We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hidden knook in NYC.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Verite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Verite to your Saves list
Hotel Verite
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13 E. 19th Street, & 893 Broadway, New York City, NY 10003 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #276 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Anchorage
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hidden knook in NYC.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was nice, clean and tge service was excellent. It was near a subway and food was in walkimg distance at any time a night. The shower was small which was only a problem because the water pipe got really hot( which was noted to be careful righr on it.) little space plus a hot pipe equaled a nervous shower. We stayed for our wedding night. The room was nice and pretty and they included free wine which was nice.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    55
    19
    8
    2
See reviews for
23
43
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This was a very pleasant, modern place to stay for a short N.Y. visit (although I would've liked a small chair, and just a bit more place in the bathroom to set supplies down on (the one shelf below the mirror is rather teeny!); there is room enough...The other thing that's a bit off-putting is having a room with no window (skylight only). I don't know about New York, but in many cities or regions, a room without a window would not conform with local building codes, and would therefore be illegal (fire-escape issues, etc.) In all other respects, I think it is really very good value for the money and an excellent location, too...

Room Tip: I would think they have at least some rooms with windows...one should ask about that (I would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dartmouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is our favorite place to stay in the City. The staff is always super helpful. The location is perfect as its only 5 blocks from Union Square where you can grab almost any subway line. The hotel is always clean and well taken care of. This is our go to place to stay whenever we travel to NYC.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Sketchy entrance with little signage and really dirty exterior. Lobby very small but serviceable. Rooms are tiny but clean with decent sized bathroom. No tub, but good shower. Only one elevator, which was also used for service by restaurant next door so often long delay. Service was very friendly.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I found the Hotel Verite on tripadvisor and was impressed by the number of positive comments. The entrance on 19th Street is very narrow (the cabdriver commented that he had never known the place existed) but once you're inside, expect a spotlessly clean nicely decorated lobby and a warm welcome. The hotel room was pristine; everything polished and glowing; super-comfortable beds and plenty of room for everything. That said, we were in the '-02' bank of rooms (402 to be exact) and looking at the floor layout, we'd clearly gotten the largest room on the floor. Although the room had large windows overlooking 19th Street, it was extremely quiet all night long and during the day as well. Another reviewer commented on noise from other rooms but we heard none of it.
The upscale Korean restaurant Bonn Joo is excellent and clearly a favorite with both native New Yorkers and Koreans. As other have said, the location is wonderful. A quick walk to Union Square (don't miss the farmer's market); lots of shopping. A longer but very pleasant walk to Times Square and the Theatre District.
The Verite feels like a pleasant small hotel you'd stay at in London or Paris (but for the price, the Verite is MUCH nicer!). We will definitely stay here for our next trip to NY

Room Tip: The '02 rooms are large with windows but very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My mom and I stayed at Hotel Verite over Easter weekend for our annual Girl's Trip (we take one every year, and this year NYC was the destination). We needed a hotel room that was centrally located, affordable, semi-cute and not disgusting as my Mom is pretty paranoid about bed bugs and was a tad skittish about staying in a hotel in the city.

Hotel Verite certainly fit the bill. We spent very little time in the room itself, aside from sleeping and a few quick trips to drop off our shopping bags and change our shoes/put on bandaids. But the time we did spend in the room was great--the room was clean/nicely appointed/and had working WiFi! Win! But the best part is the hotel's ideal location. It's near great shops (Sephroa/Madewell/Anthropologie/Kate Spade NY) and great restaurants and also Union Square AND the Flat Iron District. It was totally walkable to Chelsea, the West Village, as well as the Theater District. Perfect for all our interests.

Also, the staff was really friendly and helpful throughout the check-in/out process. They explained everything to us, gave us the WiFi password and held onto our bags for the full day after we checked out, since we didn't have to leave the city until 5pm (despite the 11am check out time).

Our only (joint) complaint was that the hotel has super thin walls. You can hear everything your hotel neighbors are doing, and everything any random person on the street is doing. Our room looked out onto Broadway on the second floor, and while it was nice to HAVE a window, the subway rolls and rumbles below the avenue at all hours...which was also very loud. If I hadn't packed Ambien, this review would probably read a lot differently.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

There were 5 of us to a room and the room was more than spacious than we expected of hotels in NYC - 2 queen beds and 1 sofa bed. We got the corner room. So window view is good. There are a lot of shoppings to be done around the area - H&M, New Balance, Sephora, etc! Walking distance to Union Square station and getting around on the trains is convenient once you get the hang of it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Verite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verite

Address: 13 E. 19th Street, & 893 Broadway, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Verite 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Coffee & Tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Verite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Verite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;