We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Financial Tricks” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Verite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Verite to your Saves list
Hotel Verite
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 E. 19th Street, & 893 Broadway, New York City, NY 10003 (Flatiron District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #316 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Financial Tricks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Well, there was no food, no refrigerator and a staff that does not tell you or remind you about checkout time - they charged us half a day at USD 141.20 for just an hour late! The location is okay, just make sure you explain the taxi driver where it is, they don't know it (and it will cost you extra money). Oh and remove the plastic covers from the bed, they are very uncomfortable. Some staff if super friendly, but other staff is just plain bad (the toilet was clogged, took 2 days to fix + the shower was leaking on the ground, fixed that myself). WiFi does work sometimes, but not in all rooms.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the hotel, with a window on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    69
    22
    10
    4
See reviews for
31
54
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed in March 2012 with my boyfriend. After hours of searching the Internet for a decent looking manhattan hotel at an affordable price, I was excited to stumble across Hotel Verite. Stayed 6 nights, approx £93 per night booking through the hotel website. Hotel very clean and modern, new owners and renovated Spring 2011 I think. Staff polite and helpful. Comfy memory foam mattress toppers. Great location, minute from the flatiron. Did have a skylight in our room but not an issue at all. Would definitely recommend and stay again, could not fault a thing and amazed with the value in NYC for such a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Incredibly friendly and obliging staff - an oasis in the hustle and bustle of the city. Very conveniently situated to walk to the village or hop on a subway uptown. Comfortable beds in spacious room. Coffee and tea complimentary at reception. Couldnt have asked for more!

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom suite and that slept 5 adults comfortably
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Hotel is a bit unusual- but clean and in a great location. Great prices. The keys and lighting a little weird but for the price it is perfect. More european in feel and appearance.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel for 8 nights in a double room. Really nice, stilish, clean and tidy. People at the concierge really nice. Every day our towels and sheets were changed. Fantastic position with several subway lines near by. You can even walk to empire state building, madison square and fifth avenue. The only bad point was we had a room with no windows but a skylight. Not such a big issue given that we just slept in the room. In conclusion an awesome hotel at a very fair price.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My wife and i recently went on our visit trip to New York and after many hours of searching the many options we chose the Verite. We could not have been more pleased.

Firstly location it is midway between 23 street and Union square Metro stations. A couple of blocks behind the Flatiron building where there is also a great little park.

For the hotel itself. On arrival service was great, check in was quick and easy. The room was small modern and quiet. If the room had a downside it was dark due to curtains to prevent the office works across the road looking in. But this is New York who wants to spend time in the hotel all day! The storage space was a little limited but again not much of a concern. Our room looked over 19 street so was generally quiet, there was the occasional noise, again folks this is New York, i cant help but think the people on here complaining about noise are a bit over the top. I have stayed in many many hotels in small towns and big cities and i have stayed in more expensive hotels in smaller towns that are noisier than the Verite.

Coffee in the reception earlier was very handy to wake up and plan the daily attack on the city. There is great restaurants and cafes for breakfast lunch and dinner if needed and plenty of local Delis

No question we would go here again. If your budget doesn't run to the big names in central locations with 100s of floors, or if you prefer to stay in an independent hotel can well recommend the Verite

Room Tip: We stayed on a room on the 4th floor overlooking E19th street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I was in NYC to visit my son and also to have my "New York City time" to celebrate my birthday as I have in the past 4 years. The staff was kind and considerate. The room was clean and the window noise was not an issue. The room is smallish but then again it is NYC... and if you spent lots of time in your room you are not experiencing the city. I love this hotel close to Union Square and trains are very close by.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Verite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verite

Address: 13 E. 19th Street, & 893 Broadway, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Flatiron District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Verite 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Coffee & Tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Hotel Verite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Verite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.