We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly way to start the day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Comfort Diner

The Comfort Diner
214 East 45th Street, New York City, NY
(212) 867-4555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #747 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
berkshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A friendly way to start the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

What a great find... thanks Rough Guide. We had all our breakfasts here and were totally set up for the day, no need for lunch. The best coffee ever. Lovely staff and a great ambiance enjoyed by locals and tourists.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    83
    22
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Recently returned from a 5 night stay in NYC, ate at the comfort diner every morning except once where we thought we would try the tick tock diner, don't bother with tick tock it is rubbish compared to the comfort diner. Good service, friendly staff and wonderful buttermilk pancakes with maple syrup.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I LOVE this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

As i'm staying in the hotel opposite this diner, I've been in a few times and it is superb!! Breakfast is lovely, I've had 3 during my 2 week stay (I've had an omelette, the pancakes and the waffles, all of which were really yummy) and all are really big portions.

I was impressed when I went in for dinner on one ocassion (we spotted on the menu they did a turkey thanksgiving dinner and after being served fries with everything, we were craving veggies!) and their lunch/dinner menu is vast! Lots of choices for everyone! We got talking to one waiter, Gus I think his name is, and he was so lovely, giving us helpful tips on places to go in New York. I ordered a slice of pecan pie, and he gave us a free slice of their new york cheesecake too, which was really kind of him. Both were absolutley stunning! If you have room, definatley get a desert!

Excellent service, excellent food with authentic 50's diner decor. Love it! The price is very reasonable aswell, I highly recommend this place!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

If you love buttermilk pancakes and real fresh fruit in it, then look no further than the Comfort Diner! I had these pancakes that came with blueberries, raspberries & bananas and they came out deliciously fluffy and moist They also give you real maple syrup and not that sugary, artificial syrup that most diners have! There are many great options on their breakfast menu - something for everyone!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Yummy--Don't miss this one!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just what a diner should be, compact, eclectic and noisy! Food was great, I had breakfast, stuffed French toast, my siblings had lunch, which included chicken dumplings. Service was good and everyone was very friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Comfort Diner also viewed

 

Been to The Comfort Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Comfort Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.