We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Oasis

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Urban Oasis
Save Saved
You added Urban Oasis to your Saves list
5 West 31st St, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 96 New York City B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at Urban Oasis for a week at the end of September and we loved it! The staff was very nice and very helpful. The rooms very clean as the whole hostel. The location is perfect, in the middle of everything. Facilities include free calls to US, free printing for everything related to your holiday, TV with Netflix, brochure/material/book about NY, one laptop per floor for public use. We enjoyed the atmosphere of the hostel, very quiet, really what you need after a whole day in the city. I would love to go back to NY asap, and I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If possible, choose the superior double bedroom. just a little bit more expensive than the standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    22
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
56
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

During our 10 day stay in the Urban Oasis, me and my girlfriend have mostly enjoyed the coziness and warmth of the apartment, the positive and helpful staff members Sophie, Valery, Yana and Van and the general flat-like atmosphere of the 'oasis'. The place was super clean, nicely IKEA style furnished with a big common premises including comfy beanbags for chill-out, big screen TV with NETFLIX and music access, and PCs on the site. Rooms were furnished in a minimalistic style, but included all the necessities for a pleasant stay. The kitchen was well equipped, thus allowing for more than pasta-type of food creations if interested. A nice variety of coffees and teas available complementary. The location of the place was unbeatable, everything was so close, and in case it rains - you'll get an umbrella too :)). After some time, I was passing the city, and needed a print-out, and the reception girls were most helpful. Once again, a BIG THANK YOU. This hostel offers excellent quality and location for its price.

Room Tip: window view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed ar urban oasis from may 4th till may 11th 2013 and were very positivly surprised. Not at all the typical anonymous hostel feeling where you're also always worried of bed bugs or taking a barefoot shower. No, Urban Oasis welcomes you with a friendly and warm atmosphere, everything is light, modern and extremely clean! I really felt like home. The common area offers everything you ask for, including free coffee and tea as also a huge TV and computers. Free wifi with perfect connection is available in the entire place. Together with the central location Urban Oasis really was the perfect place for us to stay and will be my choice again for the next visit in New York.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

A relaxful place to stay when you are not in the NYChaos. Take a breathe.
A large loft readapted with 8 rooms, 2 restroom, common spaces. Very clean, light colours and IKEA-style (tables 'Numerar'... parquet... soft orange chaise-longues...) so you can feel literally at home. Good music (chillout softrock) h24 from a great dish TV.

But you have to gain it. To reach this Oasis you have to face up to a central - but dark - street, a very old building, a worrying doorway, a Kubrikian long hallway with a great mirror on the left and, at bottom, a single old door exhaling cellar scents: this is the elevator, after the check-in you must have the key to reach the Oasis at the 9th floor (panel locked). Passed this drawbacks - ok you're ready to relax.

Zone: 31th street (subway Penn Station) Chelsea-Little Korea; 10 min walking from Time Square.
P.s. I've got my reservation very late, my room was maybe the last one, red painted, without windows, very thin the divisor-wall overlooking the common hall. So: like sleeping in a paper box...no privacy... . Hurry up. ...Anyway there's air conditioning.

Room Tip: Better rooms have windows too, get your reservation in advance as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Danmark
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I have been in NewYork many times before, and I have always stayed at hotel. But this time the economy was not to a hotel. So I chose Urban Oasis Hostel, and that was so good. The service is so great and helpful, and the common areas are big and clean.
I had my own room, with a double bed. The room was clean and big enough for 2 persons. I can only I can only recommend this place if you want a nice hostel with a great location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

New York accommodation is expensive. Period. So why pay for an expensive hotel room when you will be spending most of your time elsewhere anyway? With this logic and needing to be proximal to the Graduate Centre at CUNY for a conference I decided to take the plunge: hostel-living once again at age 40. This is no ordinary hostel and I definitely recommend Urban Oasis for anyone looking for quality accommodation in mid-town NYC and at not budget busting prices. The entrance is not fancy - it's like entering your own apt - it's NYC - it's quaint - after two days I was used to the more rustic approach compared to a hotel. The rooms are large and very comfortable. The kitchen and other common areas are spotless. The briefing and information first class.The staff are fantastic. Having to stay a minimum of 5 nights definitely helps as there isn't a constant flow of people or noise. Sharing a bathroom is okay - they are clean and well proportioned. In all honesty there was a jam at times which I might have done without, but then again my budget to do other things in the city liked me! Whole-foods is close enough for some good "home" eating when eating out gets too tiresome. 31st Street is a cab thoroughfare from 5th to 6th Avenues so I was always able to catch a cab right outside the door! Bottom line: I will return. Urban Oasis is like having your very own apartment in NYC!

Room Tip: Double rooms are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed here for a few days by myself, and a few weeks later when I returned with my girlfriend. We both loved the place! Both rooms I had were exceptionally clean, as were the bathrooms and common rooms on each floor. I't didn't have a "noisy hostel" vibe about it either which was nice

The kitchen space is ample as are the common areas where you can relax and unwind after a busy day touring NYC, the owners are amazing and make you feel as though you are staying at someone's house as opposed to a hotel, they sat with us over a cup of coffee and recommended places to see and where the locals go to eat, they really seemed to go out of their way to make you feel at home

The room size was bigger than some of the Hotels that I've stayed in whilst I've been in Manhattan, definitely check this place out if you can book in!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Urban Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Oasis

Address: 5 West 31st St, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Urban Oasis Hostel & Guest House Hotel New York City
Urban Oasis Hostel And Guest House

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.