostel ( more like luxury apartment ), you cannot go wrong. First time in the big city, and we were a little terrified at what entrance, but what was so nicely ( and securely) hidden behind that entrance, was a place my boyfriend and I would both love to live.

We had room number 1, on the 7th floor. We aren't picky, and sure the rooms aren't ginormous, but the living space itself is. Two bathrooms per floor, we never had to wait for one! We were able to neatly unpack our stuff for our 5 day trip and feel safe and secure with leaving the hostel each day for our 10 hour treks around town. The sheets and bed were incredibly comfy! Towels are also provided!

The staff was amazing at explaining the layout, safety precautions, keeping the bathrooms clean, respecting our privacy, and providing TONS of information on the ins and outs of NYC. With a key to get into the front door, a key to get to your floor from the elevator, a password to actually access your floor after you get off the elevator, and a keycode to get into your room itself, made us feel more safe than we could have ever imagined! You have your own fridge space, own cupboard space, comfy living space with a TV and Netflix, hotplates, unlimited tea and coffee, and a great view of the empire state building from the windows of the main living area!

Close to Penn Station, Empire State Building, Time Square, Public Library, Grand Central Terminal...Literally everything is walkable! We bought a 48 hour hop on, hop off bus, that picked is up only a block up. It's a block from Koreatown and some amazing restaurants. ( We went to Azya - the resto right beside the hostel...TOTALLY RECOMMENDED! ).

The only "con" I have to say is that because our room was right beside the entrance to the floor, and the door is incredibly heavy, so it slams shut every time! Now whenever someone would come in after quiet hours ( 10pm-9am ), the slammed door was waking us up! Now, the staff, obviously knows to gently let it close, because I saw them many times slowly and quietly close the door during quiet hours, but those who venture off to party in the late night, come home with less than common sense, and allow the door to slam, then proceed to trek around the entire apartment with stiletto heels ( LOUD ENOUGH?) at 2, 3, 4am. For the most part, of the hostel's control, but I think it definitely could be brought up when going over the rules of the hostel to each guest, or even a sign on the door. :)

All around experience, most definitely a 5 outta 5! I will never stay anywhere else and I'll recommend it to everyone and anyone!

Room Tip: - Bring ear plugs - Bring Flip flops for the showers ( They are super clean, but we did bring some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uonyc, Owner at Urban Oasis, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were woken up at night because of the slamming door. We have replaced the door closure with a more advanced one that allows smooth closure. Thanks for choosing Urban Oasis and we hope to see you again on your next visit to NYC!

The Staff at Urban Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

pros: super clean and very cute, perfect central location, super friendly staff, extremely safe (aside from security cameras and elevator key, I appreciated the strict guest-only entry policy), i appreciated that there were plenty of hair dryers and flat irons to borrow (and plenty of toiletries).

i was worried about staying in one of the rooms w/o no windows (we stayed in room 2 on the 10th floor) but it was totally fine and bigger than it looks in the photo.

there is a fridge, full kitchen and washing machine (that can be used for a fee).

cons: currently there is construction going on outside the building so there was quite a bit of noise which they said they expect for the next 2 months or so. (inside, it was very quiet and the guests were really respectful). Although it's not ideal to share a bathroom, they were extremely clean and i never had to wait in line at all in the 4 days we were there.

i would definitely stay here again in the future and recommend it to couples or singles in new york. as a woman, i would feel very safe staying here alone in the future, probably more safe than in a hotel - it has a homey feel and also feels extremely safe and well-monitored.

Room Tip: Our room (Room 2, 10th floor) was directly in front of the door so every time someone came in or out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is an old building but when you get upstairs to the hostel itself, it looks brand new. Fresh paint and urban IKEA furnishings. The staff is very friendly and helpful. You meet people stay in here from several other countries. They allow you your own refrigerator and pantry space. It is very secure, as you have to have a key to the front door, to the elevator, and a keycode to the floor door and your bedroom. They are very concerned about your privacy and will not offer "housekeeping services" unless asked to do so. The beds are clean and comfortable. I would warn you to shower at odd times of the day as sometimes there is a wait or the water is sometimes cold. There is a full kitchen (minus an oven). They offer plates, cups, and all types of silverware and cooking utensils, as well as coffee and tea. They also offer tons of insider New York info. I would also mention if you would like to purchase groceries during your stay there is "Jacks World" on the way to Penn Station. We did not realize that one until a few days in here.

It was a beautiful place and I would love to stay here again

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I spent 10 days here and loved it. For those who don't need their own private bathroom, this is perfect. Great location just outside of the main Midtown hustle but close to subways and shopping. Staff are lovely, always smiling and are happy to tend to any needs.
It was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Urban Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Oasis

Address: 5 West 31st St, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Urban Oasis Hostel And Guest House
Urban Oasis Hostel & Guest House Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.