We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You cant find a better place to stay in New York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Oasis

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Urban Oasis
Save Saved
You added Urban Oasis to your Saves list
5 West 31st St, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 97 New York City B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“You cant find a better place to stay in New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

the title says it all. its not a hotel. its definitely home. the kitchen is well stocked with utensils, people share their food and its extremely clean. the place is well decorated with extremely comfy couches and bean bags. the living room also has a stereo set and a tv with tons of shows and networks like netflix. your bedroom comes with a television too with premium channels. dont even get me started on the staff and security. even with it only being a simple studio like gostel, the ladies who take care of you make sure everything is taken care of and theyre always eager to help you in any way they can. i can honestly say that they made trip. we became quick friends. theres also a game room on the 10th floor with board games. the rooms have a lot of space considering where you are in new york. beautiful, wonderful place. i would never second guess coming back here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    22
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
58
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

So before coming to NY for the first time I did a lot of research into places to stay - I found a lot of hostels for quite high prices (comparing to Europe) with ok ratings despite comments on rats and cockroaches and other vermin. I almost gave up, and then I found Urban Oasis. This is the most perfect hostel I have ever stayed at! Don't get scared upon arrival - it looks like you are coming for a visit at somebodys appartment, only, for a few days . this amazing appartment is yours to use! Spanning two appartments in two floors it is great. You get assigned a room and there is a kitchen, two bathrooms, huge living room, TV, computers, WiFi and a view of the Empire state building - what more could you ever want? You also have access to great staff - everybody is extremly helpful! And did I mention that it is extremly clean? It is. And it is one of the very few places that actually looks exactly like the proffesional photos.
Near subway and Empire state, 10 blocks (walking distance) to Times Square and surrounded by shopping options - it was the perfect choice and I truly recommend it to everybody!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Urban Oasis is the perfect position for NYC. Walking distance to so many things, and quick subway rides to everything else. The place is clean and well run, and the staff are lovely. They even let you know about the credit card surcharge and suggest you pop to the ATM over the next few days to pay in cash, and therefore save some money. The one, small issue while I was there was that the Internet was out, which was a provider outage and not something that could be fixed quickly. The staff kept everyone informed throughout. The room I was in was big and comfortable. Thanks especially to Sylvia, who was assistance personified!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hostel was excellent, and the staff was A+ :)

Our room was a little bit noisy, but not so disturbing. (Our room was on the 9. floor)
There were 6 rooms and 2 shared bath-rooms on the floor. (But always had enough time to prep.)

I highly recommend this lovely place to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Urban oasis was wonderful, we are an older couple, not the age they are targeting. However after reading other reviews we booked anyway . What a great decision, we had an awesome room ,the use of two bathrooms on our floor. Good kitchen with some freebies thrown in. Met lovely people, younger and older than us !,! Great location , right by Empire State Building and within easy walking to everything else. Highly recommend for a good stay in NY

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend in early September for 5 nights. It was supposed to be six nights but our flight was delayed and we therefore missed 11pm checkin. It was annoying but clearly stated and we had no problem calling the hostel and arranging what to do. They suggested a nearby hotel and said we could check in at 9am the next morning. On arrival it looks a bit dodgy, especially getting in the very small slow lift...but the actual hostel was amazing I can't really fault it. Very clean and spacious, a full share kitchen, free wifi and 2 computers to use out in the main area. Bathrooms are clean and well maintained and I never had to wait for a bathroom. The location is perfect for all the tourist attractions - a block from the empire state building, fifteen minutes walk to times square, close to subway stations. Overall it was a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Hessen, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had a wonderful time in Manhatten and this place was just perfect, best hostel I've ever been. The rooms are more like hotel rooms and the whole facility has style. The staff is very nice, friendly and helpful. It's also perfectly located in midtown Manhatten.

I will stay here again and highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Urban Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Oasis

Address: 5 West 31st St, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Urban Oasis Hostel & Guest House Hotel New York City
Urban Oasis Hostel And Guest House

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.